Bitcoin Forum
April 20, 2014, 05:42:27 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Phoenix 2 Miner v2.0.0  (Read 162147 times)
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile

Ignore
April 07, 2012, 08:43:08 AM
 #1

Features

  • BFI_INT support - Improves performance by 5-20% on supported GPUs
  • Efficient - Phoenix 2 doesn't discard any work unless it is invalid.
  • X-Roll-NTime support - Reduces load on pool servers by generating more work locally.
  • Free, open-source software - Phoenix 2 is available under the X11 license, and written in (fairly) well-documented and commented Python.
  • Modular kernels - If someone releases a more efficient kernel for our miner, it's as simple as dropping in the new kernel and using it.
  • Multiple device support - A single Phoenix 2 instance can mine on all the hardware in the system.
  • Hardware autodetect - Phoenix 2 can automatically detect and configure hardware.
  • RPC interface - Phoenix 2 can be monitored or controlled remotely using the RPC interface.
  • Config file - All user settings are stored in a simple config file.
  • Backup pool support - You can specify any number of backup pools in the config file
  • Supports RPC w/LP and MMP


Device autodetect

Phoenix 2 can automatically detect and configure all supported devices in the system. This can be configured via the global config option.

Autodetect can be specified by device class. With the default kernels Phoenix 2 support 3 classes of device: OpenCL (cl), CPU (cpu), and CUDA (cuda)

You can set the autodetect to only use certain devices. For example, the following setting will enable autodetect on all OpenCL devices except those which are CPUs or Nvidia GPUs (CUDA)
autodetect = +cl -cpu -cuda

Each device is given a unique device ID. For OpenCL the format works like this:
[class:platform:device]

So [cl:0:0] refers to OpenCL device 0 of platform 0.

[cpu:0] Is a generic identifier for the CPU.


JSON-RPC interface

Phoenix 2 has a built-in JSON-RPC server that allows remote monitoring and control of the miner. In the future this will be expanded to include a web interface.

  • bind - IP to bind the RPC server to.
  • disabled - Disables the RPC server.
  • logbuffer - The number of logs to return in the getlogs() call.
  • password - Password for the RPC server. Default is phoenix.
  • port - Port to use for the RPC server. Default is 7780.
  • root - Root directory for the web server.


Global settings

  • autodetect - Sets which classes of devices should be automatically detected.
  • backend - Sets the backend server. EX: http://user:password@example.com:8332
  • backups - Sets the backup servers. EX: http://user2:password2@server2.com:8332 http://bitcoin:bitcoin@localhost:8332
  • failback - Sets the interval to check the main server when on a backup server.
  • logfile - Enable this option to log to a file.
  • queuesize - Target/maximum size of queue.
  • queuedelay - Seconds before work expires to request more work.
  • ratesamples - Number of samples to average for hashrate reporting.
  • statusinterval - Seconds between status bar updates.
  • verbose - Enables verbose logging.


Global device settings

  • autoconfigure - Enables automatic configuration for the selected device.
  • disabled - Disables mining on this device.
  • kernel - Specifies which kernel to use for this device.
  • name - Sets the name to use for this device.
  • start_undetected - Sets if the kernel should start even if the device is not detected.


OpenCL/phatk2 Kernel settings

  • aggression - Sets the aggression. This allows you to control the kernel execution time to improve hashrate or reduce interface lag.
  • bfi_int - Enables the BFI_INT instruction on this device. (only supported by ATI 5xxx and 6xxx)
  • fastloop - Enables fast internal loop. This improves hashrate at lower aggression levels without introducing any additional interface lag.
  • goffset - Enables OpenCL 1.1 global offset. This can improve hashrate on supported devices.(does nothing for phatk2)
  • vectors - Enables 2-way vectors. (use this or vectors4, not both)
  • vectors4 - Enables 4-way vectors. (use this or vectors, not both)
  • worksize - Sets the worksize. Tweaking this setting may improve performance.


Download

Latest version: 2.0.0
Windows binaries
Source code/Linux release (requires Python, Twisted, and PyOpenCL)

GitHub:
https://github.com/phoenix2/phoenix


Donations

1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU


Tools
OpenCL info script


Links
Phoenix 1.x
Multiminer thread
MMP protocol specifications
phatk/phatk2 kernel thread
Diapolo's diakgcn kernel

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397972547
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397972547

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397972547
Reply with quote  #2

1397972547
Report to moderator
1397972547
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397972547

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397972547
Reply with quote  #2

1397972547
Report to moderator
CFSworks
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile

Ignore
April 07, 2012, 08:46:30 AM
 #2

Indeed, jedi95 is now taking over the release maintenance of Phoenix 2 (as he did with Phoenix 1).

Tomorrow I'll request that the beta thread be closed.

