Bitcoin Forum
April 28, 2024, 02:01:53 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Out of memory on CUDA device?  (Read 232 times)
elenapetrova (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 02, 2021, 12:27:21 PM
 #1

Using 1x GTX1060 6GB on WIN10 with 8GB RAM and 48GB VRAM using ethminer-0.18.0-cuda8.0-windows-amd64.

Code:
setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

setx GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

ethminer -U -P stratum+tcp://0xa7e593bde6b5900262cf94e4d75fb040f7ff4727@eu1.ethermine.org:4444

ethminer 0.18.0
Build: windows/release/msvc

 i 13:34:18 main     Configured pool eu1.ethermine.org:4444
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Selected pool eu1.ethermine.org:4444
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Stratum mode : Stratum
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Established connection to eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Spinning up miners...
cu 13:34:18 cuda-0   Using Pci Id : 01:00.0 GeForce GTX 1060 6GB (Compute 2.1) Memory : 6.00 GB
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Authorized worker 0xa7e593bde6b5900262cf94e4d75fb040f7ff4727
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Epoch : 405 Difficulty : 4.00 Gh
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Job: 752dcc7f... eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
 i 13:34:21 <unknown> Job: 8a816022... eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
 i 13:34:21 <unknown> Job: 44989ebd... eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
 i 13:34:21 <unknown> Job: a98199f0... eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
cu 13:34:21 cuda-0   Generating DAG + Light : 4.23 GB
cu 13:34:21 cuda-0   Unexpected error CUDA error in func dev::eth::CUDAMiner::initEpoch_internal at line 123 out of memory on CUDA device 01:00.0
cu 13:34:21 cuda-0   Mining suspended ...
 m 13:34:23 <unknown> 0:00 A0 0.00 h - cu0 0.00
 i 13:34:25 <unknown> Job: 0893215c... eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
 m 13:34:28 <unknown> 0:00 A0 0.00 h - cu0 0.00
 i 13:34:29 <unknown> Job: 2c105ebe... eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
"Your bitcoin is secured in a way that is physically impossible for others to access, no matter for what reason, no matter how good the excuse, no matter a majority of miners, no matter what." -- Greg Maxwell
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714312913
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714312913

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714312913
Reply with quote  #2

1714312913
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 4102
Merit: 7768


'The right to privacy matters'


View Profile WWW
April 02, 2021, 12:36:13 PM
 #2

Using 1x GTX1060 6GB on WIN10 with 8GB RAM and 48GB VRAM using ethminer-0.18.0-cuda8.0-windows-amd64.

Code:
setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

setx GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

ethminer -U -P stratum+tcp://0xa7e593bde6b5900262cf94e4d75fb040f7ff4727@eu1.ethermine.org:4444

ethminer 0.18.0
Build: windows/release/msvc

 i 13:34:18 main     Configured pool eu1.ethermine.org:4444
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Selected pool eu1.ethermine.org:4444
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Stratum mode : Stratum
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Established connection to eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Spinning up miners...
cu 13:34:18 cuda-0   Using Pci Id : 01:00.0 GeForce GTX 1060 6GB (Compute 2.1) Memory : 6.00 GB
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Authorized worker 0xa7e593bde6b5900262cf94e4d75fb040f7ff4727
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Epoch : 405 Difficulty : 4.00 Gh
 i 13:34:18 <unknown> Job: 752dcc7f... eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
 i 13:34:21 <unknown> Job: 8a816022... eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
 i 13:34:21 <unknown> Job: 44989ebd... eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
 i 13:34:21 <unknown> Job: a98199f0... eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
cu 13:34:21 cuda-0   Generating DAG + Light : 4.23 GB
cu 13:34:21 cuda-0   Unexpected error CUDA error in func dev::eth::CUDAMiner::initEpoch_internal at line 123 out of memory on CUDA device 01:00.0
cu 13:34:21 cuda-0   Mining suspended ...
 m 13:34:23 <unknown> 0:00 A0 0.00 h - cu0 0.00
 i 13:34:25 <unknown> Job: 0893215c... eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]
 m 13:34:28 <unknown> 0:00 A0 0.00 h - cu0 0.00
 i 13:34:29 <unknown> Job: 2c105ebe... eu1.ethermine.org [172.65.207.106:4444]



This is the btc only section. I asked for the mods to move it to Alt coins.

