Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:18:46 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: *Catalyst 12.1 Preview* Decreased performance, anyone else confirm?  (Read 19376 times)
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
December 15, 2011, 05:07:41 PM
 #1

Previously I had a 5830 running at 272 Mhs with Phoenix 1.7 Phatk2 128worksize on Cat 11.11

Now getting 250 Mhs with the same settings.


Ouch.


Anyone esle try the preview? Going to try installing the old Opencl Package from 11.11 ontop of 12.1



(I was able to bring it back up to 265 Mhs with the original Phatk kernel, but still not as nice as 272....)

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
1481318326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481318326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481318326
Reply with quote  #2

1481318326
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481318326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481318326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481318326
Reply with quote  #2

1481318326
Report to moderator
1481318326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481318326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481318326
Reply with quote  #2

1481318326
Report to moderator
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
December 15, 2011, 08:36:09 PM
 #2

same speeds for me Undecided

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
jwzguy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
December 15, 2011, 08:56:27 PM
 #3

With both 11.12 and 12.1 I went from 310Mh to 270Mh on 3x 5380's clocked at 950/300, AMD x4 w/ Win7 64x.

19wXnWTeGuraN9g5UsMAi119sWzDCQcr7S
Bitcoin Logo shirts!
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
December 16, 2011, 01:09:12 AM
 #4

With both 11.12 and 12.1 I went from 310Mh to 270Mh on 3x 5380's clocked at 950/300, AMD x4 w/ Win7 64x.
I'm using 2x 5850, but i don't think there was a hashrate drop. MAYBE 10 mh/s drop, max.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
dark_silverstar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76



View Profile
December 16, 2011, 01:15:07 AM
 #5

my 5850 speed dropped 20 mh/s. im trying using driver sweeper and install previous driver still had the same problem  Undecided
Schwede65
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
December 16, 2011, 07:11:32 AM
 #6

from 11.11 to 11.12

plus:
first time multi-gpu-cpu-bug solved in 11.12 - for me
installed on 2 x 6990-rig

but

minus:
hashrate dropped ~5 %

12.1 is only preview and seems to have the performance of 11.12
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
December 16, 2011, 07:25:29 AM
 #7

When I installed 11.12, I noticed the opencl version was hugely different. it went from 2.5.793.1 to 10.0.831.4. opencl is probably a completely different beast now.

edit: huge mhash drop. asus 5870 / sapphire 5870 / sapphire 5830 xtreme went from 475/501.8/317.1 to 440.1/454.5/286. DO NOT INSTALL!!!!!!!!!
edit2: maybe you can update to 11.12 driver but stay on "old" opencl. i'll post back with results.
another: I didnt even check to see if cpu bug was still there with 3 vid cards. sorry guys
zzz: after uninstalling, rebooting, driver sweeper all amd products, rebooting again, installing 11.11, I still have the "new" opencl somehow. my good miner has been tainted!

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
December 16, 2011, 07:38:18 AM
 #8

When I installed 11.12, I noticed the opencl version was hugely different. it went from 2.5.793.1 to 10.0.831.4. opencl is probably a completely different beast now.
Yeah, I noticed this aswell, I was actually JUST about to update all my drivers on my gaming rigs to play battlefield 3, Hearing that "12.1 will probly finally use all of your GPU in BF3"
But seeing this performance drop aint worth the headache...

Anyone got info on that part?
Running crossfire 6870's 1ghz core each, 11.11b (seems the best as far as i know) and battlefield 3 with:
2xAA
1920x1080
Shadow=High
Texture=High
Postprocss=Off
Motion blur=Off
Everything else, Ultra.

And yet i get a Steady Solid 45fps, That only drops to <30 when i fly and look over the Whole Map
It feels Correct, There doesnt FEEL like and performance is going to waste, it FEELS like it's just NOT being asked to get used
Like fucking shit i can mine with -f80 and my fps doesnt drop too much
And i'll get about 80mhash/sec percard!!!!

With 58% load on both cards.......................................................
I WANT TO TURN MY SETTINGS UP THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
December 16, 2011, 08:58:22 AM
 #9

oh my god I have tried like 4 times now to revert to 2.5 sdk and i cant revert! I've tried uninstalling -everything- amd related and used driver sweeper every time too, but i simply cant revert it! its like it just decides to keep the most recent sdk "just in case".

i'll pay bitcoins to someone who can help revert without needing a complete system format.

kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 16, 2011, 09:03:07 AM
 #10

Dual boot linux ... ok how many bitcoins? Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
December 16, 2011, 09:23:52 AM
 #11

Dual boot linux ... ok how many bitcoins? Tongue

/nope. Tongue not touching linux.

Anyways it felt like forever, but I was able to revert to 2.5 SDK. Bitcoin offer is no longer valid. If you're using windows, simply replace these files with those of 2.5 SDK and you should have your faster mhash back

C:\Windows\System32\amdocl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\amdoclcl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\OpenCL.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdocl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdoclcl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\OpenCL.dll

I also uploaded a rar file with these dlls if anyone needs them to revert. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9768004/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5.rar
just extract it to the drive you have your OS installed on and it'll extract each file to the correct path.
edit: forgot link.

Schwede65
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
December 16, 2011, 09:48:19 AM
 #12

Dual boot linux ... ok how many bitcoins? Tongue

/nope. Tongue not touching linux.

