Bitcoin Forum
May 21, 2019, 10:03:48 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GPU OpenCL miners using 25% cpu  (Read 4696 times)
shivansps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 501


The Premier Digital Asset Management Ecosystem


View Profile
April 21, 2011, 05:34:34 AM
 #1

Hi, i have two miners right now, one running on a 6870, and another one running on a 6850... each miner is using 25% of cpu, witch gives me a steady 50% cpu usage.

using guiminer with podlbm... both of podlbm process are using 25% cpu. This is normal?



▄▄           ▄▄▄▄▄▄             ▄▄▄▄▄▄           ▄▄         ▄▄        ▄▄             ▄▄▄▄▄▄            ▄▄                  ▄             ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ 
██        ▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██        ▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██▄        ███▄       ██        ██          ▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██▄         ██                 ███            ██▀▀▀▀██▄
██       ██▀                ██▀        ▀██       █████▄     ██        ██         ██▀        ▀██        ██                ██ ██           ██     ██
██      ▐█▌                ▐█▌          ▐█▌      ██ ▀███▄   ██        ██        ▐█▌          ▐█▌       ██               ██   ██          ██▄▄▄▄█▀
██      ▐█▌                ▐█▌          ▐█▌      ██   ▀███▄ ██        ██        ▐█▌          ▐█▌       ██              ██     ██         ██▀▀▀▀██▄
██       ██▄                ██▄        ▄██       ██     ▀█████        ██         ██▄      ▄▄  █        ██             ██       ██        ██     ██
██        ▀██▄▄▄▄▄▄██        ▀██▄▄▄▄▄▄██▀        ██       ▀███        ██          ▀██▄▄▄▄▄ ██          ██▄▄▄▄▄▄      ██         ██       ██▄▄▄▄██▀
▀▀           ▀▀▀▀▀▀             ▀▀▀▀▀▀           ▀▀         ▀▀        ▀▀             ▀▀▀▀▀  ▀▀         ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀     ▀▀           ▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ 
           ▄▄███▄▄
     ▄▄███████████▄▄
 ▄▄███████████████████▄▄
███████████▌ ▐███████████
██▌ ▐███████ ███████▌ ▐██
███ ████▀▀██ ██▀▀████ ███
███ ██▀▄████ ████▄▀██ ███
███ ██ █████ █████ ██ ███
███ ██ █████ █████ ██ ███
███ ██ █████ █████ ██ ███
 ▀▀ ██ █████ █████ ██ ▀▀
     ▀ █████ █████ ▀
         ▀▀█ █▀▀
The Premier   ───────────────────
Digital Asset Management Ecosystem
────────   Powered by the ICNQ Token


▾  Medium
▾  Twitter
▾  LinkedIn
▾  Subscribe


.I C N Q   T O K E N.

The Token for Digital Asset Management
1558476229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558476229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558476229
Reply with quote  #2

1558476229
Report to moderator
1558476229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558476229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558476229
Reply with quote  #2

1558476229
Report to moderator
Crypto Casino Since 2014
Level Up & Get Even More Rewards!
Daily Treasure Chest
& Much More
Roll Hunt
Rakeback
Blackjack
Jackpot
Dice
Slots
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
geebus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 258
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
April 22, 2011, 01:08:35 PM
 #2

Hi, i have two miners right now, one running on a 6870, and another one running on a 6850... each miner is using 25% of cpu, witch gives me a steady 50% cpu usage.

using guiminer with podlbm... both of podlbm process are using 25% cpu. This is normal?

You have a 4-core CPU, and each one is taking a full core.

The reason for that is that the loops running in poclbm that check for new results or long polling triggers have absolutely no delay between iterations, so it runs as fast as possible, taking 100% of the core. The only reason it doesn't take more is because it isn't written to use multiple cores.

Were it to sleep 1 second per iteration, it would drop to < 1% total CPU usage on a higher end quad core.

It's been a problem with poclbm for quite some time.




Feel like donating to me? BTC Address: 14eUVSgBSzLpHXGAfbN9BojXTWvTb91SHJ
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 22, 2011, 10:11:11 PM
 #3

Hi, i have two miners right now, one running on a 6870, and another one running on a 6850... each miner is using 25% of cpu, witch gives me a steady 50% cpu usage.

using guiminer with podlbm... both of podlbm process are using 25% cpu. This is normal?

You have a 4-core CPU, and each one is taking a full core.

The reason for that is that the loops running in poclbm that check for new results or long polling triggers have absolutely no delay between iterations, so it runs as fast as possible, taking 100% of the core. The only reason it doesn't take more is because it isn't written to use multiple cores.

Were it to sleep 1 second per iteration, it would drop to < 1% total CPU usage on a higher end quad core.

It's been a problem with poclbm for quite some time.





I don't think that's the reason. The problem has alwats been there for HD 6XXX card even before the introduction of long polling and it is present only if you have more than 1 GPU plugged. Under linux the CPU utilization is less than 1%. HD 5XXX cards are not presenting this problem.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
Beremat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 262
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 23, 2011, 12:08:21 AM
 #4

Hi, i have two miners right now, one running on a 6870, and another one running on a 6850... each miner is using 25% of cpu, witch gives me a steady 50% cpu usage.

using guiminer with podlbm... both of podlbm process are using 25% cpu. This is normal?