Try using phoenix miner


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2647654.0

▄▄███████▄▄
▄██████████████▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄████▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████▄
▄█████████████▄█▀████▄
███████████▄███████████
██████████▄█▀███████████
██████████▀████████████
▀█████▄█▀█████████████▀
▀████▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀███████████████▀
▀▀███████▀▀
.
 MΞTAWIN  THE FIRST WEB3 CASINO   
.
.. PLAY NOW ..
elenapetrova (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 02, 2021, 01:45:58 PM
 #3

Sorry for the wrong section and thank you for your suggestion! PhoenixMiner gives me error "Can't use CUDA device 0: compute cap. 2.1 (at least 3.0 required)".
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 4102
Merit: 7768


'The right to privacy matters'


View Profile WWW
April 02, 2021, 03:08:34 PM
 #4

Sorry for the wrong section and thank you for your suggestion! PhoenixMiner gives me error "Can't use CUDA device 0: compute cap. 2.1 (at least 3.0 required)".

Your drivers appear out of date.

▄▄███████▄▄
▄██████████████▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄████▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████▄
▄█████████████▄█▀████▄
███████████▄███████████
██████████▄█▀███████████
██████████▀████████████
▀█████▄█▀█████████████▀
▀████▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀███████████████▀
▀▀███████▀▀
.
 MΞTAWIN  THE FIRST WEB3 CASINO   
.
.. PLAY NOW ..
elenapetrova (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 02, 2021, 05:44:52 PM
 #5

I’m using 390.77, while I think the latest one for GTX1060 is 465.89. The reason I’m using this particular version is because the GPU is a Chinese replica of the original one and it came with the older version in the disk. I tried installing the latest one, but it didn’t recognise the GPU. I will be very happy if you have any suggestions on what can be done in this case… Thank you!
shiftoshi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 02, 2021, 05:50:34 PM
 #6

I’m using 390.77, while I think the latest one for GTX1060 is 465.89. The reason I’m using this particular version is because the GPU is a Chinese replica of the original one and it came with the older version in the disk. I tried installing the latest one, but it didn’t recognise the GPU. I will be very happy if you have any suggestions on what can be done in this case… Thank you!
Its probably not a real 1060 but old card like GTX 260 rebranded in BIOS if it is Chinese knock-off.
elenapetrova (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 02, 2021, 06:04:45 PM
 #7

That is my concern as well. First I thought that it could be with fake 6GB RAM, but then everything looks legit in the GPU-Z...
Skol600ml
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 02, 2021, 08:19:38 PM
 #8

That is my concern as well. First I thought that it could be with fake 6GB RAM, but then everything looks legit in the GPU-Z...

When you can't use official drivers, usually isn't legit. Let us see what gpuz says.
JayDDee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1384
Merit: 220


View Profile
April 02, 2021, 08:30:29 PM
 #9

The device is limited to compute 2.1, a 1060 is compute 6.1. It's a fake.
Your drivers, as old as they are, are too new for the GPU.

The GPU is too old and useless for mining whatever it really is.

BitKongy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 405
Merit: 19


View Profile
April 02, 2021, 09:46:51 PM
Merited by Bravehash (1)
 #10

The device is limited to compute 2.1, a 1060 is compute 6.1. It's a fake.
Your drivers, as old as they are, are too new for the GPU.

The GPU is too old and useless for mining whatever it really is.
Gtx1060 6gb can still hash with 22MH @2.4$ per day on ethereum right now, how can you call this useless? If this is useless what will you called R9 390,HD7970 and GTX970??? If you have a gtx1060 you aren't using pls send to me i will gladly send you my address
JayDDee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1384
Merit: 220


View Profile
April 02, 2021, 10:38:59 PM
 #11

The device is limited to compute 2.1, a 1060 is compute 6.1. It's a fake.
Your drivers, as old as they are, are too new for the GPU.

The GPU is too old and useless for mining whatever it really is.
Gtx1060 6gb can still hash with 22MH @2.4$ per day on ethereum right now, how can you call this useless? If this is useless what will you called R9 390,HD7970 and GTX970??? If you have a gtx1060 you aren't using pls send to me i will gladly send you my address

Are you having trouble reading or is it a comprehension problem? I'm sure the OP will sell you his fake
1060 at a really good price. Unfortunately mine is real so it's not for sale.

miner29
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 1262
Merit: 138


View Profile
April 03, 2021, 12:33:43 AM
 #12

I suspect it may have a 13pin vga d-shell on the back...if it does it is not a 1060.

elenapetrova (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 03, 2021, 07:42:10 AM
 #13

Thank you for all of the replies, guys! But I think you misunderstood me. I've said "the GPU is a Chinese replica" earlier. I don't doubt if it's a legit one, I'm sure that it's fake.

My question is more like - is there any way I can run some miner (old version, etc), so I can see the hash-rate?

