Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:55:34 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 144 Spartan6 LX150 FPGA cluster! 28.8 GH/s!!!  (Read 15242 times)
stcupp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 10:37:00 PM
 #1

Has anyone seen these before?

http://www.dinigroup.com/new/DNBFC_S12_12_Cluster.php

Any idea on what one of these would cost?
each board has 12 spartan6 LX150's
http://www.dinigroup.com/product/data/DNBFC_S12_PCIe/images/rev2frontb.jpg
http://www.dinigroup.com/product/data/DNBFC_S12_PCIe/images/DNBFC_S12_PCIe_blckv14.png

And 12 of these boards in a cluster

http://www.dinigroup.com/product/data/DNBFC_S12_12_Cluster/images/front.jpg
http://www.dinigroup.com/product/data/DNBFC_S12_PCIe/images/DNBFC_S12_12_Cluster_v100.png

144 Spartan6 LX150 * 200 MH/s = 28.8 GH/s!!!!

1480766134
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766134

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766134
Reply with quote  #2

1480766134
Report to moderator
1480766134
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766134

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766134
Reply with quote  #2

1480766134
Report to moderator
1480766134
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766134

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766134
Reply with quote  #2

1480766134
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480766134
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766134

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766134
Reply with quote  #2

1480766134
Report to moderator
1480766134
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766134

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766134
Reply with quote  #2

1480766134
Report to moderator
1480766134
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766134

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766134
Reply with quote  #2

1480766134
Report to moderator
Timbo925
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 10:48:57 PM
 #2

well I guess it's out of my price range  Tongue

Graphic Designer for hire (Ads/Logos/Banners...)   0.25 BTC  --> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78924.msg878727#msg878727
BTC address: 1TimbojaydbZs1x5ptPVovsb9rATH3JSU
stcupp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 10:55:52 PM
 #3

lol yeah mine too

http://www.fpga-faq.com/FPGA_Boards.shtml

this site lists each pcie board as $7950.00

$7950.00 * 12 = $95,400

so i'd say the whole cluster is around $110,000

Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 10:59:53 PM
 #4

Ships in 4-6 weeks.

Mousepotato
Timbo925
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 11:02:03 PM
 #5

Ships in 4-6 weeks.

 Made me LOL  Grin Roll Eyes

Graphic Designer for hire (Ads/Logos/Banners...)   0.25 BTC  --> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78924.msg878727#msg878727
BTC address: 1TimbojaydbZs1x5ptPVovsb9rATH3JSU
kais3r
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 11:03:32 PM
 #6

lol yeah mine too

http://www.fpga-faq.com/FPGA_Boards.shtml

this site lists each pcie board as $7950.00

$7950.00 * 12 = $95,400

so i'd say the whole cluster is around $110,000
wow, I believe with 110K you could make a much more efficient mining rig
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 11:04:30 PM
 #7

I wonder how recent that price is though. I bet if someone contacted them, it could be had for cheaper.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
stcupp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 11:12:45 PM
 #8

lol yeah mine too

http://www.fpga-faq.com/FPGA_Boards.shtml

this site lists each pcie board as $7950.00

$7950.00 * 12 = $95,400

so i'd say the whole cluster is around $110,000
wow, I believe with 110K you could make a much more efficient mining rig

Maybe more hashes but not more efficient... FPGA's don't use as much power

each card with 12 fpga's is probably only running around 1800mh/s at 120 watts

while a gpu runs around 750 mh/s at 400 watts or 350mh/s for 200 watts

also theres no where near as much heat output on these cards compared to gpu's

so FPGA's are alot more efficient less money in power, more mh/s per watt, and less money in cooling

[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
February 02, 2012, 11:35:52 PM
 #9

Quote
Power/cooling to handle up to 5W per FPGA
Not enough. Full-speed mining would require more than 8W per FPGA.

Also, it's at least 3 times more expensive than currently available Spartan-6 mining solutions.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
stcupp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 12:50:18 AM
 #10

Quote
Power/cooling to handle up to 5W per FPGA
Not enough. Full-speed mining would require more than 8W per FPGA.

Also, it's at least 3 times more expensive than currently available Spartan-6 mining solutions.