Phoenix Miner developer

PGP/GPG key: FC5461A3
Personal donations: 1Abq88sPz2MjH4Yi8yZVCbfu1ZXRSP7id5
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile

Ignore
April 07, 2012, 08:04:58 PM
 #3

I think I need some clarification on how to configure the .cfg file.  I plugged in my pool info (username, pw, address, port), but what else do I need to set in the .cfg?

Edit: Nvm. I guess it would help if I renamed example.cfg to phoenix.cfg and put it in the correct directory Tongue

I have one other question though. I have two GPUs, so instead of them all going to http://worker1:password@pool.org:8332, how do I split the up to like worker1 and worker2?  The .cfg file looks like it only handles pointing all GPUs to one resource.

Mousepotato
yuancraft
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62



View Profile

Ignore
April 08, 2012, 12:17:00 PM
 #4

this version have 100% bug
test on win7 32bit sp0
ati driver 12.3
AB 2.20 beta 15
paraipan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Firstbits: 1pirata


View Profile WWW

Ignore
April 08, 2012, 12:22:08 PM
 #5

this version have 100% bug
test on win7 32bit sp0
ati driver 12.3
AB 2.20 beta 15

update your vid driver  Wink

BTCitcoin: An Idea Worth Saving - Q&A with bitcoins on rugatu.com - Check my rep
yuancraft
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62



View Profile

Ignore
April 08, 2012, 02:22:18 PM
 #6

this version have 100% bug
test on win7 32bit sp0
ati driver 12.3
AB 2.20 beta 15

update your vid driver  Wink

sorry i think i'm in a latest driver (ati driver 12.3 ) mean 12-3_vista_win7_32_dd_ccc.exe

thx for help
paraipan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Firstbits: 1pirata


View Profile WWW

Ignore
April 08, 2012, 05:28:47 PM
 #7

this version have 100% bug
test on win7 32bit sp0
ati driver 12.3
AB 2.20 beta 15

update your vid driver  Wink

sorry i think i'm in a latest driver (ati driver 12.3 ) mean 12-3_vista_win7_32_dd_ccc.exe

thx for help

ah ok, sorry then, i thought 12.4 was out already

BTCitcoin: An Idea Worth Saving - Q&A with bitcoins on rugatu.com - Check my rep
ssateneth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile

Ignore
April 08, 2012, 10:35:44 PM
 #8

I'm getting very high CPU usage (20-25%) pretty evenly split between the four cores of a 2500k using Phatk2 and Phoenix2 mining with a single 6870. Any ideas what could cause that?

your driver. use a known driver/sdk combo that doesn't exhibit cpu bug. cpu bug is not a problem of the miner.

i use 11.12 or 12.1, and 2.1 SDK, but 2.4/2.5/2.6 should work too. no cpu bug on single/multi gpu.

If I helped you, please consider donating some BTC my way! 1FVLZTwSiAsf9z9dLZcfEuBY59HQprFJwQ
I am a long time trusted user: Bitcointalk forum trust ratings, Bitcoin-OTC Ratings, eBay Feedback, and Localbitcoins public profile.
ssateneth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile

Ignore
April 08, 2012, 10:43:07 PM
 #9

5830 @ 1030/205 phatk2 WORKSIZE = 128, BFI_INT = true, VECTORS = true, AGGRESSION = 12 with SDK 2.1 = 334.7 Mhash. With 2.5 SDK without GOFFSET is 329.5 MHash. With GOFFSET = true with 2.5 SDK 329.8MHash.

SDK 2.1 still king. Smiley Didn't use GOFFSET for 2.1 SDK because it's OpenCL 1.0, not 1.1. Doesn't affect hashes either.

edit: GOFFSET isn't used in phatk2, so hash rates are likely within error. I tried with OpenCL kernel and 2.5 SDK and with/without GOFFSET and didn't see a difference between with and without, though it did has at about 309.5 mhash.

If I helped you, please consider donating some BTC my way! 1FVLZTwSiAsf9z9dLZcfEuBY59HQprFJwQ
I am a long time trusted user: Bitcointalk forum trust ratings, Bitcoin-OTC Ratings, eBay Feedback, and Localbitcoins public profile.
ssateneth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile

Ignore
April 09, 2012, 12:19:14 AM
 #10

I'm getting very high CPU usage (20-25%) pretty evenly split between the four cores of a 2500k using Phatk2 and Phoenix2 mining with a single 6870. Any ideas what could cause that?

your driver. use a known driver/sdk combo that doesn't exhibit cpu bug. cpu bug is not a problem of the miner.

i use 11.12 or 12.1, and 2.1 SDK, but 2.4/2.5/2.6 should work too. no cpu bug on single/multi gpu.

It's driver version 12.3 with SDK 2.5. I didn't notice the excessive CPU usage under the old version, I'll have to check into it again.

12.3 definitely has CPU bug. 12.1 definitely does NOT have CPU bug. Not sure about 12.2, havent used yet.

