Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:15:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Low Mhash/s with 2X 6950  (Read 1394 times)
Islander92
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3



View Profile
January 18, 2012, 10:36:28 PM
 #1

Hey Guys !

I'm new to bitcoin mining, but I started with this rig :

- 2X XFX ATI Radeon 6950 1Gb
- AMD Phenom II X6 Black Edition 1100T @ 3.5Ghz
- 1100W Power Supply
- 8Gb Mushin RAM @ 1333Mhz 

(Tell me if you need more infos)

I joined a pool (Deepbit.net), updated my drivers, installed GUIminer and I've setup my 2 miners (one for each card). I also changed my fan speed to 100%

But with all this I get 510Mhash/s... Wich is really crap for this setup. Can you guys help me with that ?

http://i.imgur.com/TJ0nI.png
1481012126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012126
Reply with quote  #2

1481012126
Report to moderator
1481012126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012126
Reply with quote  #2

1481012126
Report to moderator
1481012126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012126
Reply with quote  #2

1481012126
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481012126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012126
Reply with quote  #2

1481012126
Report to moderator
1481012126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012126
Reply with quote  #2

1481012126
Report to moderator
1481012126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012126
Reply with quote  #2

1481012126
Report to moderator
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 11:30:21 PM
 #2

Obviously, once you got mining going now is the time for overclocking and fine-tuning.

Read those to get yourself up to speed:
GUI Miner thread
Hardware subforum

When in doubt, use the Search function && RTFM.
Report specific issues here.

Once you get familiarized with mining I suggest you switch to cgminer which is the most advanced miner currently available.
CGminer thread

If your machine is going to be used as a dedicated mining rig:
(1) Never use crossfire. Make sure the crossfire connector is removed.
(2) Don't overclock that CPU. You aren't going to need it. You might also opt to disable half of the cores - that will increase your power efficiency.
(3) There's no good explanation to stick with Windows.
asdf2121
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 12:25:24 AM
 #3

temps... check it..
juggalodarkclow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 12:25:43 AM
 #4

Another issue is probably the fact that you're using the new drivers, I rolled back to catalyst 11.11 but here's another option to rollback to the previous sdk https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=56885.0

Hope this helps

grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 03:00:56 AM
 #5

whatever you do, don't join deepbit, or for that matter, any pool that is too big. it can compromise the security of the network, and they're the pool with the highest fees!

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
luo demin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:10:36 AM
 #6

-v -w128 -f30     use these flags for your 6950's and see what happens should be a significant improvement
Costia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 08:34:07 PM
 #7

-v -w128 -f30     use these flags for your 6950's and see what happens should be a significant improvement
+1 on this one
i have a 5770
without any flags i got 130Mhash/s
with -v -w 128 it jumped to 180
naypalm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1212


AFK :/


View Profile WWW
January 19, 2012, 11:12:16 PM
 #8

-v -w128 -f30     use these flags for your 6950's and see what happens should be a significant improvement

poclbm rocks! I get ~330-350 out of each of mine.

mmbregman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
January 20, 2012, 03:36:08 PM
 #9

-v -w128 -f30     use these flags for your 6950's and see what happens should be a significant improvement
-f30 is a defualt flag on the GUIMiner. To get the best Hash rate you should use -f1 (from my expirince on 6950), though it makes the desktop a little laggy.
Costia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
January 20, 2012, 06:27:08 PM
 #10

I use -f 90 or 120 so i can play SWTOR even while i mine
The miner runs and the background and gets throttled by the "-f 90" when i play
squirrelman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24



View Profile
January 20, 2012, 07:45:47 PM
 #11

I use -f 90 or 120 so i can play SWTOR even while i mine
The miner runs and the background and gets throttled by the "-f 90" when i play

Thanks for posting that, I will have to remember to use that when I want to game rather than just shutting down totally.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!