Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 10:05:39 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: change language to english in official bitcoin client  (Read 3357 times)
ehmdjii
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


View Profile
December 03, 2011, 03:59:34 PM
 #1

how can i change the language to english in the official bitcoin client?

also how does the client attempt to detect my language? my windows7 is english.

thanks!

BTC: 1LsD5HpnX1Kfyti7CnHiVB1rjUEXGqmR2H
LTC: LQbpdMZmYyJa9bJG6NweBNxkSTfgZorkrG
1481277939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481277939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481277939
Reply with quote  #2

1481277939
Report to moderator
1481277939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481277939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481277939
Reply with quote  #2

1481277939
Report to moderator
1481277939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481277939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481277939
Reply with quote  #2

1481277939
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481277939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481277939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481277939
Reply with quote  #2

1481277939
Report to moderator
1481277939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481277939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481277939
Reply with quote  #2

1481277939
Report to moderator
1481277939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481277939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481277939
Reply with quote  #2

1481277939
Report to moderator
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
December 03, 2011, 05:02:02 PM
 #2

Create a file named english.bat (for example) with this text in it:
set LANG=en_US.UTF-8
bitcoin-qt.exe

Then you can use this file to start the client.
Not very user friendly, but it works.

Bitcoin donations: 1H2BHSyuwLP9vqt2p3bK9G3mDJsAi7qChw
HostFat
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2011, 05:36:30 PM
 #3

So it can be a good feature request Smiley
- Add an option to change language from the settings.

Eternity Wall: Messages lasting forever - The Rock Trading (ref): A good exchange / gateway Ripple, with support for multisig, since 2007. 
https://bitcointa.lk: Bitcointalk backup if offline - Bitcoin Foundation Italia - Blog: http://theupwind.blogspot.it
w0mbat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile WWW
January 16, 2012, 12:14:45 PM
 #4

yes, I'd love to be able to change the client language!

*** http://btcxc.info/  <->  Your source for everything around trading & mining Bitcoins! ***
predic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 06:13:52 PM
 #5

yes, I'd love to be able to change the client language!
I would like it too, it is reason why i am still using 0.4 version.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
January 20, 2012, 07:00:41 PM
 #6

The question you should be asking, is why your OS is configured for a non-English language...

Matthew N. Wright
Untrustworthy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


Hero VIP ultra official trusted super staff puppet


View Profile
January 20, 2012, 07:04:58 PM
 #7

The question you should be asking, is why your OS is configured for a non-English language...

True. I live in Korea, use Korean windows, and have never had Bitcoin speak Korean to me.

Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
January 20, 2012, 08:42:02 PM
 #8

The question you should be asking, is why your OS is configured for a non-English language...
Because he is sharing the computer with other members of his family and they don't speak english?

Bitcoin donations: 1H2BHSyuwLP9vqt2p3bK9G3mDJsAi7qChw
Matthew N. Wright
Untrustworthy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


Hero VIP ultra official trusted super staff puppet


View Profile
January 20, 2012, 11:31:13 PM
 #9

The question you should be asking, is why your OS is configured for a non-English language...
Because he is sharing the computer with other members of his family and they don't speak english?
I am not sure if Luke meant this or not but, I was responding to the fact that Bitcoin should be in English regardless. Even on my Korean windows it shows English. So wtf@that

Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2012, 01:28:15 AM
 #10

Even on my Korean windows it shows English. So wtf@that

Nobody has written a Korean translation.  If/when somebody does (join https://www.transifex.net/projects/p/bitcoin/ if you want to help) you'd get the Korean translation.

An option to change the language in the GUI is a great idea.  Somebody should do that....

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
farfiman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1434



View Profile
April 16, 2012, 03:48:38 PM
 #11

On the 0.6 windows version - the client installed in hebrew although the Windows is english.
Is there a way to change it to english or force it to install in english without making batch files, removing languages
from the OS etc ?