Anyways it felt like forever, but I was able to revert to 2.5 SDK. Bitcoin offer is no longer valid. If you're using windows, simply replace these files with those of 2.5 SDK and you should have your faster mhash back

C:\Windows\System32\amdocl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\amdoclcl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\OpenCL.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdocl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdoclcl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\OpenCL.dll

I also uploaded a rar file with these dlls if anyone needs them to revert. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9768004/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5.rar
just extract it to the drive you have your OS installed on and it'll extract each file to the correct path.
edit: forgot link.

thx for this detailed infos...

the "old" performance is back again  Grin
jkminkov
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 534


View Profile
December 16, 2011, 09:55:46 AM
 #13

it is slower with phoenix but it has small boost with cgminer with flag -I 9(to remove cpu bug)

w7 x64 5870@950/300 gives 434,4Mhash/s, with catalyst 11.11/b/c/ was 433,3

Bleutrade
600 dollars in one place talking - Dudes, hooray, Bitcoin against us just one, but we are growing in numbers!
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
December 16, 2011, 09:56:33 AM
 #14

it is slower with phoenix but it has small boost with cgminer with flag -I 9(to remove cpu bug)

w7 x64 5870@950/300 gives 434,4Mhash/s, with catalyst 11.11/b/c/ was 433,3

One mega hash from One user...
Anyone else got something on the positive side for these drivers?

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
December 16, 2011, 10:28:45 AM
 #15

it is slower with phoenix but it has small boost with cgminer with flag -I 9(to remove cpu bug)

w7 x64 5870@950/300 gives 434,4Mhash/s, with catalyst 11.11/b/c/ was 433,3

One mega hash from One user...
Anyone else got something on the positive side for these drivers?

It's very likely that nobody will see improvements until kernels get rewritten to better accommodate the new version of opencl and AMD APP.

farfiman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1434



View Profile
December 16, 2011, 12:29:26 PM
 #16

oh my god I have tried like 4 times now to revert to 2.5 sdk and i cant revert! I've tried uninstalling -everything- amd related and used driver sweeper every time too, but i simply cant revert it! its like it just decides to keep the most recent sdk "just in case".

\


Same here...  and it didnt solve the cpu bug for me.


"We are just fools. We insanely believe that we can replace one politician with another and something will really change. The ONLY possible way to achieve change is to change the very system of how government functions. Until we are prepared to do that, suck it up for your future belongs to the madness and corruption of politicians."
Martin Armstrong
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
December 16, 2011, 02:47:22 PM
 #17

oh my god I have tried like 4 times now to revert to 2.5 sdk and i cant revert! I've tried uninstalling -everything- amd related and used driver sweeper every time too, but i simply cant revert it! its like it just decides to keep the most recent sdk "just in case".

\


Same here...  and it didnt solve the cpu bug for me.



I already figured out how to revert back to the faster SDK. Just scroll down. I even posted a compressed archive of the files you'll need to revert back to 2.5 (2.6 is the new, slower, sdk)

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
December 16, 2011, 05:45:52 PM
 #18

oh my god I have tried like 4 times now to revert to 2.5 sdk and i cant revert! I've tried uninstalling -everything- amd related and used driver sweeper every time too, but i simply cant revert it! its like it just decides to keep the most recent sdk "just in case".

\


Same here...  and it didnt solve the cpu bug for me.



I already figured out how to revert back to the faster SDK. Just scroll down. I even posted a compressed archive of the files you'll need to revert back to 2.5 (2.6 is the new, slower, sdk)
Maybe for mining coins, But perhaps the new OpenCL runs games better

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
December 17, 2011, 02:31:41 AM
 #19

oh my god I have tried like 4 times now to revert to 2.5 sdk and i cant revert! I've tried uninstalling -everything- amd related and used driver sweeper every time too, but i simply cant revert it! its like it just decides to keep the most recent sdk "just in case".

\


Same here...  and it didnt solve the cpu bug for me.



I already figured out how to revert back to the faster SDK. Just scroll down. I even posted a compressed archive of the files you'll need to revert back to 2.5 (2.6 is the new, slower, sdk)
Maybe for mining coins, But perhaps the new OpenCL runs games better

There are extremely few, if any, modern games that utilize opencl. OpenCL is aimed more towards scientific applications like WPA cracking. If a game needs numbers calculated for something like physics, it'll either be offloaded to the CPU in order to keep game framerate high, or if you have an nvidia card and the game specificly uses physx, it'll be offloaded to that instead.

You're probably thinking of OpenGL, which coincidentally got a version bump to 4.2 in 11.12 and 12.1 preview.

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
December 17, 2011, 03:04:04 AM
 #20

oh my god I have tried like 4 times now to revert to 2.5 sdk and i cant revert! I've tried uninstalling -everything- amd related and used driver sweeper every time too, but i simply cant revert it! its like it just decides to keep the most recent sdk "just in case".

\


Same here...  and it didnt solve the cpu bug for me.



I already figured out how to revert back to the faster SDK. Just scroll down. I even posted a compressed archive of the files you'll need to revert back to 2.5 (2.6 is the new, slower, sdk)
Maybe for mining coins, But perhaps the new OpenCL runs games better

There are extremely few, if any, modern games that utilize opencl. OpenCL is aimed more towards scientific applications like WPA cracking. If a game needs numbers calculated for something like physics, it'll either be offloaded to the CPU in order to keep game framerate high, or if you have an nvidia card and the game specificly uses physx, it'll be offloaded to that instead.

You're probably thinking of OpenGL, which coincidentally got a version bump to 4.2 in 11.12 and 12.1 preview.

Nah, Definitly know the differance between openComptuingLanguage and OpenGraphicsLanguage,
Why would you think that it would be offloaded to the CPU unless you have an nvidia card running PhysX?
In BF3, My cpu is up around 80% usage on each core (PhenomIIx6@3.6ghz) While my dual 6870's are just kinda "lulling" at 60% while they run the graphics for battlefield.
I would assume that OpenCL would take some of this CPU load off, And run it in my GPU.


http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!