Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:37:51 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: *Catalyst 12.1 Preview* Decreased performance, anyone else confirm?  (Read 19332 times)
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
January 06, 2012, 06:58:11 PM
 #61

It would crash in dead island 1-4hrs at random 11.12 does not and it still has 0 % cpu usage but the lower mining speed to.
Ohhh yeahhh.... That dead island thing...

What that is is the total number of Dead Bodies not being Properly counted/Dumped In/out of your ram, It's basically a memory leak that floods your video memory until you crash.

Like when you change zones, The dead bodies are still in your ram.. But they're not there anymore.. *sigh*
i S'pose the fact that i Didnt like that game, Have large Vram and never played it for more than 4hrs in one sitting, Would equal that i dont crash on it

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
1480883871
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883871

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883871
Reply with quote  #2

1480883871
Report to moderator
1480883871
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883871

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883871
Reply with quote  #2

1480883871
Report to moderator
1480883871
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883871

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883871
Reply with quote  #2

1480883871
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480883871
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883871

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883871
Reply with quote  #2

1480883871
Report to moderator
1480883871
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883871

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883871
Reply with quote  #2

1480883871
Report to moderator
bal3wolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 426



View Profile
January 06, 2012, 11:30:18 PM
 #62

could be i run a 5970 and 5870 in crossfire game runs great other then the bsod i was getting on the 12.1 11.12 are nice to other then i cant add manual crossfire profiles with it like 12.1p.  I just installed sdk 2.1 with my 11.12 drivers to get bettter speeds mining and still 0% cpu usage and can still game.

my btc address 1LRWTJS3rf8ubG2oMjcm7CmGGDJQSomdRP
Mining tools and Drivers
bal3wolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 426



View Profile
January 10, 2012, 06:11:49 PM
 #63

im running 11.12 and sdk 2.1 right now no cpu bug i uninstalled the new sdk and installed 2.1 no problems now.  The sdk should not affect games mine play fine i dont play bf3 best thing you can do it try it and see.

my btc address 1LRWTJS3rf8ubG2oMjcm7CmGGDJQSomdRP
Mining tools and Drivers
Elder III
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91



View Profile
January 10, 2012, 06:26:33 PM
 #64

So has Anyone made it possible for people to run SDK 2.6 and Cat 12.1 to Remove the cpu bug, WITHOUT LOSING 10-20% OF OUR MINING SPEED.
Dia kernal=fails me by bringing back the cpu bug and give 60%less performance (prolly my fault due to bad Flags)
Phoenix Kern.=Fail, Narks my cpu upto 100% and gives simmilar results as the Custom Dia kernal, But with slightly higher hashing, And more Connection issues.. (wtf?)
CGminer=Fail, Brings my cpu to 100%....... and hashes at the same speeds as GUIminer+poclbm
DiabloMiner=Fail, Doesnt intend to work on 2.6 till he can tinker with a 7xxx to see what optimizations can Actually be made, 100%cpu, Same hashrates as CG miner.

Im almost at the point of putting a fucking bounty up.

win7x64
crossfire 6870's 1000core
PhenomIIx6.1090T@3.4
Cat 12.1 SDK 2.6

I GAME, Unless someone can proove to me that SDK 2.4/5 Does NOT make any differance in regards to playing BattleField3, AND brings back mining performance, WITHOUT Ressurecting the 100% CPU bug. Then i would like Solutions on howto get 2.6 running better, Not people walking up and going "just go back to these drivers", BattleField fucking demands the most recent drivers, Otherwise i Stutter like a crack whore, Freezeup like a Foreigner under arrest, And crash like a man who just ran out of heroine.


If your able to solve my troubles, I may kick coins over your way, Linking me to a solution gets you a minimal amount of reward.
Sitting on my lap and babysitting me till this is fixed will get you the largest reward

I'm using 12.1 preview drivers, on Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit.  With Phoenix 1.72 using pocblm Aggression 7 Worksize 64 I get ~433 mhash on my Stock HD 6970.  That's about 40 mhash better than it ever got before and there is at most 1-2% CPU useage when the rest of the system is at Idle.
pandemic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 418


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 02:41:50 AM
 #65

I wonder how much power it saves not having 100% cpu usage on one core. Probably worth more in savings than the 8-10mh/s drop per card.
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
January 14, 2012, 03:54:24 AM
 #66

im running 11.12 and sdk 2.1 right now no cpu bug i uninstalled the new sdk and installed 2.1 no problems now.  The sdk should not affect games mine play fine i dont play bf3 best thing you can do it try it and see.


How the heck are you running guiminer with sdk 2.1? Whenever I run guiminer with sdk 2.1 I get an error saying no opencl devices are installed. I keep seeing really good hashrates with 2.1 but I really want to use guiminer too and you somehow managed it.

show me a screenshot of your gpu caps viewer of the opencl page while guiminer is mining. you say you uninstalled your previous sdk, but thats kind of suspicious seeing that almost all posts concerning 2.1 sdk + guiminer says it wont work.

EDIT: NEVER MIND! I found a way to use guiminer + 2.1 SDK. Guiminer doesn't like 2.1 SDK by itself. If you have ANOTHER sdk installed ALONG SIDE of 2.1 though, then you will have 2 opencl platforms to choose from. One of the platforms will be 2.1 and guiminer and phoenix will happily mine away faster!

