Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:14:21 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: My initial Radeon HD 7970 mining benchmarks  (Read 43857 times)
AncientX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 02:35:09 AM
 #201

Very cool. Im waiting on 2 cards in the mail so i can start mining aswell

Feel Like buying me a energy drink? go ahead and donate Cheesy
12YNZzcvtcfjS2gSBtHkxNSbhu7wrXQWYT
1481156061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156061
Reply with quote  #2

1481156061
Report to moderator
1481156061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156061
Reply with quote  #2

1481156061
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481156061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156061
Reply with quote  #2

1481156061
Report to moderator
1481156061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156061
Reply with quote  #2

1481156061
Report to moderator
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2012, 08:34:51 AM
 #202

bronan, I can confirm your memory speed theories.  My 7970 is unstable if I set the memory slower than stock.  My rig crashed 5 times a day until I experimented with putting the memory at the stock speed.  The rule of -150MHz from core clock doesn't apply to this card.  Wish it was like my 5830's where I can set the memclocks at 300.

Haha yes both my sapphire 5870 vapor x went to the usa but where perfect able to run at 0.900 volt 750 mhz on core and 166 mhz on the memory
They are still awesome cards and i think the new owner is very happy with them.
I remember i often bend over towards my computer to make sure they where running fine Cheesy ( so silent )
And yes i could game on them also while mining with no problems ofcourse not with the graphics power of these but still.

Do not get me wrong the 7970 i have now are monsters and i love them but underclock/volt wise they are a pain in the ass they just want speed and more speed Cheesy
So a bit underclocking is possible but not much, undervolting does not work either, so far it seems that the cause of all this is ELPS the advanced power save build into the cards. This far i have not been able to turn it off completely i would like that though so i can proof if my theory is right.

Maybe someone has advanced knowledge at ati bios matter and would like to help find out if its possible to turn it of by flash the bios with a alternative one
divan0w
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 24, 2012, 10:13:46 PM
 #203

When will see new ati drivers? I made 700-750Mh with my Sapphire 7970,  but I think it can do much more with better drivers, or maybe new version of Diablominer.

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 24, 2012, 10:40:20 PM
 #204

When will see new ati drivers? I made 700-750Mh with my Sapphire 7970,  but I think it can do much more with better drivers, or maybe new version of Diablominer.

PLEASE share how you get 750 because nobody seems to be able to get that much normally !

Thanks !
divan0w
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 25, 2012, 07:08:06 PM
 #205

well, clocked near 1300 core. Using diablominer

A_CardeN
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 25, 2012, 07:35:41 PM
 #206

I have never got more then 704mhash out of any 7970.

try again
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 11:21:45 PM
 #207

well, clocked near 1300 core. Using diablominer

Doubt it is stock clocks.

Card will soon die unless you got proper hardcore cooling Undecided
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 26, 2012, 01:57:28 AM
 #208

well, clocked near 1300 core. Using diablominer
What was the shares/minute over a 24 hour run?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2012, 04:51:30 AM
 #209

They all basically produce 0.6 MH/s per Mhz engine clock speed.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 26, 2012, 11:24:40 AM
 #210

They all basically produce 0.6 MH/s per Mhz engine clock speed.

Nice, so at 1250 MHz you should get 750 MHash/s ?

Too bad the ASIC is coming Cheesy
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2012, 11:33:26 AM
 #211

They all basically produce 0.6 MH/s per Mhz engine clock speed.

Nice, so at 1250 MHz you should get 750 MHash/s ?

That seems about right. On DiabloMiner on my 7970 at 1125 I get 675.

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 26, 2012, 11:44:35 AM
 #212

They all basically produce 0.6 MH/s per Mhz engine clock speed.

Nice, so at 1250 MHz you should get 750 MHash/s ?

That seems about right. On DiabloMiner on my 7970 at 1125 I get 675.

The bigger question now is : how many reference 7970s ( or the new better binned GHz editions ) can reach 1250 MHz without overvolt ?
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2012, 12:01:20 PM
 #213

They all basically produce 0.6 MH/s per Mhz engine clock speed.

Nice, so at 1250 MHz you should get 750 MHash/s ?

That seems about right. On DiabloMiner on my 7970 at 1125 I get 675.

The bigger question now is : how many reference 7970s ( or the new better binned GHz editions ) can reach 1250 MHz without overvolt ?

I dont get this binned GHZ edition shit. Mines a ref design factory overclocked to 1010mhz, and I got it like 4 months ago. It happy cranks away at 1125mhz at stock volts.

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 26, 2012, 12:15:54 PM
 #214

They all basically produce 0.6 MH/s per Mhz engine clock speed.

Nice, so at 1250 MHz you should get 750 MHash/s ?

That seems about right. On DiabloMiner on my 7970 at 1125 I get 675.

The bigger question now is : how many reference 7970s ( or the new better binned GHz editions ) can reach 1250 MHz without overvolt ?

I dont get this binned GHZ edition shit. Mines a ref design factory overclocked to 1010mhz, and I got it like 4 months ago. It happy cranks away at 1125mhz at stock volts.

You don't get marketing ?

Cheesy

GHz edition is supposed to make it "cool" to the noob gamers and convince them that 7970 is comparable to GTX 580.

When it clearly isn't ...
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2012, 12:18:43 PM
 #215

They all basically produce 0.6 MH/s per Mhz engine clock speed.

Nice, so at 1250 MHz you should get 750 MHash/s ?

That seems about right. On DiabloMiner on my 7970 at 1125 I get 675.

The bigger question now is : how many reference 7970s ( or the new better binned GHz editions ) can reach 1250 MHz without overvolt ?

I dont get this binned GHZ edition shit. Mines a ref design factory overclocked to 1010mhz, and I got it like 4 months ago. It happy cranks away at 1125mhz at stock volts.

You don't get marketing ?

Cheesy

GHz edition is supposed to make it "cool" to the noob gamers and convince them that 7970 is comparable to GTX 580.

When it clearly isn't ...

Of course it isnt. NVidia totally botched the 580, they'll never catch up to AMD at this rate.

divan0w
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
March 16, 2013, 10:17:29 PM
 #216

So, why Nvidia are not getin' into BTC at all?

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
March 16, 2013, 11:48:51 PM
 #217

So, why Nvidia are not getin' into BTC at all?
Because it would be a stupid idea, AMD isnt even "getting into btc"

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!