Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 09:49:28 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: BUILD LOG - 4 5970's on MSI 890FXA-GD70  (Read 1881 times)
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
December 06, 2011, 08:18:36 PM
 #1

So I am planning on upgrading my mining rigs to have 4 5970's on each rig. Of course we are making a custom case to accommodate the 5970's with pci x16 molex powered extenders from cablesaurus.com

Here is my equipment list:

MSI 890FXA-GD70
AMD sempron 145
2X1gb DDR3 1066 ram
crucial 16gb flash drive with linuxcoin and cgminer
2 x 750w Seasonic gold PSU's daisy chained with 24 pin Dual power connector
4 x ATI 5970 video cards

I am also planning on re-doing the thermal paste on all of the GPU's with Shin-Etsu X23-7783D Silicone thermal compound and phobya 1mm thermal pads. Since I plan to air cool and get the best overclock I can, I felt it best to re-do the thermal materials.

I'll post some pics and follow up thoughts on the process, hash rates, settings, etc.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
December 06, 2011, 08:20:18 PM
 #2

Quick question to those who have replaced the stock thermal material on 5970's. Did you replace ALL of the thermal pads, or just the small ram pads. Also, did you replace the thermal pads on the backplate and if so, did you use 1mm or .5 mm ?
plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
December 07, 2011, 02:58:20 AM
 #3

Quick question to those who have replaced the stock thermal material on 5970's. Did you replace ALL of the thermal pads, or just the small ram pads. Also, did you replace the thermal pads on the backplate and if so, did you use 1mm or .5 mm ?


All thermal pads must be replaced.

1.0mm for the ram, 0.5mm for the VRM

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
CleverMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66



View Profile
December 07, 2011, 04:34:16 AM
 #4

I'll post some pics and follow up thoughts on the process, hash rates, settings, etc.

I'm really interested in this,

Do the ram and vrm pads need to be changed because they are bad or only because you've unseated them to change the TIM on the GPUs ?

I used to add AC MX-3 over thermal pads before replacing the heatsink, would that suffice ?

What I have plan for 4x 5970 is to remove the IO grill at the back and merge the four exause into a 120mm tunnel where I would place a 22w FAN, and maybe route that how ait further away for other uses.
grubles
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


mistaken for gribble since 2011


View Profile
December 07, 2011, 02:35:34 PM
 #5

I have 5 5970s for sale if you still needed the cards.

BM-NBi5PcH8BBqDVp7WSJe2pNgqEVvTjd6T
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
December 07, 2011, 08:14:29 PM
 #6

That board is bad, even though you would be using a low powered CPU, if in the future want to use the mobo, and decide to OC, it's VRMs fail immediately, especially on thubans.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 13, 2011, 07:40:06 AM
 #7

What brand of HD5970 did you get  ?

I'm having trouble OCing with Diamond's one. (newegg)
grubles
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


mistaken for gribble since 2011


View Profile
December 13, 2011, 04:12:41 PM
 #8

What brand of HD5970 did you get  ?

I'm having trouble OCing with Diamond's one. (newegg)
Who would've thought that the cheapest 5970s aren't quality ones...

BM-NBi5PcH8BBqDVp7WSJe2pNgqEVvTjd6T
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
December 13, 2011, 04:14:24 PM
 #9

What brand of HD5970 did you get  ?

I'm having trouble OCing with Diamond's one. (newegg)

FWIW, I have an AMD OEM 5970 and it's ok at OC'ing I guess.  I set mine at 905/200/1.149v and get about 412-414 MH/s per core (824-828 MH/s total) with temps on GPU2 at 83C, air cooled.  I can crack 850 MH/s but temps are around 90C with VRM temps over 110C  Shocked

Mousepotato
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
December 13, 2011, 05:03:39 PM
 #10

FWIW, I have an AMD OEM 5970 and it's ok at OC'ing I guess.  I set mine at 905/200/1.149v and get about 412-414 MH/s per core (824-828 MH/s total) with temps on GPU2 at 83C, air cooled.  I can crack 850 MH/s but temps are around 90C with VRM temps over 110C  Shocked

Do you have power consumption figures to go with that?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!