Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 06:17:05 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HEX16A3 - Avalon3 16 Chip miner by TechnoBit.EU real word test  (Read 1702 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
volosator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274



View Profile
May 21, 2014, 03:26:28 AM
 #1

Hello fellow miners,

I thought it can be useful for someone one day.

Yesterday I received HEX16A3 miner from marto74. I didn't take any pictures. There was a lot of thermal paste, I had to clean the board from it. Stock cooler is very powerful and not very noisy.

Here is how I built the cgminer (each line is a separate command):

Code:
sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude upgrade
sudo aptitude install build-essential libudev-dev libusb-1.0-0-dev libfox-1.6-dev autotools-dev autoconf automake libtool libncurses-dev yasm curl libcurl4-openssl-dev libjansson-dev screen pkg-config uthash-dev make git-core rar
wget http://technobit.eu/0_3_2.rar
rar x 0_3_2.rar
git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer.git
mv cgminer cgminer-4.2.3
git checkout e574114682fe1edc344b7e291eb9d9497d26ef92
patch -p1 <../0_3_2/e574114682fe1edc344b7e291eb9d9497d26ef92.patch
./autogen.sh "CFLAGS=-O3" --enable-hexminera --enable-hexminerb --enable-hexminerc --enable-hexmineru --enable-hexminer8 --enable-hexminer3
make -j3

For testing, I used GHASH.IO mining pool. Worker difficulty was set to 64, seems optimal to me.

This is how I started cgminer:

Code:
sudo ./cgminer --hexminer3-chip-mask 255 --hexminer3-voltage 800 --hexminer3-options 16:7000 -o stratum+tcp://us1.ghash.io:3334 -u YOURUSERNAME -p ANYTHING

Now, the most interesting part: real world testing.

Power supply used is Artesyn 7001138-Y000, which was pulled from old IBM server. Power supply output is 12.10V with no load. Please use search to find out how to mod the power supply so you can use it too. This power supply can be found on eBay for less than $20 with shipping!
Measurements were taken with Kill-A-Watt P3, each test iteration was 20-25 minutes, idle miner with fan spinning and connected to the host with USB cable is 16W. All power figures were adjusted for that. Power supply voltage output under load is 12.08V, which is very good for any miner out there! Ambient temperature was 25C. Temperature readings were taken with GM300 infrared thermometer at the hotest spot at radiator.


Code:
mV chip miner watt hw W/GHS PERF comment
800 7000 103 165 4.4 1.6 6.72 stock
825 7000 103 172 3.3 1.7 6.64 lower hw rate, +3% voltage, same mhs from chips
825 7210 105 175 5 1.67 6.89 +3% voltage, +3% freq, 35C temp
856 7500 110 205 4.8 1.86 7.20 +7% voltage, +7% freq, 35C temp
880 7500 112 215 2.8 1.91 7.20 +10% voltage, +7% freq, 38C temp
900 7500 111 235 3.3 2.12 7.17 Vmax according to the chip docs, +7% freq, 39C temp
900 8000 113 240 4.9 2.13 7.41 Vmax, +14% freq, 40C temp

mV = milliVolts
chip = desired performance per chip, GHS
miner = cgminer average for 20-25 minute run
watt = power draw measured on wall minus idle
hw = hardware errors, %
W/GHS = Watts per GigaHash per second observed
PERF = performance observed per chip, GH/s + HW errors
comment = well, it is just there

880:7500 seems to be the sweet spot!

This is very mature product from technobit. I remember HEX16A, based on avalon gen 1 chips, performance wasn't so great, power draw and thermal both weren't that good, however the biggest concern for me was stability - miners used to disappear from the system randomly. I have not observed any stability issues with this miner!

I am NOT affiliated with marto74 or technobit in any way except I sent my chips in and got the assembled miner back.

