Bitcoin Forum
May 05, 2024, 04:54:32 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Poll
Question: Would you use such a mining proxy?  (Voting closed: April 13, 2011, 10:26:05 PM)
Yes, it seems like a good idea. - 7 (63.6%)
Maybe. - 1 (9.1%)
No, I don't like the idea. - 3 (27.3%)
No, I use something similar already. - 0 (0%)
Total Voters: 11

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Flexible mining proxy  (Read 88553 times)
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 11



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 03:08:34 AM
 #301

I have the same problems as alfalfa. Every so often apache runs out of clients and has to be restarted. Increasing the clients doesn't help because then PHP throws the exception. I run 4 separate miners through the proxy and use the latest phoenix release. I mine mostly on Eligius.

It looks like new connections keep being opened without closing the old ones (or maybe it closes the old ones slower then it opens the new ones) Sometimes it recovers on its own.

This is likely due to a bug in the application where it's not closing connections properly. Simple solution: create a /etc/crontab entry that restarts apache and/or mysql every N hours.

Code:
01 * * * * root /etc/init.d/httpd restart > /dev/null
02 * * * * root /etc/init.d/mysqld restart > /dev/null

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
1714928072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714928072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714928072
Reply with quote  #2

1714928072
Report to moderator
Transactions must be included in a block to be properly completed. When you send a transaction, it is broadcast to miners. Miners can then optionally include it in their next blocks. Miners will be more inclined to include your transaction if it has a higher transaction fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
bitfoo
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 289
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 24, 2011, 01:22:06 AM
 #302

After watching tshark, poclbm.py output, and tailing the access log for the proxy, I have determined that a low KeepAliveTimeout setting in the Apache config was the culprit.

The KeepAliveTimeout on my server was 3 seconds, and the ask rate was 5.  This caused the miner to try to use a KeepAlive session, only to find it timed out.  Then it had to establish a new connection.  This was giving the connection issues I was seeing.

Essentially what this means is the KeepAliveTimeout setting has to be higher than the ask rate.  I would suggest adding a few seconds on top to make sure there's a little wiggle room.
Thanks for the info!  I'll add this to the readme, and perhaps to the .htaccess file.

In general, is it preferable to configure Apache with KeepAlive enabled or disabled for this proxy?

shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 11



View Profile
August 24, 2011, 04:13:10 AM
 #303

After watching tshark, poclbm.py output, and tailing the access log for the proxy, I have determined that a low KeepAliveTimeout setting in the Apache config was the culprit.

The KeepAliveTimeout on my server was 3 seconds, and the ask rate was 5.  This caused the miner to try to use a KeepAlive session, only to find it timed out.  Then it had to establish a new connection.  This was giving the connection issues I was seeing.

Essentially what this means is the KeepAliveTimeout setting has to be higher than the ask rate.  I would suggest adding a few seconds on top to make sure there's a little wiggle room.
Thanks for the info!  I'll add this to the readme, and perhaps to the .htaccess file.

In general, is it preferable to configure Apache with KeepAlive enabled or disabled for this proxy?

enabled afaik, ymmv

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
Intention
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 09:42:42 PM
 #304

So I got this up and running on just a temporary vps before I commit to running this on a local machine since I'm very bad at these things and things usually end up getting reinstalled.

I have the web portion up and running with the dashboard etc it is currently installed in the root of the machine's apache directory.  I have pointed my miner to the ip of my vps however I keep getting the same loop of errors.

2011-09-02 05:36:39: Listener for "test": myip:8332 02/09/2011 05:36:39, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC 1 2
2011-09-02 05:36:44: Listener for "test": myip:8332 02/09/2011 05:36:44, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC 2 2
2011-09-02 05:36:49: Listener for "test": myip:8332 02/09/2011 05:36:49, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC 3 2
2011-09-02 05:36:49: Listener for "test": myip:8332 02/09/2011 05:36:49, No more backup pools left. Using primary and starting over.

I have made sure magic_quotes_gpc is off by manually entering the option and I've also changed the keepalive time out to 10 seconds however I am not sure what else could be causing this.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
skEwb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 02, 2011, 07:50:22 PM
 #305

Ran it on my own private VPS for a while and had no issues with it. It was working as it should. Thanks for the proxy.
kripz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 03, 2011, 05:03:23 AM
 #306

This is long dead, though still working. I've read reports on this proxy loosing up to 10% of shares due to the code and/or apache not keeping up with the number of requests.

Please check your miner/proxy/pool stats and compare.

