Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:42:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: What drivers do you use?  (Read 1286 times)
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
February 01, 2012, 08:55:30 PM
 #1

What drivers do you use for mining? I tried getting the latest(AMD v2.1) out of curiosity, and my hashrate dropped from 651MH/s to 550MH/s on my 6870s. What do you use for best results?

Mining rig(s): MH/s
2x 5970 @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory ~ 1480MH/s
GTX 570 @ 840MHz Core/1900MHz Memory ~ 129MH/s
Consider donating if I helped: 15E9xBNWWvuURi2LLx8T6cMU1LyckiQntY
1481416973
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416973

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416973
Reply with quote  #2

1481416973
Report to moderator
1481416973
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416973

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416973
Reply with quote  #2

1481416973
Report to moderator
1481416973
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416973

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416973
Reply with quote  #2

1481416973
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ForceField
aka Vitaliy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 388



View Profile
February 01, 2012, 09:20:22 PM
 #2

What drivers do you use for mining? I tried getting the latest(AMD v2.1) out of curiosity, and my hashrate dropped from 651MH/s to 550MH/s on my 6870s. What do you use for best results?

You mean v12.1?

PC Hardware & Electronics For BTC     Traded w/: Kansattica | jduck1987 | shakaru | newdude | nitetrader | midievil | blo8i | mb300sd | juggalodarkclow | Garr255 | Tril | Ringmasta | SysRun | CrazyBlane | sokay | BCB | str4wm4n | PinkBatman | Bitobsessed | matauc12 | antimattercrusader | BryanK
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 01, 2012, 09:21:28 PM
 #3

Useful info here, see Performance tweaking.
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
February 01, 2012, 09:31:26 PM
 #4

What drivers do you use for mining? I tried getting the latest(AMD v2.1) out of curiosity, and my hashrate dropped from 651MH/s to 550MH/s on my 6870s. What do you use for best results?

You mean v12.1?
Yes, my mistake. Tongue

Mining rig(s): MH/s
2x 5970 @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory ~ 1480MH/s
GTX 570 @ 840MHz Core/1900MHz Memory ~ 129MH/s
Consider donating if I helped: 15E9xBNWWvuURi2LLx8T6cMU1LyckiQntY
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 01, 2012, 09:39:21 PM
 #5

This might also interest you.
ForceField
aka Vitaliy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 388



View Profile
February 01, 2012, 09:54:07 PM
 #6

What drivers do you use for mining? I tried getting the latest(AMD v2.1) out of curiosity, and my hashrate dropped from 651MH/s to 550MH/s on my 6870s. What do you use for best results?

You mean v12.1?
Yes, my mistake. Tongue

I didn't experience any loss from the upgrade, maybe try restarting your PC?
Also make sure your settings in GUIminer (or whichever program you use) haven't changed.

PC Hardware & Electronics For BTC     Traded w/: Kansattica | jduck1987 | shakaru | newdude | nitetrader | midievil | blo8i | mb300sd | juggalodarkclow | Garr255 | Tril | Ringmasta | SysRun | CrazyBlane | sokay | BCB | str4wm4n | PinkBatman | Bitobsessed | matauc12 | antimattercrusader | BryanK
Arnold2222
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 12:02:40 AM
 #7

as i reded best are 11.6a also SDK 2.4 or 2.5

personaly i am getting bests results on cminer 2.2.1 and 11.6a around 335mhs now after update of cgminer, was 314 before
greetings

##Sapphire HD 6870 2x | XFX HD 7770 | MSI HD 7970##
##USB Block Erupter 13x##
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 12:08:54 AM
 #8

as i reded best are 11.6a also SDK 2.4 or 2.5

personaly i am getting bests results on cminer 2.2.1 and 11.6a around 335mhs now after update of cgminer, was 314 before
greetings

That's great! Cheesy Is that on a 6870? Also, what settings?

