Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:10:23 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 7970's in the mail.....anyone used with GUIminer yet?  (Read 4557 times)
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 18, 2012, 01:36:19 AM
 #1

I have 5 of the 7970's en route..... they should arrive tomorrow. 

Has anyone tried these bad boys with GUIminer yet?  Didn't even think of that before I bought them.....

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
1481184623
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184623

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184623
Reply with quote  #2

1481184623
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481184623
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184623

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184623
Reply with quote  #2

1481184623
Report to moderator
1481184623
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184623

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184623
Reply with quote  #2

1481184623
Report to moderator
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 02:34:21 AM
 #2

I have 5 of the 7970's en route..... they should arrive tomorrow. 

Has anyone tried these bad boys with GUIminer yet?  Didn't even think of that before I bought them.....
Right now, DiabloMiner is the fastest on them. I don't know of anyone that has tried poclbm (guiminer).

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 18, 2012, 03:04:00 AM
 #3

I have 5 of the 7970's en route..... they should arrive tomorrow. 

Has anyone tried these bad boys with GUIminer yet?  Didn't even think of that before I bought them.....
Right now, DiabloMiner is the fastest on them. I don't know of anyone that has tried poclbm (guiminer).

well, I will give it a whirl tomorrow and report back!

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 03:50:38 PM
 #4

I have 5 of the 7970's en route..... they should arrive tomorrow. 

Has anyone tried these bad boys with GUIminer yet?  Didn't even think of that before I bought them.....
Right now, DiabloMiner is the fastest on them. I don't know of anyone that has tried poclbm (guiminer).

well, I will give it a whirl tomorrow and report back!


I have 4 on the way, will report with cgminer.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:52:34 AM
 #5

They wont work with GUIminer.....but they absolutely rage with Diablo.

I am at 1.2 GH/s with 2 of them.....1000 Mhz core

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:14:05 PM
 #6

They wont work with GUIminer.....but they absolutely rage with Diablo.

I am at 1.2 GH/s with 2 of them.....1000 Mhz core
Someone got them to 666mhash each Grin

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:21:20 PM
 #7

They wont work with GUIminer.....but they absolutely rage with Diablo.

I am at 1.2 GH/s with 2 of them.....1000 Mhz core
Someone got them to 666mhash each Grin

Can't remember who it was but some dude got them at around 720 or 700 mhash/s !

But then the power consumed makes your MH/W ratio suck !
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:25:20 PM
 #8

They wont work with GUIminer.....but they absolutely rage with Diablo.

I am at 1.2 GH/s with 2 of them.....1000 Mhz core
Someone got them to 666mhash each Grin

Can't remember who it was but some dude got them at around 720 or 700 mhash/s !

But then the power consumed makes your MH/W ratio suck !

Wow....I cannot wait to get some set-up at my "Free power" location.  I will push them as far as I can. 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:34:43 PM
 #9

Yup, confirmed it doesn't work with GUIMiner...

I'm getting 640 m/hash on 1075mhz... at 60c w/ fans at 70%, on stock voltage (diablominer).

I was running 1125 but it was just slightly unstable and I didn't feel like bumping up the voltage.
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:40:12 PM
 #10

Can't remember who it was but some dude got them at around 720 or 700 mhash/s !

But then the power consumed makes your MH/W ratio suck !
1-upd!
max @ stock V: 1070 core, 695Mh/s
@ 1.20V: 1170, 759Mh/s
and for shits and giggles...
@ 1.25V: 1240 core, 805Mh/s

Tip: try phoenix with -k poclbm AGGRESSION=10 WORKSIZE=256

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:50:13 PM
 #11

Can't remember who it was but some dude got them at around 720 or 700 mhash/s !

But then the power consumed makes your MH/W ratio suck !
1-upd!
max @ stock V: 1070 core, 695Mh/s
@ 1.20V: 1170, 759Mh/s
and for shits and giggles...
@ 1.25V: 1240 core, 805Mh/s

Tip: try phoenix with -k poclbm AGGRESSION=10 WORKSIZE=256
Wow!

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:52:02 PM
 #12

Can't remember who it was but some dude got them at around 720 or 700 mhash/s !

