Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2014, 12:49:35 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New AMD driver to support OpenCL on a 4250  (Read 2119 times)
wogfun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile

Ignore
January 07, 2012, 06:54:47 AM
 #1

Hi everybody.  I'm new here and have been mining no longer than a month.  Tonight I had an idea that may or may not work so I'll get right to it.

I'm using an HD6250 oc'd to 950mhz and am happy with the results, about 250 mh/s.  I just remembered that my asus board has a somewhat useless and disabled intergrated 4250 chipset just sitting there doing nothing.  So I enabled it, loaded the new drivers, and windows 7 and afterburner report that the chipset is alive and well, ready to go. 

I've read in a few places that the 4250 does not support opencl however on the AMD driver page http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win7-64.aspx, there is a fairly new driver from december 2011, for opencl support.  I went ahead and downloaded and installed this driver but GUIminer is still not showing the 4250 as a supported chipset.

So does anybody know what the deal is?  Is this new opencl driver rubbish or does GUIminer need an update to work with the new opencl driver for the 4250?  Any help with this would be great.  Thanks!
GAWMiners.com - FREE Hosting & Electricity for 1 Year!
Exclusive Offer Code: GAWHOST1
Mining Made Easy
For Everyone

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397868575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397868575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397868575
Reply with quote  #2

1397868575
Report to moderator
1397868575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397868575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397868575
Reply with quote  #2

1397868575
Report to moderator
1397868575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397868575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397868575
Reply with quote  #2

1397868575
Report to moderator
1397868575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397868575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397868575
Reply with quote  #2

1397868575
Report to moderator
alatus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile

Ignore
January 07, 2012, 10:59:08 AM
 #2

Could You please point me to the link, where it says, that 4250 will support opencl? (I doubt that it is possible on the hardware level...)
I've tried to check the release notes, but it only says, that the opencl support is enhanced, etc.

 Huh

Would be interesting though!  Shocked
P4man
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile

Ignore
January 07, 2012, 11:04:14 AM
 #3

I'm using an HD6250 oc'd to 950mhz and am happy with the results, about 250 mh/s.  I

Are you sure about this? 250 MH/s from that chip ? That would be spectacular. HD6250 is the GPU part of zacate (AMD c-30) which is a 9W chip. And thats for cpu, gpu and everything else. NOw that GPU is normally clocked at 280 MHz, so I think you mistyped or something

I aint signing anything.
wogfun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile

Ignore
January 07, 2012, 03:23:42 PM
 #4

Could You please point me to the link, where it says, that 4250 will support opencl? (I doubt that it is possible on the hardware level...)
I've tried to check the release notes, but it only says, that the opencl support is enhanced, etc.

 Huh

Would be interesting though!  Shocked

Yes, this link http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win7-64.aspx#2 to the AMD driver page has a new driver from 12/13/2011, for OpenCL.  That's the only info I have that would lead me to believe that it's now supported, but maybe they mean what you said, enhanced?
wogfun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile

Ignore
January 07, 2012, 03:27:57 PM
 #5

I'm using an HD6250 oc'd to 950mhz and am happy with the results, about 250 mh/s.  I

Are you sure about this? 250 MH/s from that chip ? That would be spectacular. HD6250 is the GPU part of zacate (AMD c-30) which is a 9W chip. And thats for cpu, gpu and everything else. NOw that GPU is normally clocked at 280 MHz, so I think you mistyped or something

Hi, I'm sorry, I made a typo.  I'm currently using a HD6850 to get about 250 mh/s.  I'm also using these flags, -v -f 0 -w 128, without the flags it was approximately 235 mh/s.  I just played with a few different sets of flags till I saw a set that gave me the best result, but in all honesty I have no clue what they actually mean, perhaps there are better settings I'm not using.
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile

Ignore
January 07, 2012, 05:10:41 PM
 #6

the 4250 is a recycled hd 3xxx part (the graphics core is uses makes it closest to a 3450) 3xxx parts don't work with existing miners due to arcitectural differences and if you were to somehow write a miner to run on one, for that particular card you would likely be looking at something similar to mining on a midrange cpu

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
P4man
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile

Ignore
January 07, 2012, 09:35:29 PM
 #7

Hi, I'm sorry, I made a typo.  I'm currently using a HD6850 to get about 250 mh/s.  I'm also using these flags, -v -f 0 -w 128, without the flags it was approximately 235 mh/s. 

That sounds a lot more believable Smiley. If zacate could do 250MH/s, Id buy a container full of them!
On a side note, 250 for a 6850 sounds lowish to me, considering the overclock. Give bitminter a try (see my signature), or perhaps cgminer.

I aint signing anything.
amcsng
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile

Ignore
March 13, 2014, 11:00:24 PM
 #8

Hi Wogfun

Could you be more specific as to the model of the video card, eg: XFX Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit DDR5 RAM
With this configuration, you were mining for litecoins a hashrate 250 Mh / s, so this correct?

Thank you very much.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!