Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:00:24 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: My initial Radeon HD 7970 mining benchmarks  (Read 43865 times)
m3ta
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427



View Profile WWW
February 02, 2012, 07:17:35 PM
 #181

fan 55% setting.

Damn noisy at 55% for anyone who is close to it. Smiley

Why the frell so many retards spell "ect" as an abbreviation of "Et Cetera"? "ETC", DAMMIT! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Et_cetera

Host:/# rm -rf /var/forum/trolls
1481248824
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481248824

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481248824
Reply with quote  #2

1481248824
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Anvi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 10:46:04 PM
 #182

Damn noisy at 55% for anyone who is close to it. Smiley

True, I'm using 925MHz 1020mV / 366MHz 1500mV and fan @29% whenever I want some peace and quiet Smiley

Has anyone found any optimized kernels yet? Or manage to get more than 550MH/s @ 925MHz ?

Sapphire HD7970, 2* HIS 7970 IceQ X² GHz Edition
LTC: LRk7zdN8F52NH9XeqRvWnUEe2XXcUFMv6e
outsidefactor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 11:14:17 PM
 #183

Anyone know how to get the memory clock on the 7970 lower? If I lower it more than 950 mhz, it jumps up to stock speeds. I can't control the voltage in afterburner, and Trixx won't let me lower it, only raise it.

Version 2.2.1 of cgminer controls the memory clock speeds just fine: I run my clocks at 150, something Catalyst Control OD confirms. I have found the best results with my two 7970s on cgminer, getting 449 (intensity 6) and 480 (intensity 14) on the two, respectively.

And they're great for gaming. Viva la ATI!
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680



View Profile
February 03, 2012, 03:26:23 AM
 #184

Those are great results for that card. Doesn't surprise me a bit. These cards are utter monsters. I'm also curious about the power draw.
Integ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


!


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 09:30:37 AM
 #185

Version 2.2.1 of cgminer controls the memory clock speeds just fine: I run my clocks at 150, something Catalyst Control OD confirms. I have found the best results with my two 7970s on cgminer, getting 449 (intensity 6) and 480 (intensity 14) on the two, respectively.

Hmm... the best result is 550 at least on stock clocks.

Если Вы давно собирались отправить мне деньги, но боялись предложить - у Вас есть шанс сделать это! - гокс кинул меня на 31248 сатоши!
1NiWhDiKGfyWj4EoJXDLm1J3SXsZSjUCjB (получено, спасибо! )))
Flachen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 01:05:33 PM
 #186

I really hope they come with the 7990 as they did with the 6990, if they can crank out 2 x 7970 performance we are talking about a graphiccard which is usefull
minivan81
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20



View Profile
February 03, 2012, 03:05:23 PM
 #187

Those are great results for that card. Doesn't surprise me a bit. These cards are utter monsters. I'm also curious about the power draw.

I have a 2 x 7970 set up, 1049mV, 1105 core, 685 clock. Draw from the wall peaks at 580watt on load.  Just a reference.

 *Link Removed*
waterboyserver
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 02:45:11 AM
 #188

I have not tried yet to lower the power consumption on my card, but I have it overclocked to 1275 MHz core, RAM is more difficult to modify with software, but using the new bitminter beta just released I can achieve 780 MH/s; GPU-Z sensors say my overall power consumption is 206.3 watts; so if my calculations are correct this is 3.78 MH/watt. This card is can far more, with the new AMD drivers I can pull 833 MH/s at 1310 MHz, but it will crash in a few seconds unless I raise the voltage.
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
February 21, 2012, 10:09:59 PM
 #189

Just wanted to throw my .02 cents in here.

I now have 7 of these bad boys up and running, and I think I have found a sweet spot for those running them enclosed in a case:

1150 core
600 mem
Cgminer
aggression @ 10
Fan @ 70%

688 MH/s, 75 degrees, rock solid stability. 


I would love to throw a waterblock on one of these things and see how hard you can push them.  I really don't think 800 Mh/s is out of the question. 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
teek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 664


ASICMINER Official Canadian Distributor


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 10:58:32 PM
 #190

Just wanted to throw my .02 cents in here.

I now have 7 of these bad boys up and running, and I think I have found a sweet spot for those running them enclosed in a case:

1150 core
600 mem
Cgminer
aggression @ 10
Fan @ 70%

688 MH/s, 75 degrees, rock solid stability. 


I would love to throw a waterblock on one of these things and see how hard you can push them.  I really don't think 800 Mh/s is out of the question. 