1511331425
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511331425

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511331425
Reply with quote  #2

1511331425
Report to moderator
1511331425
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511331425

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511331425
Reply with quote  #2

1511331425
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
bbxx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


cryptoshark


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2014, 07:51:13 AM
 #2

so a3 avalon is epic fail 1.6w/gh

gen3 really?
Collider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
May 21, 2014, 07:56:47 AM
 #3

It is a problem with the parts used, the DC/DC is not very energy efficient, particularly when overclocked.

Good DC/DC components get 90% efficiency, these don´t.

Also, at 5.3GH/chip they run at 1w/GH at the wall.

However, that would only give 85GH/ board.

It is not a problem with the chip, but of implementation. Every chip will get terrible power efficiency when overclocked.



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
.ANGEL TOKEN.
[]

                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                 ▀▀████████▀▀
marto74
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile WWW
May 21, 2014, 08:19:59 AM
 #4

The DC-DC PSU part can give or add some 10 percent .
The rest is the chip
So you are not exactly right Wink
Show me real world numbers of Avalon 3 implementation at the same clock rates with better power efficiency than 15 percent.
I agree that using ready DC DC solution for 40-50 USD  will improve the power consumption a little bit  but then pricing of the miner will go up and this is pointless, as far the chip pricing is too high for what it is at the current market.
So at the end Avalon 3 chip is not going to have sales as it was with Avalon 2 gen chip.
It came out too late, then Avalon freeze the sales for 1 month (similar story to Gen1 mess) and now it is almost obsolete.
As usualy Avlalon chips are power hungry at high clock.
The only way would be to under clock the chip if it has a good pricing.
Only then there will be some market for it

http://technobit.eu
tips : 12DNdacCtUZ99qcP74FwchaCPzeDL9Voff
christhegoth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
July 11, 2014, 06:46:32 PM
 #5

I have one of these, and your commands did not work on my Debian machine.

What OS are you using?
Zich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798



View Profile
July 12, 2014, 12:26:59 AM
 #6

I have one of these, and your commands did not work on my Debian machine.

What OS are you using?

Which command?
pidge
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101



View Profile
July 12, 2014, 04:01:22 AM
 #7

I've got four running with 7500:880, getting ~440GH/s on btcguild, power draw of three of them is 410W at the wall according to the watt meter I have.  Though I don't trust the watt meter much...

Oh, and they have dropped off once in the last 4 days.  But that may have been when I added the fourth miner.

volosator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274



View Profile
July 12, 2014, 05:11:49 AM
 #8

I've got four running with 7500:880, getting ~440GH/s on btcguild, power draw of three of them is 410W at the wall according to the watt meter I have.  Though I don't trust the watt meter much...

Oh, and they have dropped off once in the last 4 days.  But that may have been when I added the fourth miner.

Happened a lot to me lately with different miners. Measure your 12V line - it should be 12V (not 11.9) under load. Consider replacing power supply! I use IBM server 825W PSUs and absolutely happy with them - 12.1V under 100% load!
christhegoth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
July 12, 2014, 05:44:28 AM
 #9

I have one of these, and your commands did not work on my Debian machine.

What OS are you using?

Which command?


Rar, git checkout, & patch.

You also need to clarify what folder you're in for the commands.

Hence my curiosity about your OS.
Zich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798



View Profile
July 12, 2014, 05:49:09 AM
 #10

I have one of these, and your commands did not work on my Debian machine.

What OS are you using?

Which command?


Rar, git checkout, & patch.

You also need to clarify what folder you're in for the commands.

Hence my curiosity about your OS.

Check it out here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=520089.msg7798028#msg7798028

And sorry, i can not answer you question since this thread not create by me but volosator


pidge
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101



View Profile
July 12, 2014, 06:01:20 AM
 #11

Happened a lot to me lately with different miners. Measure your 12V line - it should be 12V (not 11.9) under load. Consider replacing power supply! I use IBM server 825W PSUs and absolutely happy with them - 12.1V under 100% load!

It could be that - I can hear the fan speed dropping a bit occasionally.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!