Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 01:17:20 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How much RAM do mining software need  (Read 1638 times)
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 594


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 06:29:46 PM
 #1

Hi

I'm trying to set up a linux based mining rig based on FGPA.
I'm interested in using a Beagleboard to control the FGPAs.

The question is how much RAM do I need to run several instances of a mining software like diablo, phoenix, etc.
Can somebody with a linux mining rig share some numbers?

Thanks!

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
1481332640
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481332640

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481332640
Reply with quote  #2

1481332640
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481332640
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481332640

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481332640
Reply with quote  #2

1481332640
Report to moderator
1481332640
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481332640

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481332640
Reply with quote  #2

1481332640
Report to moderator
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050

You are WRONG!


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 06:31:13 PM
 #2

16GB/FPGA is standart.

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 07:23:30 PM
 #3

16GB/FPGA is standart.
wat

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050

You are WRONG!


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 07:34:45 PM
 #4

did you not know that?
Is it needed to have at least 15.5 GB ram per FPGA. else it can not hold all the nonce from the blocks, while its working at the FPGA.
This is essential.

EDIT: you are not think about swapping it to disk, are you? you would have a performance loss of at least 60%

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 07:38:55 PM
 #5

did you not know that?
Is it needed to have at least 15.5 GB ram per FPGA. else it can not hold all the nonce from the blocks, while its working at the FPGA.
This is essential.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050

You are WRONG!


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 07:46:37 PM
 #6

did you not know that?
Is it needed to have at least 15.5 GB ram per FPGA. else it can not hold all the nonce from the blocks, while its working at the FPGA.
This is essential.

Thank you!

@OP: im kidding! you don't need much ram. the standard(128mb) of the beagleboard should be fine, to run many(25-50) instances of a miner. you should be more worried about the 600mhz cpu.

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 07:46:55 PM
 #7

Hi

I'm trying to set up a linux based mining rig based on FGPA.
I'm interested in using a Beagleboard to control the FGPAs.

The question is how much RAM do I need to run several instances of a mining software like diablo, phoenix, etc.
Can somebody with a linux mining rig share some numbers?

Thanks!
X for the os + several MB per instance.
So for several instances ... about X + several^2 - Y*several (where Y is shared libraries).

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 594


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 08:24:03 PM
 #8

@OP: im kidding! you don't need much ram. the standard(128mb) of the beagleboard should be fine, to run many(25-50) instances of a miner. you should be more worried about the 600mhz cpu.
Yeah, I thought so. :-)

Asked about the boards in the Hardware forum:
Use Beagleboard/Pandaboard to run FGPA mining rig

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!