Mining rig(s): MH/s
2x 5970 @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory ~ 1480MH/s
GTX 570 @ 840MHz Core/1900MHz Memory ~ 129MH/s
Consider donating if I helped: 15E9xBNWWvuURi2LLx8T6cMU1LyckiQntY
blissfulyoshi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 03:51:08 AM
 #9

CGMINER usually does need much setup. Just add -I 9 to the end of basic pool information, and that is usually enough to get the highest hashrate (assuming you already overclocked your card)

As for myself, my 6870 is at 290MH/s with only a slight factory overclock (bascially no overclocking at all) on CGMINER.
insanityflea
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 05:29:50 AM
 #10

Useful info here, see Performance tweaking.

Awesome. Thanks for the link!

Linux pushes the best numbers. Use the settings mentioned in the link.
insanityflea
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 05:34:50 AM
 #11

CGMINER usually does need much setup. Just add -I 9 to the end of basic pool information, and that is usually enough to get the highest hashrate (assuming you already overclocked your card)

As for myself, my 6870 is at 290MH/s with only a slight factory overclock (bascially no overclocking at all) on CGMINER.


Try Diablo Miner you should squeeze 300 or so out of that card
blissfulyoshi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 05:47:19 AM
 #12

CGMINER usually does need much setup. Just add -I 9 to the end of basic pool information, and that is usually enough to get the highest hashrate (assuming you already overclocked your card)

As for myself, my 6870 is at 290MH/s with only a slight factory overclock (bascially no overclocking at all) on CGMINER.


Try Diablo Miner you should squeeze 300 or so out of that card

I am only getting 280 with Diablo with the settings on the first post. Are there any better settings I should try? (When I did overclock test long time ago on phoenix 1.4, I easily passed 320 (maybe 330 but it has been a while), but the energy spike is not worth it imo)
Arnold2222
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 11:49:37 AM
 #13

as i reded best are 11.6a also SDK 2.4 or 2.5

personaly i am getting bests results on cminer 2.2.1 and 11.6a around 335mhs now after update of cgminer, was 314 before
greetings

That's great! Cheesy Is that on a 6870? Also, what settings?

Yes thats exacly 6870 Smiley from sapphire
here are my settings:
~drivers
11.6a (in system info you ll see as 11.7)

--for out of pc--
~GPU
@1000 MHz
V 1,200
Mem 300MHz
~cgminer 2.2.1
hreads: 2
intensity: 14
~result
up to 335Mhs

--while use pc--
~GPU
@1000
V 1,200
Mem 600MHz
~cgminer 2.2.1
threads: 2
intensity: d (dynamic) or 6
~result
up to 314Mhs

atm testing p2pool

##Sapphire HD 6870 2x | XFX HD 7770 | MSI HD 7970##
##USB Block Erupter 13x##
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 06:00:59 PM
 #14

Good gods below, never use intensity >9 with 5xxx or 6xxx cards!
You're lowering your Utility rating processing incredibly long batches of calculations and throwing them out when they've become stale.
Intensity is a fine-tuning parameter, higher does not imply better.
Decrease intensity to 8 or 9 (either will be fine) && RTFM
Arnold2222
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 07:00:51 PM
 #15

Good gods below, never use intensity >9 with 5xxx or 6xxx cards!
You're lowering your Utility rating processing incredibly long batches of calculations and throwing them out when they've become stale.
Intensity is a fine-tuning parameter, higher does not imply better.
Decrease intensity to 8 or 9 (either will be fine) && RTFM

what you exacly mean Utility rating ?

##Sapphire HD 6870 2x | XFX HD 7770 | MSI HD 7970##
##USB Block Erupter 13x##
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:14:07 PM
 #16

Code:
U:8.22/m
Utility is the number of solved non-stale shares per minute.
It's a slightly better indicator than MHash/s, although at the cost of higher variation.
Run cgminer for a day or so to even out the variation.
Arnold2222
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:34:05 PM
 #17

with intensity 14 i am getting about 5
with less is around 4-4,5 Smiley

##Sapphire HD 6870 2x | XFX HD 7770 | MSI HD 7970##
##USB Block Erupter 13x##
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 09:58:23 PM
 #18

I already told you to measure it over at least 24 hours.
Arnold2222
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 10:02:07 PM
 #19

thats the result for around 7 days Smiley

##Sapphire HD 6870 2x | XFX HD 7770 | MSI HD 7970##
##USB Block Erupter 13x##
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2012, 10:31:24 PM
 #20

Luck plays too big a role in utility to make such a claim I'm afraid.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!