But then the power consumed makes your MH/W ratio suck !
1-upd!
max @ stock V: 1070 core, 695Mh/s
@ 1.20V: 1170, 759Mh/s
and for shits and giggles...
@ 1.25V: 1240 core, 805Mh/s

Tip: try phoenix with -k poclbm AGGRESSION=10 WORKSIZE=256

art, thank you..  if I remember correctly, i used phoenix with guiminer back in the day Wink

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:54:51 PM
 #13

Can't remember who it was but some dude got them at around 720 or 700 mhash/s !

But then the power consumed makes your MH/W ratio suck !
1-upd!
max @ stock V: 1070 core, 695Mh/s
@ 1.20V: 1170, 759Mh/s
and for shits and giggles...
@ 1.25V: 1240 core, 805Mh/s

Tip: try phoenix with -k poclbm AGGRESSION=10 WORKSIZE=256

So what is the consensus ?

Are CGN shaders more or less or the same in terms of mining compared to VLIW4 or VLIW5 shaders from 6970 and 5870 ?

yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:05:21 PM
 #14

Yup, confirmed it doesn't work with GUIMiner...

I'm getting 640 m/hash on 1075mhz... at 60c w/ fans at 70%, on stock voltage (diablominer).

I was running 1125 but it was just slightly unstable and I didn't feel like bumping up the voltage.

good god....at 70% they must be screaming like banshees.  I can hardly stand them at 50%!

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:05:44 PM
 #15

Can't remember who it was but some dude got them at around 720 or 700 mhash/s !

But then the power consumed makes your MH/W ratio suck !
1-upd!
max @ stock V: 1070 core, 695Mh/s
@ 1.20V: 1170, 759Mh/s
and for shits and giggles...
@ 1.25V: 1240 core, 805Mh/s

Tip: try phoenix with -k poclbm AGGRESSION=10 WORKSIZE=256

So what is the consensus ?

Are CGN shaders more or less or the same in terms of mining compared to VLIW4 or VLIW5 shaders from 6970 and 5870 ?


Quick calc says we're already a few % higher hashrate/shader/clock than VLIWx.
I'd have to take a closer look at how GCN shader ASM looks and what engine performance is like, but wouldn't expect any miracles, maybe another 2-3% increase.
So my opinion so far "pretty much a wash, a hair better than 5xxx per shader per clock, may get another few % when more time is spent tuning kernels for GCN".
Mining is really unique in how it manages to get well > 90% peak throughput even on VLIW5 Wink

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:06:02 PM
 #16

Can't remember who it was but some dude got them at around 720 or 700 mhash/s !

But then the power consumed makes your MH/W ratio suck !
1-upd!
max @ stock V: 1070 core, 695Mh/s
@ 1.20V: 1170, 759Mh/s
and for shits and giggles...
@ 1.25V: 1240 core, 805Mh/s

Tip: try phoenix with -k poclbm AGGRESSION=10 WORKSIZE=256

Holy.  Shit. 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:07:28 PM
 #17

Can't remember who it was but some dude got them at around 720 or 700 mhash/s !

But then the power consumed makes your MH/W ratio suck !
1-upd!
max @ stock V: 1070 core, 695Mh/s
@ 1.20V: 1170, 759Mh/s
and for shits and giggles...
@ 1.25V: 1240 core, 805Mh/s

Tip: try phoenix with -k poclbm AGGRESSION=10 WORKSIZE=256

Any advice on better setting with Diablo? 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:18:14 PM
 #18

Yup, confirmed it doesn't work with GUIMiner...

I'm getting 640 m/hash on 1075mhz... at 60c w/ fans at 70%, on stock voltage (diablominer).

I was running 1125 but it was just slightly unstable and I didn't feel like bumping up the voltage.

good god....at 70% they must be screaming like banshees.  I can hardly stand them at 50%!

It's in a room with 12 other cards, so, meh? Smiley
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:18:59 PM
 #19

Can't remember who it was but some dude got them at around 720 or 700 mhash/s !

But then the power consumed makes your MH/W ratio suck !
1-upd!
max @ stock V: 1070 core, 695Mh/s
@ 1.20V: 1170, 759Mh/s
and for shits and giggles...
@ 1.25V: 1240 core, 805Mh/s

Tip: try phoenix with -k poclbm AGGRESSION=10 WORKSIZE=256

Any advice on better setting with Diablo? 
Nope, haven't found any better settings than what other people have been saying for Diablo, best I found was ~2.2% worse than phoenix.

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:40:03 PM
 #20

O.o

Impressive
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!