Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:44:03 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 100% CPU bug Windows finally solved (Multi GPU) with catalyst 11.12  (Read 9297 times)
disclaimer201
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


View Profile
December 15, 2011, 04:09:34 AM
 #1

Hi guys,

I just noticed that the 100% CPU bug finally went away after installing AMD catalyst 11.12
and having only one monitor plugged into my main card (crossfire disabled).

I am using Windows 7 32 bit. We have been waiting for this for months!

Awesome!

1481107443
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107443

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107443
Reply with quote  #2

1481107443
Report to moderator
1481107443
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107443

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107443
Reply with quote  #2

1481107443
Report to moderator
1481107443
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107443

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107443
Reply with quote  #2

1481107443
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107443
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107443

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107443
Reply with quote  #2

1481107443
Report to moderator
1481107443
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107443

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107443
Reply with quote  #2

1481107443
Report to moderator
freakfantom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73



View Profile
December 15, 2011, 05:10:54 AM
 #2

I can confirm. CPU bug is finally gone with catalyst 11.12 Windows x64.
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
December 15, 2011, 06:05:06 AM
 #3

Also confirmed.   However,  I can no longer run a 256 worksize on my 5970's.  Sad  Lost about 26mhash/sec per GPU.   Pleh.   Just can't win with these drivers...

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 15, 2011, 06:10:37 AM
 #4

Also confirmed.   However,  I can no longer run a 256 worksize on my 5970's.  Sad  Lost about 26mhash/sec per GPU.   Pleh.   Just can't win with these drivers...

  that bites. have you tried it with the other vector settings and the smaller worksize?

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
December 15, 2011, 06:21:19 AM
 #5


  that bites. have you tried it with the other vector settings and the smaller worksize?
Yeah.   I haven't tried every combination because I ran out of time,  but I couldn't seem to max out the GPUs anymore (bouncing between 92 and 93 percent activity).

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 15, 2011, 06:28:33 AM
 #6


  that bites. have you tried it with the other vector settings and the smaller worksize?
Yeah.   I haven't tried every combination because I ran out of time,  but I couldn't seem to max out the GPUs anymore (bouncing between 92 and 93 percent activity).

  rgr, thanks for the reply. I will be watching for your feedback on the results if you have time to check the other combos. I'm not able to get to my system to up the Cata drivers atm or would flip thru them myself.

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
finway
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


View Profile
December 15, 2011, 08:52:55 AM
 #7

really ? 

disclaimer201
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


View Profile
December 15, 2011, 10:09:29 AM
 #8

Strange, it doesn't seem to work on just any rig for me. One system with two cards mining (no onboard gpu) is fine. Here I get 0-4% pending cpu usage. Doesn't even matter if I put in a dummy plug or not. I still use those sometimes b/c they make overclocking much easier.  On my other rig, I haven't yet been able to get it to work yet. Either my drivers are messed up although I spend quite some time installing and deinstalling/sweeping or is it cause I'm using multiple (3+) cards including onboard graphics or is it some software glitch...

On 5870s and 5770s there seem to be no issues with worksize for me.

farfiman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1434



View Profile
December 15, 2011, 10:51:52 AM
 #9

Also confirmed.   However,  I can no longer run a 256 worksize on my 5970's.  Sad  Lost about 26mhash/sec per GPU.   Pleh.   Just can't win with these drivers...

Hasnt fixed cpu bug for me on win7/32 AND speed went down by 30mhash.
Reinstalled 11.11  speed is still down...  will update after checking

Edit: 3x5850 in system


"We are just fools. We insanely believe that we can replace one politician with another and something will really change. The ONLY possible way to achieve change is to change the very system of how government functions. Until we are prepared to do that, suck it up for your future belongs to the madness and corruption of politicians."
Martin Armstrong
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 15, 2011, 11:49:07 AM
 #10

Ok, just to get this out of the way again. Are any of you running multiple cards who had the 100% cpu bug fixed?

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
December 15, 2011, 01:25:36 PM
 #11

What about Linux ?

What is the CPU usage like on a low end CPU with multiple GPUs with a clean install of 11.12 ?

disclaimer201
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


View Profile
December 15, 2011, 02:35:03 PM
 #12

perhaps I should add: my fixed computer runs an AMD X6 cpu. Until this day, I had always had one fully used core. No luck still on AMD Dual Cores.