Nice. What kind of watts like this? 

Shibby
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 05:01:36 AM
 #191

70% fan is too high for my preference.

My sweetspot is

1125/685

666(lol)mhash

55% fan

68C
diabinc141
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 05:17:48 AM
 #192

It would be really sweet to see a single 7990 around 1.4 GHash! Can't wait to see the results once they come out.

124ExGY8igKZzpbti7vzvXqajVc8AC6vi8
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 05:27:24 AM
 #193

It would be really sweet to see a single 7990 around 1.4 GHash! Can't wait to see the results once they come out.

I doubt it.  Much like you don't see any 5970 @ 840 MH/s.  They are same chips but they are clocked lower and worse they tend to have inferior VRMs.  5970/6990 use 3 phase power,  5870/6970 use 4 phase power.

Maybe 1.1 GH/s.
Anvi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 12:23:57 PM
 #194

70% fan is too high for my preference.

My sweetspot is
1125/685

666(lol)mhash

55% fan, 68C

You could easily drop fanspeed to around 40-45% or increase voltage and GPU speed.

These GPUs can handle even 80°C. I take it that you are using only CCC to adjust clock speeds.
I recommend using MSI Afterburner or similar tool.

Sapphire HD7970, 2* HIS 7970 IceQ X² GHz Edition
LTC: LRk7zdN8F52NH9XeqRvWnUEe2XXcUFMv6e
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 09:43:14 PM
 #195

It would be really sweet to see a single 7990 around 1.4 GHash! Can't wait to see the results once they come out.

I doubt it.  Much like you don't see any 5970 @ 840 MH/s.  They are same chips but they are clocked lower and worse they tend to have inferior VRMs.  5970/6990 use 3 phase power,  5870/6970 use 4 phase power.

Maybe 1.1 GH/s.

840 MH/s out of a 5970 *can* be done.  I've done it.  However, I didn't like what I saw on my Kill-a-Watt though since it required overvolting.  Technically it's possible but then again so is snorting wasabi.

Mousepotato
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
April 18, 2012, 09:13:34 AM
 #196

my sapphire 7970 3gb oc does not really like memory lowered
putiing it on faster speeds is no problem factory wise it runs 950/1000 on the core and 5700/5800 (1425/1450) on the memory
somehow this card loves higher memory speeds because it goes easy to 6000+ (1500+)
but since that produces a lot of heat i stopped at 6060 mhz
anyway when i lower the speed on the memory under 1200 mhz my pc starts to crash when i run games
i can set it at 1000 for instance and will run but programs simply crash on different moments
upping the mem and all runs stable as a rock

currently i run at 1100 core with mem at 1200 producing 653 Mh/s
 
multi#lord
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


LSD


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 08:54:46 PM
 #197

I though increasing the memory was counterproductive in power consumption, despite the latest SDK on 7970 having a bit of dependency on mem speed. Though not very counter productive, but a few watts get reduced on a lower mem speed.

bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 09:39:34 PM
 #198

Yes you asumed correct for me and my high electricity costs its allways been the goal to undervolt / underclock at best hash result.
But i also want to keep gaming and yes i want to game when mining for that i reduce the graphic needs in the games to about medium settings, which does not affect my mining at all

So yes i can play World of Tanks at medium settings and the miner does not even show a small bump 

However this far i am very pleased with the new driver set from Amd.
Installed catalyst 12.4 and guess what it runs stable now even at 800-1250 on the core and 800-1550 on memory (min -  max)

To make matters clear as soon as i set the memory below 800 the crashes appear again, that is when mining and using some programs like games, video processing tools and sometimes even with winzip or rar

My cards also tends to crash if the difference between core and memory speed becomes more then 150 mhz again speeding it up does work fine but when trying to lower the speeds the crashes start.

However need todo some more tests with the newer driver and cgminer 2.3.6 to see if i can now go below the previous limits.

This far 800/800 has been the most silent, efficient and coolest miner setting but time will tell (74 c gpu temp).

lepenguin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 12:45:09 AM
 #199

looks like the diablo miner is the  best miner to go with
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
April 30, 2012, 05:34:46 AM
 #200

bronan, I can confirm your memory speed theories.  My 7970 is unstable if I set the memory slower than stock.  My rig crashed 5 times a day until I experimented with putting the memory at the stock speed.  The rule of -150MHz from core clock doesn't apply to this card.  Wish it was like my 5830's where I can set the memclocks at 300.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!