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 04:05:30 AM
 #67

So has Anyone made it possible for people to run SDK 2.6 and Cat 12.1 to Remove the cpu bug, WITHOUT LOSING 10-20% OF OUR MINING SPEED.
Dia kernal=fails me by bringing back the cpu bug and give 60%less performance (prolly my fault due to bad Flags)
Phoenix Kern.=Fail, Narks my cpu upto 100% and gives simmilar results as the Custom Dia kernal, But with slightly higher hashing, And more Connection issues.. (wtf?)
CGminer=Fail, Brings my cpu to 100%....... and hashes at the same speeds as GUIminer+poclbm
DiabloMiner=Fail, Doesnt intend to work on 2.6 till he can tinker with a 7xxx to see what optimizations can Actually be made, 100%cpu, Same hashrates as CG miner.

Im almost at the point of putting a fucking bounty up.

win7x64
crossfire 6870's 1000core
PhenomIIx6.1090T@3.4
Cat 12.1 SDK 2.6

I GAME, Unless someone can proove to me that SDK 2.4/5 Does NOT make any differance in regards to playing BattleField3, AND brings back mining performance, WITHOUT Ressurecting the 100% CPU bug. Then i would like Solutions on howto get 2.6 running better, Not people walking up and going "just go back to these drivers", BattleField fucking demands the most recent drivers, Otherwise i Stutter like a crack whore, Freezeup like a Foreigner under arrest, And crash like a man who just ran out of heroine.


If your able to solve my troubles, I may kick coins over your way, Linking me to a solution gets you a minimal amount of reward.
Sitting on my lap and babysitting me till this is fixed will get you the largest reward

I'm using 12.1 preview drivers, on Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit.  With Phoenix 1.72 using pocblm Aggression 7 Worksize 64 I get ~433 mhash on my Stock HD 6970.  That's about 40 mhash better than it ever got before and there is at most 1-2% CPU useage when the rest of the system is at Idle.

Well. That because you have a 69xx, and Phatkernal variations running with sdk 2.6 depend on the mem clock being "close to stock" Such as 1000, or 1150
People without a 69xx that want to have a Lowered memory clock cant use Phatkernal variations >.< (with sdk 2.6)

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
January 15, 2012, 08:00:26 AM
 #68

Dual boot linux ... ok how many bitcoins? Tongue

/nope. Tongue not touching linux.

Anyways it felt like forever, but I was able to revert to 2.5 SDK. Bitcoin offer is no longer valid. If you're using windows, simply replace these files with those of 2.5 SDK and you should have your faster mhash back

C:\Windows\System32\amdocl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\amdoclcl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\OpenCL.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdocl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdoclcl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\OpenCL.dll

I also uploaded a rar file with these dlls if anyone needs them to revert. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9768004/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5.rar
just extract it to the drive you have your OS installed on and it'll extract each file to the correct path.
edit: forgot link.

Thanks for this...
Queelis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 08:28:26 AM
 #69

/nope. Tongue not touching linux.

Anyways it felt like forever, but I was able to revert to 2.5 SDK. Bitcoin offer is no longer valid. If you're using windows, simply replace these files with those of 2.5 SDK and you should have your faster mhash back

C:\Windows\System32\amdocl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\amdoclcl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\OpenCL.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdocl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdoclcl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\OpenCL.dll

I also uploaded a rar file with these dlls if anyone needs them to revert. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9768004/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5.rar
just extract it to the drive you have your OS installed on and it'll extract each file to the correct path.
edit: forgot link.

This is awesome. Thanks for this. Hashing rate increased from ~120 to ~140 (cgminer 2.1.2, dynamic intensity, Radeon 5750, stock clocks, memory 150MHz). Small donation sent  Cheesy
foggyb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 06:08:30 AM
 #70

Anyways it felt like forever, but I was able to revert to 2.5 SDK. Bitcoin offer is no longer valid. If you're using windows, simply replace these files with those of 2.5 SDK and you should have your faster mhash back

C:\Windows\System32\amdocl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\amdoclcl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\OpenCL.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdocl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdoclcl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\OpenCL.dll

I also uploaded a rar file with these dlls if anyone needs them to revert. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9768004/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5.rar
just extract it to the drive you have your OS installed on and it'll extract each file to the correct path.
edit: forgot link.

Wow THANKYOU! this saved my butt because i had copied the wrong files manually, even a reinstall did not fix it.

Flipped you a quarter ;^)
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2012, 11:05:59 PM
 #71

...
I also uploaded a rar file with these dlls if anyone needs them to revert. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9768004/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5.rar
just extract it to the drive you have your OS installed on and it'll extract each file to the correct path.

This fix worked great for me on Xp and Xp64, but not on Seven32. I just get some file version error. Anyone has any idea?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 11:43:20 PM
 #72

Windows 7 and Windows XP require different drivers ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 06:13:47 PM
 #73

...
I also uploaded a rar file with these dlls if anyone needs them to revert. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9768004/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5.rar
just extract it to the drive you have your OS installed on and it'll extract each file to the correct path.

This fix worked great for me on Xp and Xp64, but not on Seven32. I just get some file version error. Anyone has any idea?

Suupperrr weirrdd...
Works on xp32, xp64 win7x64 but totally fails on win7x86

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
August 02, 2012, 09:36:20 PM
 #74

Anyone from AMD/ATI ever pipe in on the bitcoin mining arguments/testing/improvements in hardware/software ?

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
August 03, 2012, 02:20:11 AM
 #75

Anyone from AMD/ATI ever pipe in on the bitcoin mining arguments/testing/improvements in hardware/software ?
Way to necro the thread dude... You totally could've posted that in a different thread

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
August 03, 2012, 04:48:33 AM
 #76

Anyone from AMD/ATI ever pipe in on the bitcoin mining arguments/testing/improvements in hardware/software ?
Way to necro the thread dude... You totally could've posted that in a different thread

Could have, just didn't want to

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!