You have a 4-core CPU, and each one is taking a full core.

The reason for that is that the loops running in poclbm that check for new results or long polling triggers have absolutely no delay between iterations, so it runs as fast as possible, taking 100% of the core. The only reason it doesn't take more is because it isn't written to use multiple cores.

Were it to sleep 1 second per iteration, it would drop to < 1% total CPU usage on a higher end quad core.

It's been a problem with poclbm for quite some time.





I don't think that's the reason. The problem has alwats been there for HD 6XXX card even before the introduction of long polling and it is present only if you have more than 1 GPU plugged. Under linux the CPU utilization is less than 1%. HD 5XXX cards are not presenting this problem.
Uh, yes they are. My 5870 is pulling 100% of one core at all times. I set the affinity of all poclbm clients running to the same CPU core so that they all share a core and save some power.

35.000.000 Tokens in public sale  ⚪  [ CINDX ] - REFORM HOW SELL & BUY CRYPTO  ⚪  [JOIN Pre-Sale]
WebsiteANNTelegramTwitterWPRedditMediumLinkedinYouTubeFacebook
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 23, 2011, 12:30:34 AM
 #5

Hi, i have two miners right now, one running on a 6870, and another one running on a 6850... each miner is using 25% of cpu, witch gives me a steady 50% cpu usage.

using guiminer with podlbm... both of podlbm process are using 25% cpu. This is normal?

You have a 4-core CPU, and each one is taking a full core.

The reason for that is that the loops running in poclbm that check for new results or long polling triggers have absolutely no delay between iterations, so it runs as fast as possible, taking 100% of the core. The only reason it doesn't take more is because it isn't written to use multiple cores.

Were it to sleep 1 second per iteration, it would drop to < 1% total CPU usage on a higher end quad core.

It's been a problem with poclbm for quite some time.





I don't think that's the reason. The problem has alwats been there for HD 6XXX card even before the introduction of long polling and it is present only if you have more than 1 GPU plugged. Under linux the CPU utilization is less than 1%. HD 5XXX cards are not presenting this problem.
Uh, yes they are. My 5870 is pulling 100% of one core at all times. I set the affinity of all poclbm clients running to the same CPU core so that they all share a core and save some power.

My 5870 was not, and once again if there is only 1 GPU plugged why the CPU usage is less than 1%?

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
shivansps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 501


The Premier Digital Asset Management Ecosystem


View Profile
April 23, 2011, 01:20:52 AM
 #6

I was using 1 HD6870 card... giving me about 250mhash/s and 0-1% cpu...when i plugged in a new HD6850, i now getting 450mhash/s, but at 50% cpu... each miner is using 25% and is static... it never moves of 25%.



▄▄           ▄▄▄▄▄▄             ▄▄▄▄▄▄           ▄▄         ▄▄        ▄▄             ▄▄▄▄▄▄            ▄▄                  ▄             ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ 
██        ▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██        ▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██▄        ███▄       ██        ██          ▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██▄         ██                 ███            ██▀▀▀▀██▄
██       ██▀                ██▀        ▀██       █████▄     ██        ██         ██▀        ▀██        ██                ██ ██           ██     ██
██      ▐█▌                ▐█▌          ▐█▌      ██ ▀███▄   ██        ██        ▐█▌          ▐█▌       ██               ██   ██          ██▄▄▄▄█▀
██      ▐█▌                ▐█▌          ▐█▌      ██   ▀███▄ ██        ██        ▐█▌          ▐█▌       ██              ██     ██         ██▀▀▀▀██▄
██       ██▄                ██▄        ▄██       ██     ▀█████        ██         ██▄      ▄▄  █        ██             ██       ██        ██     ██
██        ▀██▄▄▄▄▄▄██        ▀██▄▄▄▄▄▄██▀        ██       ▀███        ██          ▀██▄▄▄▄▄ ██          ██▄▄▄▄▄▄      ██         ██       ██▄▄▄▄██▀
▀▀           ▀▀▀▀▀▀             ▀▀▀▀▀▀           ▀▀         ▀▀        ▀▀             ▀▀▀▀▀  ▀▀         ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀     ▀▀           ▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ 
           ▄▄███▄▄
     ▄▄███████████▄▄
 ▄▄███████████████████▄▄
███████████▌ ▐███████████
██▌ ▐███████ ███████▌ ▐██
███ ████▀▀██ ██▀▀████ ███
███ ██▀▄████ ████▄▀██ ███
███ ██ █████ █████ ██ ███
███ ██ █████ █████ ██ ███
███ ██ █████ █████ ██ ███
 ▀▀ ██ █████ █████ ██ ▀▀
     ▀ █████ █████ ▀
         ▀▀█ █▀▀
The Premier   ───────────────────
Digital Asset Management Ecosystem
────────   Powered by the ICNQ Token


▾  Medium
▾  Twitter
▾  LinkedIn
▾  Subscribe


.I C N Q   T O K E N.

The Token for Digital Asset Management
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 23, 2011, 04:58:34 AM
 #7

This is a problem with the ATI GPU drivers with more than 1 card installed. You will see the same results regardless of the miner you use. Setting the affinity so all the miners share a single core helps overall CPU usage and doesn't reduce hashrate.

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!