Once again: Win 7 32 bit, two actively mining GPUs.

Now works like charm on my dual core system (no onboard gpu present).

BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
December 15, 2011, 03:19:36 PM
 #13

(marking) Cool

CosicMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135



View Profile
December 15, 2011, 03:38:50 PM
 #14

It works! Finally!  Grin
Very low cpu % on all cores.

Windows 7 x64
Core i5 2500k
2x Radeon HD6990
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
December 15, 2011, 05:09:47 PM
 #15

Wow, thank god! It's about time!

I too can also confirm that mining on win 7 64 bit with a radeon 5970 with crossfire enabled works without 100% per core cpu usage.


Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
December 15, 2011, 06:17:36 PM
 #16

Also confirmed.   However,  I can no longer run a 256 worksize on my 5970's.  Sad  Lost about 26mhash/sec per GPU.   Pleh.   Just can't win with these drivers...

For the longest time I'd get the best hash rates with a 256 worksize on my 5970.  Then for some reason (maybe I switched drivers, I don't remember) 128 gave me the best results.  What miner version are you using?  I'm using Phoenix 1.50.

Mousepotato
jwzguy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
December 15, 2011, 08:51:15 PM
 #17

OK, so I tried installing 11.12 and 12.1 both, with the same results.

I tried this on one of my rigs: AMD x4 core, with 3x 5830s - Win 7 64bit

The 100% CPU bug is ..... improved I guess.

CPU usage before the bug on this rig was under 4% (of one core) total for 3 instances of poclbm. Now it's 40% - I wouldn't call that solved.

CGminer uses 40-50% if restricted to 1 core, but then GPU utilization drops below 99% - without restriction it uses about 10-15% per core.

But now for the real bad news - card performance dropped 14%. I had about 930Mh on this machine. Each card is running 950/300 clocks. Now I'm getting around 800Mh. I've tried several miners and messed with the settings....this is the best I can get.

I'll be switching back to 11.11 soon.

19wXnWTeGuraN9g5UsMAi119sWzDCQcr7S
Bitcoin Logo shirts!
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
December 16, 2011, 04:32:56 AM
 #18

I installed 11.12 and went from about 412-414 MH/s per core down to 368 MH/s per core.  I lost over 40 MH/s per core, or around 80 MH/s total on my 5970 Sad  But CPU usage is only 60%.  Cool I guess.

Mousepotato
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
December 16, 2011, 09:10:34 AM
 #19

The Catalyst package installs two independent components that may individually affect performance: the video card driver, and the OpenCL SDK and DLLs. You can start the Windows installation, cancel after it has extracted the components, and then explore to the directory containing the individual components for manual installation. Note, the "display driver only" download actually includes OpenCL, drag and drop transcoding, and Visual C++ runtimes too.

I would be curious if just the new driver with older OpenCL or old driver with new OpenCL yields an improvement in the issues above (I don't have multi-gpu to thoroughly test).

Here are the typical extracted locations:

Video driver (specify this location when using device manager-> update video card driver):
C:\ATI\Support\11-12_vista32_win7_32_dd\Packages\Drivers\Display\W7_INF

OpenCL installer:
C:\ATI\Support\11-12_vista32_win7_32_dd\Packages\Apps\OpenCL\OpenCL.msi



deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
December 16, 2011, 05:11:00 PM
 #20

I can answer my own question now. The video card driver gives a minimal improvement over 11.6: at lower aggression settings, phoenix gets about 1 mhash more, but about the same at max settings.

The OpenCL version 2.6 included in the 11.12 package will completely hose your system for a 10%+ loss, you'll then need to uninstall the OpenCL installation or use the "uninstall all ATI software" option, and also find and delete C:\Windows\System32\amdocl64.dll, C:\Windows\System32\amdoclcl64.dll, C:\Windows\System32\OpenCL.dll, and reinstall the old OpenCL to get your performance back.

I can't test multi-GPU CPU usage though, so try to install the new driver only (through device manager, for each video card, after extracting the driver components, on Windows) and rebooting.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!