Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:02:31 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: Would you use such a mining proxy?  (Voting closed: April 13, 2011, 10:26:05 PM)
Yes, it seems like a good idea. - 7 (63.6%)
Maybe. - 1 (9.1%)
No, I don't like the idea. - 3 (27.3%)
No, I use something similar already. - 0 (0%)
Total Voters: 11

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Flexible mining proxy  (Read 83988 times)
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
July 30, 2011, 08:03:25 PM
 #301

I added correlation graphs so you can see Mhash values alongside your GPU temp in the same graph. Requires the Phoenix logfile modification to grab the mhash value, as the schema in Flexible doesn't provide an easy method to get periodic mhash values that correspond to the temp values. Maybe I'll figure that out later... but in the meantime if you use Phoenix the logfile mod is super simple. https://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=27761.0




<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
1481346151
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346151

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346151
Reply with quote  #2

1481346151
Report to moderator
1481346151
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346151

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346151
Reply with quote  #2

1481346151
Report to moderator
1481346151
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346151

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346151
Reply with quote  #2

1481346151
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481346151
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346151

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346151
Reply with quote  #2

1481346151
Report to moderator
1481346151
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346151

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346151
Reply with quote  #2

1481346151
Report to moderator
1481346151
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346151

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346151
Reply with quote  #2

1481346151
Report to moderator
Brian DeLoach
VIP
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 158


View Profile
August 13, 2011, 11:48:02 PM
 #302

Code:
[Sat Aug 13 18:32:06 2011] [error] server reached MaxClients setting, consider raising the MaxClients setting

How do I increase this setting? When this error is thrown, apache screeches to a halt and is unusable until restarted.

Quote from: Matthew N. Wright
I use the blockchain to power my rotating love bed.
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
August 14, 2011, 01:42:32 AM
 #303

Code:
[Sat Aug 13 18:32:06 2011] [error] server reached MaxClients setting, consider raising the MaxClients setting

How do I increase this setting? When this error is thrown, apache screeches to a halt and is unusable until restarted.

Google is your friend. Open the httpd.conf file and change the max clients value to something higher.

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
Brian DeLoach
VIP
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 158


View Profile
August 14, 2011, 02:00:17 AM
 #304

the httpd.conf in /etc/apache2 is blank. Is there another file by that name somewhere else?

edit: config file is apache2.conf for Debian. Google is pretty useful.

Quote from: Matthew N. Wright
I use the blockchain to power my rotating love bed.
Brian DeLoach
VIP
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 158


View Profile
August 14, 2011, 02:25:02 AM
 #305

Of course, fix a problem and another shows up

Code:
Uncaught exception 'PDOException' with message 'SQLSTATE[HY000] [1040] Too many connections' in
 /var/www/common.inc.php:33\nStack trace:\n#0 /var/www/common.inc.php(33): PDO->__construct('mysql:host=loca...', 'Alphy',
 'bitminer')\n#1 /var/www/index.php(31): db_connect()\n#2 {main}\n  thrown in /var/www/common.inc.php on line 33

Quote from: Matthew N. Wright
I use the blockchain to power my rotating love bed.
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
August 14, 2011, 06:01:00 PM
 #306

Of course, fix a problem and another shows up

Code:
Uncaught exception 'PDOException' with message 'SQLSTATE[HY000] [1040] Too many connections' in
 /var/www/common.inc.php:33\nStack trace:\n#0 /var/www/common.inc.php(33): PDO->__construct('mysql:host=loca...', 'Alphy',
 'bitminer')\n#1 /var/www/index.php(31): db_connect()\n#2 {main}\n  thrown in /var/www/common.inc.php on line 33


Open the /etc/mysql/my.cnf (debian) or /etc/my.cnf (rhel) and set max_connections=250 or to something higher than what you have currently. I'm not going to get into the per-thread buffer memory usage stuff when you increase max_connections... so either read up on it or just be aware that each connection allocates ram so if you are low on memory you might want to consider that impact. The default mysql max_connections is 100, fyi. I am not sure why flexible proxy uses connections so much - maybe it's not making persistent or pooled connections.

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
virtualcodewarrior
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 12:39:59 AM
 #307

I have the same problems as alfalfa. Every so often apache runs out of clients and has to be restarted. Increasing the clients doesn't help because then PHP throws the exception. I run 4 separate miners through the proxy and use the latest phoenix release. I mine mostly on Eligius.

It looks like new connections keep being opened without closing the old ones (or maybe it closes the old ones slower then it opens the new ones) Sometimes it recovers on its own.

1CuGEkBCmykfA86ccgpERHCSmeptBz95P6 -> if I wrote something useful by accident Smiley.
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 03:08:34 AM
 #308

I have the same problems as alfalfa. Every so often apache runs out of clients and has to be restarted. Increasing the clients doesn't help because then PHP throws the exception. I run 4 separate miners through the proxy and use the latest phoenix release. I mine mostly on Eligius.

It looks like new connections keep being opened without closing the old ones (or maybe it closes the old ones slower then it opens the new ones) Sometimes it recovers on its own.

This is likely due to a bug in the application where it's not closing connections properly. Simple solution: create a /etc/crontab entry that restarts apache and/or mysql every N hours.