This is the GPU-Z screenshot:
https://i.ibb.co/FgvYHw7/gpuz.png

What I've tried so far:
1. Installed the driver 390.77 from the Chinese CD - Windows DOES recognise the card
2. Installed the driver 390.77 from the NVidia website - Windows DOES recognise the card
3. Installed the driver 465.89 from the NVidia website - Windows DOES NOT recognise the card

Errors so far:
ETHMiner: Out of memory
LoLMiner: Problem in loading kernel
PhoenixMiner: Compute 2.1 (minimum 3.0 required)

I'm guessing that if the GPU's chipset is an old one, I can use some old miner version to mine? Or I'm mistaken?
Hosenpupsi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 03, 2021, 09:36:20 AM
 #14

Thank you for all of the replies, guys! But I think you misunderstood me. I've said "the GPU is a Chinese replica" earlier. I don't doubt if it's a legit one, I'm sure that it's fake.

My question is more like - is there any way I can run some miner (old version, etc), so I can see the hash-rate?

This is the GPU-Z screenshot:
https://i.ibb.co/FgvYHw7/gpuz.png

What I've tried so far:
1. Installed the driver 390.77 from the Chinese CD - Windows DOES recognise the card
2. Installed the driver 390.77 from the NVidia website - Windows DOES recognise the card
3. Installed the driver 465.89 from the NVidia website - Windows DOES NOT recognise the card

Errors so far:
ETHMiner: Out of memory
LoLMiner: Problem in loading kernel
PhoenixMiner: Compute 2.1 (minimum 3.0 required)

I'm guessing that if the GPU's chipset is an old one, I can use some old miner version to mine? Or I'm mistaken?

The GPU is not from a 1060 see here https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/nvidia-gf116.g88
so I think its all Fake, Fake 1060, Fake 6GB. so "Out of Memory" because there are only 1-1.5GB on this Card.

elenapetrova (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 03, 2021, 10:01:14 AM
 #15

Omg, that's bad! I paid 1,300$ for a rig with 8 slots and 8 GPUs... :-(
batsonxl
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 1196
Merit: 26


View Profile
April 03, 2021, 10:45:48 AM
 #16

Omg, that's bad! I paid 1,300$ for a rig with 8 slots and 8 GPUs... :-(
Can you post photos of gpu? from back front and outputs. dvi hdmi? is there vga output? i can tell you 100% if i see is it fake or not.
JayDDee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1384
Merit: 220


View Profile
April 03, 2021, 12:15:42 PM
 #17

I'm guessing that if the GPU's chipset is an old one, I can use some old miner version to mine? Or I'm mistaken?

ccminer is the oldest Nvidia GPU miner. If anything supports compute 2.1 it's ccminer,
if it's really a legitimate 2.1 GPU with just fake branding.


elenapetrova (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 03, 2021, 12:50:58 PM
 #18

Thank you so much! I'll give it a try :-)
FP91G
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1029



View Profile
April 03, 2021, 05:09:01 PM
 #19

Thank you for all of the replies, guys! But I think you misunderstood me. I've said "the GPU is a Chinese replica" earlier. I don't doubt if it's a legit one, I'm sure that it's fake.

My question is more like - is there any way I can run some miner (old version, etc), so I can see the hash-rate?

This is the GPU-Z screenshot:


What I've tried so far:
1. Installed the driver 390.77 from the Chinese CD - Windows DOES recognise the card
2. Installed the driver 390.77 from the NVidia website - Windows DOES recognise the card
3. Installed the driver 465.89 from the NVidia website - Windows DOES NOT recognise the card

Errors so far:
ETHMiner: Out of memory
LoLMiner: Problem in loading kernel
PhoenixMiner: Compute 2.1 (minimum 3.0 required)

I'm guessing that if the GPU's chipset is an old one, I can use some old miner version to mine? Or I'm mistaken?
Remove the cooling system and look at the marking of the video chip on the video card. First you need to determine what kind of video card you have in order to understand whether it can mine or not.
You bought 8 video cards for about $ 150 each, it's hard for me to guess what kind of video cards you actually have. A healthy mining farm with such parameters costs 2.5 times more.

.BEST..CHANGE.███████████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████████
..BUY/ SELL CRYPTO..
sxemini
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 1558
Merit: 69


View Profile
April 03, 2021, 05:11:52 PM
 #20

Omg, that's bad! I paid 1,300$ for a rig with 8 slots and 8 GPUs... :-(

And at this point you did not recognize that it is fake? The prices at the moment are much higher!

On you gpuz screenshot is the name of the chip -> gf116 (GTX 550ti)-> 40nm -> releasdate 2011 and gpuz also show FAKE before the name of the card.

So you can looking about mining and gtx 550ti but its worthless i think.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!