Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:02:21 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone here experienced with apache SSL configuration?  (Read 959 times)
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
April 01, 2011, 09:10:06 AM
 #1

I have my site "kind of" working with SSL. I purchased the cerficiate and installed it, but there are some problems with the site. If you want to earn yourself some bitcoins and know this stuff, PM me.

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480816941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480816941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480816941
Reply with quote  #2

1480816941
Report to moderator
1480816941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480816941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480816941
Reply with quote  #2

1480816941
Report to moderator
1480816941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480816941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480816941
Reply with quote  #2

1480816941
Report to moderator
genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 11:01:29 AM
 #2

What files did you get in the install?

I have:
Code:
NameVirtualHost *:80
NameVirtualHost *:443
Listen 80
Listen 443

Code:
<VirtualHost *:443>
     SSLEngine On
     SSLCertificateFile /etc/apache2/ssl/britcoin.co.uk.crt
     SSLCertificateKeyFile /etc/apache2/ssl/britcoin.co.uk.key
     SSLCertificateChainFile /etc/apache2/ssl/gd_bundle.crt

     ServerAdmin webmaster@britcoin.co.uk
     ServerName britcoin.co.uk
     DocumentRoot /www
     ErrorLog /apache2/error.log
     CustomLog /apache2/access.log combined
</VirtualHost>

Maybe that helps.
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
April 01, 2011, 11:16:15 AM
 #3

Thanks genjix, that's exactly the way I have it set up. I figured that my problem lies with the code of my website - it contacts another webpage, which is not SSL-enabled. That more than likely causes the problem, I think? Chrome says the connection to my website is encrypted, but it contains elements, which are not. I will have to get rid of those links - unless I am wrong?

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 11:39:46 AM
 #4

I guess so.

If you can place a test.html in / and it works then that's probably your problem.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 05:07:27 PM
 #5

Thanks genjix, that's exactly the way I have it set up. I figured that my problem lies with the code of my website - it contacts another webpage, which is not SSL-enabled. That more than likely causes the problem, I think? Chrome says the connection to my website is encrypted, but it contains elements, which are not. I will have to get rid of those links - unless I am wrong?

Right. If you pull inline resources (images, JavaScript, CSS, etc.) which are from non-secured websites, the browser will throw a warning. So it's best to serve all such resources from your secure site, or from someone else's secure site.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
idev
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 846


View Profile WWW
April 01, 2011, 09:50:04 PM
 #6

Also you will need to ensure all links are https or /whatever directory.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!