Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 06:01:48 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New here, need a bit of help  (Read 468 times)
Bardamu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
December 18, 2011, 06:09:10 PM
 #1

Hello everyone Smiley

I've been reading the forum as a visitor for quite a while but I just decidded recently to buy a few bitcoins.

So I bought some through mtgox and since I sent them to my bitcoin adress even if I hadn't finished downloading the block chain... (I couldn't wait)

That was about a week ago. My bitcoin client took so long to download the block chain that I finally decided to download it through http. It worked fine, my client shows that I have the whole chain (158053) blocks and downloads the new blocks without any problems. However I don't have my bitcoins!

When I go on blockexplorer.com and type my bitcoin adress in, it says that I did receive my bitcoins, however my bitcoin client doesn't show anything...

And my wallet.dat file is only 104kb is that normal? I'm I wont be able to get my 20 bitcoins back...

What can i do?
Thanks a lot for your help Wink
1480788108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480788108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480788108
Reply with quote  #2

1480788108
Report to moderator
1480788108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480788108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480788108
Reply with quote  #2

1480788108
Report to moderator
1480788108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480788108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480788108
Reply with quote  #2

1480788108
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480788108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480788108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480788108
Reply with quote  #2

1480788108
Report to moderator
1480788108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480788108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480788108
Reply with quote  #2

1480788108
Report to moderator
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
December 18, 2011, 06:14:59 PM
 #2

Run your bitcoin client with the rescan option.

Which OS are you using?

Bardamu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
December 18, 2011, 06:19:55 PM
 #3

Win XP.
To run the bitcoin client do i just have to execute C:/Program Files/bitcoin/bitcoin.exe -bitcoin or do i have to use the textonly client (bitcoind.exe)?
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
December 18, 2011, 06:23:24 PM
 #4

Win XP.
To run the bitcoin client do i just have to execute C:/Program Files/bitcoin/bitcoin.exe -bitcoin or do i have to use the textonly client (bitcoind.exe)?

in your cmd.exe type this

Code:
'C:/Program Files/bitcoin/bitcoin.exe' -rescan
and you should be good to go. wait for it to rescan, close the cmd.exe and open it as usual clicking the shortcut in your Desktop

Or alternatively add -rescan after 'C:/Program Files/bitcoin/bitcoin.exe' in your shortcut properties window. Ofcourse if you add the -rescan option to the shortcut don't forget to remove it after you finish the rescan operation or else it will rescan the blockchain every time you open the client Wink

Bardamu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
December 18, 2011, 06:36:27 PM
 #5

Worked fine, I have my coins Grin
Thanks!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!