If I helped you, please consider donating some BTC my way! 1FVLZTwSiAsf9z9dLZcfEuBY59HQprFJwQ
I am a long time trusted user: Bitcointalk forum trust ratings, Bitcoin-OTC Ratings, eBay Feedback, and Localbitcoins public profile.
ARapalo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile

Ignore
April 10, 2012, 04:53:23 AM
 #11

So many mining programs. What's the best and efficient one for HD5000 series cards? I know that's a very vague question, but I don't even know where to start to try out new miners.
Barlog
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile

Ignore
April 10, 2012, 10:57:20 AM
 #12

Option logfile = false created file named false  Cheesy
os2sam
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


Think for yourself


View Profile

Ignore
April 10, 2012, 05:45:29 PM
 #13

So many mining programs. What's the best and efficient one for HD5000 series cards? I know that's a very vague question, but I don't even know where to start to try out new miners.

I would suggest posting that question in a more neutral thread.
Sam
ssateneth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile

Ignore
April 10, 2012, 08:47:30 PM
 #14

What can cause this error? I just fresh installed my win7 on an x79 chipset board and 3930K CPU, same radeon 5870 though.
this is my cfg.
Code:
[general]
backend = http://1CxcPP8FVktppy4PHTYJKnZFqQeyZ3jArb:x@mining.eligius.st:8337

[cl:1:1]
kernel = phatk2
AGGRESSION = 5
VECTORS = true
BFI_INT = true
WORKSIZE = 128

[web]
disable = true

this is the error.


there are definately kernels in my plugins folder, I just download it fresh and it still wont work. help?

If I helped you, please consider donating some BTC my way! 1FVLZTwSiAsf9z9dLZcfEuBY59HQprFJwQ
I am a long time trusted user: Bitcointalk forum trust ratings, Bitcoin-OTC Ratings, eBay Feedback, and Localbitcoins public profile.
notawake
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile

Ignore
April 10, 2012, 08:56:43 PM
 #15

Option logfile = false created file named false  Cheesy

The same thing happened to me. I had to comment out that line to suppress the log file.

Bitcoin: 1HZRowLTkmF6M8V11vj2dmVf2r9VK7dVfo | Namecoin: MxT6tjJZcYZeWUGNgsAMxJ7wpDgKMdub4y

Output Transactions for a Given Address to CSV Format
JL421
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431


View Profile

Ignore
April 10, 2012, 09:49:38 PM
 #16

I'm not sure if this is related to my build or not, but on my Windows PC, Phoenix 2 will just exit after about a minute of mining. No errors, it just stops.

Any ideas? And what do you want me to try...

Check out my GLBSE mining company JLP-BMD. Great returns, quick response, transparent operations. -  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=46693.0

54Gh/s bASIC Bitcoin Mining Devices
Pre-Order Yours Today!     
Only $1069.99 ! @ http://www.BitcoinASIC.com
os2sam
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


Think for yourself


View Profile

Ignore
April 10, 2012, 10:12:13 PM
 #17

I'm not sure if this is related to my build or not, but on my Windows PC, Phoenix 2 will just exit after about a minute of mining. No errors, it just stops.

Any ideas? And what do you want me to try...

Is there anything logged in the event viewer?
Sam
JL421
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431


View Profile

Ignore
April 10, 2012, 10:30:48 PM
 #18

I'm not sure if this is related to my build or not, but on my Windows PC, Phoenix 2 will just exit after about a minute of mining. No errors, it just stops.

Any ideas? And what do you want me to try...

Is there anything logged in the event viewer?
Sam

Nope nothing...

Check out my GLBSE mining company JLP-BMD. Great returns, quick response, transparent operations. -  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=46693.0

54Gh/s bASIC Bitcoin Mining Devices
Pre-Order Yours Today!     
Only $1069.99 ! @ http://www.BitcoinASIC.com
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile

Ignore
April 10, 2012, 10:34:25 PM
 #19

Does 2.0.0 offer any hashing improvements over 1.7.x?

Mousepotato
ssateneth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile

Ignore
April 11, 2012, 05:57:20 AM
 #20

So nobody knows how to fix my problem? :/ I fresh installed on my last platform (evga 790i sli ultra, intel Q9550 @ 3.6ghz, 8gb ram) and it worked right away. Everything is identical except for cpu, motherboard, and ram (and associated hardware drivers) and it keeps saying "failed to load plugin 'opencl', failed to load plugin 'phatk2'" no matter what. my current hardware is an intel 3930K @ 4.7ghz, 64GB RAM, and MSI big bang xpower II (x79 chipset).

Anyone know how to fix my problem without reverting to previous hardware or switching OS? Currently use win7 x64 ult

If I helped you, please consider donating some BTC my way! 1FVLZTwSiAsf9z9dLZcfEuBY59HQprFJwQ
I am a long time trusted user: Bitcointalk forum trust ratings, Bitcoin-OTC Ratings, eBay Feedback, and Localbitcoins public profile.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!