 Merged mining, free SMS notifications, PayPal payout and much more.
http://btcstats.net/sig/JZCODg2
coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1653
Merit: 1286


Creator of Litecoin. Cryptocurrency enthusiast.


View Profile
September 08, 2011, 07:45:03 AM
 #307

This is long dead, though still working. I've read reports on this proxy loosing up to 10% of shares due to the code and/or apache not keeping up with the number of requests.

Please check your miner/proxy/pool stats and compare.

I've seen it slow down due to db getting too large. So I have to clean them out at least once a week doing this:

DELETE FROM `work_data` WHERE DATEDIFF(UTC_TIMESTAMP(), `time_requested`) > 0;
DELETE FROM `submitted_work` WHERE DATEDIFF(UTC_TIMESTAMP(), `time`) > 0;

Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489
Merit: 504



View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 09:16:19 AM
 #308

The proxy is quite good AFAIK, I have a consistent rejection rate of ~1%, but that's to be expected.

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
Naven
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 05, 2011, 08:00:05 PM
 #309

@cdhowie, are u planing any updates?
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 101

Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2011, 04:45:34 PM
 #310

Watching

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
siggy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 381
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 12:00:23 AM
 #311

apologies for resurecting an old thread..

is this still being updated / mantained?  Is there a better mining proxy out there?   I've now got 6 rigs I'm managing, and soon to be expanding further... having one central location to view stats & manage pools would be a godsend...

thanks,
Sigg
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720
Merit: 525



View Profile WWW
February 04, 2012, 09:21:10 AM
 #312

apologies for resurecting an old thread..

is this still being updated / mantained?  Is there a better mining proxy out there?   I've now got 6 rigs I'm managing, and soon to be expanding further... having one central location to view stats & manage pools would be a godsend...

thanks,
Sigg

I use this proxy and it works well enough for me. It's a shame that it's not still actively developed, though.

I took a look at the various forks on Github and it looks like virtualcodewarrior's is the most recently updated, but the last commit was Aug 21, 2011... Still, it might be worth a look (I haven't looked at it yet).

I second the question, is there a better proxy out there? Should we start a bounty or something? Are there any major problems with the proxy that need fixing?

ummas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 08:20:16 AM
 #313

I`m on the topic now.
I`ll try to run that, and if it will work for me, i`ll start thinking for better solution.
Is there any other as fizzisist said ?
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 30, 2012, 05:14:38 AM
 #314

apologies for resurecting an old thread..

is this still being updated / mantained?  Is there a better mining proxy out there?   I've now got 6 rigs I'm managing, and soon to be expanding further... having one central location to view stats & manage pools would be a godsend...

thanks,
Sigg

I use this proxy and it works well enough for me. It's a shame that it's not still actively developed, though.

I took a look at the various forks on Github and it looks like virtualcodewarrior's is the most recently updated, but the last commit was Aug 21, 2011... Still, it might be worth a look (I haven't looked at it yet).

I second the question, is there a better proxy out there? Should we start a bounty or something? Are there any major problems with the proxy that need fixing?
Any progress on this?

Lomax42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2012, 06:13:01 AM
Last edit: June 14, 2012, 06:41:12 AM by Lomax42
 #315

Does anyone can tell what's the problem?? Why do so many Getworks * and so little Shares *
Pool              Latest work requested                                Getworks * Shares * Rejected *  
Deepbit By 123 at 2012-06-14 06:10:56 UTC                         7939         1936        1.86%


Use cgminer-2.3.4-win32 & 15 comp
MasterX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 10



View Profile
November 15, 2012, 09:09:57 AM
 #316

Thanks for the release!  I'll dedicate some time to pulling and installing it tomorrow, and pass that money along once it's up.  After all, a promise is a promise Smiley  Thanks again.

Cool, thanks!  Hope the software works for you.

If you run into any trouble, let me know.  I intend to support the software I publish.  (That goes for everyone.)
Hi cdhowie,

Maybe i'm missing something, but after i installed the database and changed mysql parameters (login&passwd);
When typing the url in my browser http://127.0.0.1 i get the apache login window, askin for credentials, but whatever i try, it keeps coming back and i'm unable to login.
I tried changing the credentials in the config file, but even with default 'admin' + 'changeme' it does not work.

Is there anything else i should check or do before i'm able to login/use this software?

Any help would be great!

PS: i'm testing this on the most recent stable release of Xampp.


| Donations: 1MegaXG1bd6mTEQCdAMjVzGexcYrF5LJKv |
Baazee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
May 03, 2013, 05:41:20 PM
 #317

I use this software on my server.
I am actually very happy with it, but have the problem that more and more pools switch to stratum.
Is there an update?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!