Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 07:49:51 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: /server and related doesn't work anymore with version 5  (Read 755 times)
TiagoTiago
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Firstbits.com/1fg4i                :Ƀ


View Profile
December 02, 2011, 10:34:58 PM
 #1

(I'm using WinXP if that matters)



I need to start Bitcoin with the /server commandline option so the batch file i created to do scheduled backups of my wallet can issue the backup command in order to safely obtain a copy of the wallet (don't wanna risk it trying to copy the original while it is being written to and ending up with a corrupt backup)



(edited to fix the command line, i am using the slash, i just got mixed up while writing the post originally)

(I dont always get new reply notifications, pls send a pm when you think it has happened)

Wanna gimme some BTC for any or no reason? 1FmvtS66LFh6ycrXDwKRQTexGJw4UWiqDX Smiley

The more you believe in Bitcoin, and the more you show you do to other people, the faster the real value will soar!

Do you like mmmBananas?!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480794591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794591
Reply with quote  #2

1480794591
Report to moderator
1480794591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794591
Reply with quote  #2

1480794591
Report to moderator
1480794591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794591
Reply with quote  #2

1480794591
Report to moderator
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile
December 02, 2011, 11:06:08 PM
 #2

I need to start Bitcoin with the --server commandline option
"--server" never worked. "-server" worked and continues to work as far as I can see.

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
TiagoTiago
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Firstbits.com/1fg4i                :Ƀ


View Profile
December 03, 2011, 01:43:41 PM
 #3

Single dash? Isn't that supposed to be only for single letter commands? And isn't it /server? It was working with the slash before the update...

(I dont always get new reply notifications, pls send a pm when you think it has happened)

Wanna gimme some BTC for any or no reason? 1FmvtS66LFh6ycrXDwKRQTexGJw4UWiqDX Smiley

The more you believe in Bitcoin, and the more you show you do to other people, the faster the real value will soar!

Do you like mmmBananas?!
payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
December 03, 2011, 01:53:37 PM
 #4

Single dash? Isn't that supposed to be only for single letter commands? And isn't it /server? It was working with the slash before the update...

nope... -server -daemon -datadir, etc.

single dash
TiagoTiago
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Firstbits.com/1fg4i                :Ƀ


View Profile
December 03, 2011, 02:06:53 PM
 #5

Ok, the -server command itself is working, but i need to use bitcoind for the backupwallet command, i'm pretty sure in previous versions i could use the main executable for all the commands...

(I dont always get new reply notifications, pls send a pm when you think it has happened)

Wanna gimme some BTC for any or no reason? 1FmvtS66LFh6ycrXDwKRQTexGJw4UWiqDX Smiley

The more you believe in Bitcoin, and the more you show you do to other people, the faster the real value will soar!

Do you like mmmBananas?!
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2011, 12:51:14 PM
 #6

The new Qt-based client does not include an RPC client anymore, indeed. It can still function as an RPC server (-server), but for the client you need bitcoind.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!