"We are just fools. We insanely believe that we can replace one politician with another and something will really change. The ONLY possible way to achieve change is to change the very system of how government functions. Until we are prepared to do that, suck it up for your future belongs to the madness and corruption of politicians."
Martin Armstrong
finway
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


View Profile
April 17, 2012, 03:54:54 AM
 #12

Even on my Korean windows it shows English. So wtf@that

Nobody has written a Korean translation.  If/when somebody does (join https://www.transifex.net/projects/p/bitcoin/ if you want to help) you'd get the Korean translation.

An option to change the language in the GUI is a great idea.  Somebody should do that....


I agree, somebody should. 

Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
April 17, 2012, 05:20:38 AM
 #13

On the 0.6 windows version - the client installed in hebrew although the Windows is english.
Is there a way to change it to english or force it to install in english without making batch files, removing languages
from the OS etc ?



Open the bitcoin.conf file and add
Code:
lang=en

That should do it. No need for a new install, only a client restart. All languages get installed, so you have them all there to change as you wish.

Meni Rosenfeld
Donator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890



View Profile WWW
April 17, 2012, 05:32:38 AM
 #14

I've started this related thread for discussion of ways to solve this problem going forward.

As for the current situation: The default language is determined by the dates format. Many people have their OS with an English interface but use the local format for dates and stuff. (eg in Israel we use d/m/y rather than m/d/y). So this means that many people will encounter an unwanted translation; and that resolving it doesn't require "removing languages", just setting the defined format language to US (and the formats themselves can be customized for this language to match the local style).

Alternatively, you can use psy's suggestion of editing bitcoin.conf (haven't tested this), or simply add -lang=en_US to the target of whatever shortcut you are using to launch Bitcoin.

1EofoZNBhWQ3kxfKnvWkhtMns4AivZArhr   |   Who am I?   |   bitcoin-otc WoT
Bitcoil - Exchange bitcoins for ILS (thread)   |   Israel Bitcoin community homepage (thread)
Analysis of Bitcoin Pooled Mining Reward Systems (thread, summary)  |   PureMining - Infinite-term, deterministic mining bond
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
April 17, 2012, 05:41:44 AM
 #15

The english language in Bitcoin uses the code en only. If you try to tell Bitcoin to load en_US it will probably not work as it won't recognize the language you're asking it to load.

Just a side note to your remark of you not having tested my suggestion: Every flag that you can set on the command line to start the client will work inside the bitcoin.conf file. Just don't forget that the flags inside the conf file don't use the hiphen Tongue

Meni Rosenfeld
Donator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890



View Profile WWW
April 17, 2012, 05:44:43 AM
 #16

The english language in Bitcoin uses the code en only. If you try to tell Bitcoin to load en_US it will not work as it won't recognize the language you're asking it to load.
It definitely does work and it's what I'm using.

1EofoZNBhWQ3kxfKnvWkhtMns4AivZArhr   |   Who am I?   |   bitcoin-otc WoT
Bitcoil - Exchange bitcoins for ILS (thread)   |   Israel Bitcoin community homepage (thread)
Analysis of Bitcoin Pooled Mining Reward Systems (thread, summary)  |   PureMining - Infinite-term, deterministic mining bond
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
April 17, 2012, 05:47:43 AM
 #17

The english language in Bitcoin uses the code en only. If you try to tell Bitcoin to load en_US it will not work as it won't recognize the language you're asking it to load.
It definitely does work and it's what I'm using.

Well, pt doesn't work because the language is named pt_BR, hence my mistake. Anyway, the _US should be redundant in your case Smiley

Taken from the bitcoin_en.ts file
Code:
<TS version="2.0" language="en">

DeepBit
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


We have cookies


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2012, 12:41:57 PM
 #18

Language selection would be very nice.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net ~ 3600 GH/s, Both payment schemes, instant payout, no invalid blocks !
Coming soon: ICBIT Trading platform
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!