Code:
01 * * * * root /etc/init.d/httpd restart > /dev/null
02 * * * * root /etc/init.d/mysqld restart > /dev/null

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
bitfoo
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 289



View Profile
August 24, 2011, 01:22:06 AM
 #309

After watching tshark, poclbm.py output, and tailing the access log for the proxy, I have determined that a low KeepAliveTimeout setting in the Apache config was the culprit.

The KeepAliveTimeout on my server was 3 seconds, and the ask rate was 5.  This caused the miner to try to use a KeepAlive session, only to find it timed out.  Then it had to establish a new connection.  This was giving the connection issues I was seeing.

Essentially what this means is the KeepAliveTimeout setting has to be higher than the ask rate.  I would suggest adding a few seconds on top to make sure there's a little wiggle room.
Thanks for the info!  I'll add this to the readme, and perhaps to the .htaccess file.

In general, is it preferable to configure Apache with KeepAlive enabled or disabled for this proxy?

shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
August 24, 2011, 04:13:10 AM
 #310

After watching tshark, poclbm.py output, and tailing the access log for the proxy, I have determined that a low KeepAliveTimeout setting in the Apache config was the culprit.

The KeepAliveTimeout on my server was 3 seconds, and the ask rate was 5.  This caused the miner to try to use a KeepAlive session, only to find it timed out.  Then it had to establish a new connection.  This was giving the connection issues I was seeing.

Essentially what this means is the KeepAliveTimeout setting has to be higher than the ask rate.  I would suggest adding a few seconds on top to make sure there's a little wiggle room.
Thanks for the info!  I'll add this to the readme, and perhaps to the .htaccess file.

In general, is it preferable to configure Apache with KeepAlive enabled or disabled for this proxy?

enabled afaik, ymmv

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
Intention
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 09:42:42 PM
 #311

So I got this up and running on just a temporary vps before I commit to running this on a local machine since I'm very bad at these things and things usually end up getting reinstalled.

I have the web portion up and running with the dashboard etc it is currently installed in the root of the machine's apache directory.  I have pointed my miner to the ip of my vps however I keep getting the same loop of errors.

2011-09-02 05:36:39: Listener for "test": myip:8332 02/09/2011 05:36:39, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC 1 2
2011-09-02 05:36:44: Listener for "test": myip:8332 02/09/2011 05:36:44, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC 2 2
2011-09-02 05:36:49: Listener for "test": myip:8332 02/09/2011 05:36:49, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC 3 2
2011-09-02 05:36:49: Listener for "test": myip:8332 02/09/2011 05:36:49, No more backup pools left. Using primary and starting over.

I have made sure magic_quotes_gpc is off by manually entering the option and I've also changed the keepalive time out to 10 seconds however I am not sure what else could be causing this.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
skEwb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21



View Profile
September 02, 2011, 07:50:22 PM
 #312

Ran it on my own private VPS for a while and had no issues with it. It was working as it should. Thanks for the proxy.
kripz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
September 03, 2011, 05:03:23 AM
 #313

This is long dead, though still working. I've read reports on this proxy loosing up to 10% of shares due to the code and/or apache not keeping up with the number of requests.

Please check your miner/proxy/pool stats and compare.

 Merged mining, free SMS notifications, PayPal payout and much more.
http://btcstats.net/sig/JZCODg2
coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 07:45:03 AM
 #314

This is long dead, though still working. I've read reports on this proxy loosing up to 10% of shares due to the code and/or apache not keeping up with the number of requests.

Please check your miner/proxy/pool stats and compare.

I've seen it slow down due to db getting too large. So I have to clean them out at least once a week doing this:

DELETE FROM `work_data` WHERE DATEDIFF(UTC_TIMESTAMP(), `time_requested`) > 0;
DELETE FROM `submitted_work` WHERE DATEDIFF(UTC_TIMESTAMP(), `time`) > 0;

Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 487



View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 09:16:19 AM
 #315

The proxy is quite good AFAIK, I have a consistent rejection rate of ~1%, but that's to be expected.

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
Naven
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
November 05, 2011, 08:00:05 PM
 #316

@cdhowie, are u planing any updates?

If u got to much BTCs - 1PrbRQReXHTM9uXsivMuKDgbQMqxWxJVzA
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2011, 04:45:34 PM
 #317

Watching

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
siggy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 12:00:23 AM
 #318

apologies for resurecting an old thread..

is this still being updated / mantained?  Is there a better mining proxy out there?   I've now got 6 rigs I'm managing, and soon to be expanding further... having one central location to view stats & manage pools would be a godsend...

thanks,
Sigg

I am Pentium of Borg. Division is futile. You will be approximated.
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
February 04, 2012, 09:21:10 AM
 #319

apologies for resurecting an old thread..

is this still being updated / mantained?  Is there a better mining proxy out there?   I've now got 6 rigs I'm managing, and soon to be expanding further... having one central location to view stats & manage pools would be a godsend...

thanks,
Sigg

I use this proxy and it works well enough for me. It's a shame that it's not still actively developed, though.

I took a look at the various forks on Github and it looks like virtualcodewarrior's is the most recently updated, but the last commit was Aug 21, 2011... Still, it might be worth a look (I haven't looked at it yet).

I second the question, is there a better proxy out there? Should we start a bounty or something? Are there any major problems with the proxy that need fixing?

ummas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 08:20:16 AM
 #320

I`m on the topic now.
I`ll try to run that, and if it will work for me, i`ll start thinking for better solution.
Is there any other as fizzisist said ?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!