Bitcoin Forum
July 28, 2017, 05:01:29 PM *
News: BIP91 seems stable: there's probably only slightly increased risk of confirmations disappearing. You should still prepare for Aug 1.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: What drivers do you use?  (Read 1386 times)
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64



View Profile
February 01, 2012, 08:55:30 PM
 #1

What drivers do you use for mining? I tried getting the latest(AMD v2.1) out of curiosity, and my hashrate dropped from 651MH/s to 550MH/s on my 6870s. What do you use for best results?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ForceField
aka Vitaliy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 388



View Profile
February 01, 2012, 09:20:22 PM
 #2

What drivers do you use for mining? I tried getting the latest(AMD v2.1) out of curiosity, and my hashrate dropped from 651MH/s to 550MH/s on my 6870s. What do you use for best results?

You mean v12.1?

PC Hardware & Electronics For BTC     Traded w/: Kansattica | jduck1987 | shakaru | newdude | nitetrader | midievil | blo8i | mb300sd | juggalodarkclow | Garr255 | Tril | Ringmasta | SysRun | CrazyBlane | sokay | BCB | str4wm4n | PinkBatman | Bitobsessed | matauc12 | antimattercrusader | BryanK
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 01, 2012, 09:21:28 PM
 #3

Useful info here, see Performance tweaking.
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64



View Profile
February 01, 2012, 09:31:26 PM
 #4

What drivers do you use for mining? I tried getting the latest(AMD v2.1) out of curiosity, and my hashrate dropped from 651MH/s to 550MH/s on my 6870s. What do you use for best results?

You mean v12.1?
Yes, my mistake. Tongue
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 01, 2012, 09:39:21 PM
 #5

This might also interest you.
ForceField
aka Vitaliy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 388



View Profile
February 01, 2012, 09:54:07 PM
 #6

What drivers do you use for mining? I tried getting the latest(AMD v2.1) out of curiosity, and my hashrate dropped from 651MH/s to 550MH/s on my 6870s. What do you use for best results?

You mean v12.1?
Yes, my mistake. Tongue

I didn't experience any loss from the upgrade, maybe try restarting your PC?
Also make sure your settings in GUIminer (or whichever program you use) haven't changed.

PC Hardware & Electronics For BTC     Traded w/: Kansattica | jduck1987 | shakaru | newdude | nitetrader | midievil | blo8i | mb300sd | juggalodarkclow | Garr255 | Tril | Ringmasta | SysRun | CrazyBlane | sokay | BCB | str4wm4n | PinkBatman | Bitobsessed | matauc12 | antimattercrusader | BryanK
Arnold2222
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 12:02:40 AM
 #7

as i reded best are 11.6a also SDK 2.4 or 2.5

personaly i am getting bests results on cminer 2.2.1 and 11.6a around 335mhs now after update of cgminer, was 314 before
greetings

##Sapphire HD 6870 2x | XFX HD 7770 | MSI HD 7970##
##USB Block Erupter 13x##
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 12:08:54 AM
 #8

as i reded best are 11.6a also SDK 2.4 or 2.5

personaly i am getting bests results on cminer 2.2.1 and 11.6a around 335mhs now after update of cgminer, was 314 before
greetings

That's great! Cheesy Is that on a 6870? Also, what settings?
blissfulyoshi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 03:51:08 AM
 #9

CGMINER usually does need much setup. Just add -I 9 to the end of basic pool information, and that is usually enough to get the highest hashrate (assuming you already overclocked your card)

As for myself, my 6870 is at 290MH/s with only a slight factory overclock (bascially no overclocking at all) on CGMINER.
insanityflea
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 05:29:50 AM
 #10

Useful info here, see Performance tweaking.

Awesome. Thanks for the link!

Linux pushes the best numbers. Use the settings mentioned in the link.
insanityflea
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 05:34:50 AM
 #11

CGMINER usually does need much setup. Just add -I 9 to the end of basic pool information, and that is usually enough to get the highest hashrate (assuming you already overclocked your card)

As for myself, my 6870 is at 290MH/s with only a slight factory overclock (bascially no overclocking at all) on CGMINER.


Try Diablo Miner you should squeeze 300 or so out of that card
blissfulyoshi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 05:47:19 AM
 #12

CGMINER usually does need much setup. Just add -I 9 to the end of basic pool information, and that is usually enough to get the highest hashrate (assuming you already overclocked your card)

As for myself, my 6870 is at 290MH/s with only a slight factory overclock (bascially no overclocking at all) on CGMINER.


Try Diablo Miner you should squeeze 300 or so out of that card

I am only getting 280 with Diablo with the settings on the first post. Are there any better settings I should try? (When I did overclock test long time ago on phoenix 1.4, I easily passed 320 (maybe 330 but it has been a while), but the energy spike is not worth it imo)
Arnold2222
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 11:49:37 AM
 #13

as i reded best are 11.6a also SDK 2.4 or 2.5

personaly i am getting bests results on cminer 2.2.1 and 11.6a around 335mhs now after update of cgminer, was 314 before
greetings

That's great! Cheesy Is that on a 6870? Also, what settings?

Yes thats exacly 6870 Smiley from sapphire
here are my settings:
~drivers
11.6a (in system info you ll see as 11.7)

--for out of pc--
~GPU
@1000 MHz
V 1,200
Mem 300MHz
~cgminer 2.2.1
hreads: 2
intensity: 14
~result
up to 335Mhs

--while use pc--
~GPU
@1000
V 1,200
Mem 600MHz
~cgminer 2.2.1
threads: 2
intensity: d (dynamic) or 6
~result
up to 314Mhs

atm testing p2pool

##Sapphire HD 6870 2x | XFX HD 7770 | MSI HD 7970##
##USB Block Erupter 13x##
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 06:00:59 PM
 #14

Good gods below, never use intensity >9 with 5xxx or 6xxx cards!
You're lowering your Utility rating processing incredibly long batches of calculations and throwing them out when they've become stale.
Intensity is a fine-tuning parameter, higher does not imply better.
Decrease intensity to 8 or 9 (either will be fine) && RTFM
Arnold2222
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 07:00:51 PM
 #15

Good gods below, never use intensity >9 with 5xxx or 6xxx cards!
You're lowering your Utility rating processing incredibly long batches of calculations and throwing them out when they've become stale.
Intensity is a fine-tuning parameter, higher does not imply better.
Decrease intensity to 8 or 9 (either will be fine) && RTFM

what you exacly mean Utility rating ?

##Sapphire HD 6870 2x | XFX HD 7770 | MSI HD 7970##
##USB Block Erupter 13x##
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:14:07 PM
 #16

Code:
U:8.22/m
Utility is the number of solved non-stale shares per minute.
It's a slightly better indicator than MHash/s, although at the cost of higher variation.
Run cgminer for a day or so to even out the variation.
Arnold2222
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:34:05 PM
 #17

with intensity 14 i am getting about 5
with less is around 4-4,5 Smiley

##Sapphire HD 6870 2x | XFX HD 7770 | MSI HD 7970##
##USB Block Erupter 13x##
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 09:58:23 PM
 #18

I already told you to measure it over at least 24 hours.
Arnold2222
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 10:02:07 PM
 #19

thats the result for around 7 days Smiley

##Sapphire HD 6870 2x | XFX HD 7770 | MSI HD 7970##
##USB Block Erupter 13x##
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2012, 10:31:24 PM
 #20

Luck plays too big a role in utility to make such a claim I'm afraid.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!