I noticed this too.... its about $660 per spartan 6 there are cheaper solutions in the cards built just for mining

God I just wish i had the $ to play around with a huge fpga cluster..... Sad

zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
February 03, 2012, 11:13:47 PM
 #11

Anyone noticed this one:
http://enterpoint.co.uk/products/spartan-6-development-boards/xc6slx150-x2/
Shop: http://www.enterpoint.co.uk/shop/en/93-xc6slx150-x2-coprocessor.html
2 XC6SLX150, 400 MH/s, £300.00 tax excl. => ~1.2US$ / MH/s

This one is less cost-effective, but higher integrated:
http://enterpoint.co.uk/products/asic-development-high-performance-computing/merrick-3/
Shop: http://www.enterpoint.co.uk/shop/en/98-merrick-3.html (sold out)
24 XC6SLX150, 4.8 GH/s, £6,500.00 tax excl. => ~2.2US$ / MH/s

The first one got my heads-up, since it comes for a price comparable to Icarus, which currently is the most cost-effective and commercially available FPGA miner.

Dexter770221
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1026


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 11:22:31 PM
 #12

No sign of high current regulators for VCCINT and no sign of holes to mount a heatsink, so this boards are poorly designed for mining and you will not achieve more than 50MH/s.

Under development Modular UPGRADEABLE Miner (MUM). Looking for investors.
Changing one PCB with screwdriver and you have brand new miner in hand... Plug&Play, scalable from one module to thousands.
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
February 03, 2012, 11:35:24 PM
 #13

No sign of high current regulators for VCCINT and no sign of holes to mount a heatsink, so this boards are poorly designed for mining and you will not achieve more than 50MH/s.

... knew there is a catch. Anyhow my BitForces are to ship soon Wink

ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 11:45:16 PM
 #14

Anyone noticed this one:
http://enterpoint.co.uk/products/spartan-6-development-boards/xc6slx150-x2/
Shop: http://www.enterpoint.co.uk/shop/en/93-xc6slx150-x2-coprocessor.html
2 XC6SLX150, 400 MH/s, £300.00 tax excl. => ~1.2US$ / MH/s

This one is less cost-effective, but higher integrated:
http://enterpoint.co.uk/products/asic-development-high-performance-computing/merrick-3/
Shop: http://www.enterpoint.co.uk/shop/en/98-merrick-3.html (sold out)
24 XC6SLX150, 4.8 GH/s, £6,500.00 tax excl. => ~2.2US$ / MH/s

The first one got my heads-up, since it comes for a price comparable to Icarus, which currently is the most cost-effective and commercially available FPGA miner.

First one has a shared 10A reg for 2 LX150s -> max of 5A vccint each.
Second has a 12A for 4 LX150s -> 3A each
My early LX150 miner prototypes had a 60A switcher for vccint for 8 chips -> 7.5A each... and that later turned out to be not enough.
Btw, one thing that made me go WTF when looking at interior pics of copacobana a few years ago... a single massive AC->1.2V converter for vccint and really heavy cables + busbars to route it around...

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
February 03, 2012, 11:54:50 PM
 #15

First one has a shared 10A reg for 2 LX150s -> max of 5A vccint each.
Second has a 12A for 4 LX150s -> 3A each
My early LX150 miner prototypes had a 60A switcher for vccint for 8 chips -> 7.5A each... and that later turned out to be not enough.
Btw, one thing that made me go WTF when looking at interior pics of copacobana a few years ago... a single massive AC->1.2V converter for vccint and really heavy cables + busbars to route it around...
At least it's good to know that you get what you pay for (even if the price premium might be slightly disproportional). Don't really know what they charge for the Copacobana, but speculate it should be in the 6-digit range.

Inspector 2211
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 12:03:22 AM
 #16

My early LX150 miner prototypes had a 60A switcher for vccint for 8 chips -> 7.5A each... and that later turned out to be not enough.

So, how come the German guy (Stefan) of ZTEX gets by with a [very compact] 8 Amp converter for VCCINT?
His dynamic clocking now achieves > 200 MH/s on a -3 device.
Impressive.
(Even more impressive considering the fact that he has less than half of the Xilinx-mandated amount of bypass capacitors surrounding the Spartan-6.)

Btw, one thing that made me go WTF when looking at interior pics of copacobana a few years ago... a single massive AC->1.2V converter for vccint and really heavy cables + busbars to route it around...

Here's a picture: http://www.copacobana.org/photos/photo_b4.jpg
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
February 04, 2012, 12:37:45 AM
 #17

My early LX150 miner prototypes had a 60A switcher for vccint for 8 chips -> 7.5A each... and that later turned out to be not enough.

So, how come the German guy (Stefan) of ZTEX gets by with a [very compact] 8 Amp converter for VCCINT?
His dynamic clocking now achieves > 200 MH/s on a -3 device.
Impressive.
(Even more impressive considering the fact that he has less than half of the Xilinx-mandated amount of bypass capacitors surrounding the Spartan-6.)

Btw, one thing that made me go WTF when looking at interior pics of copacobana a few years ago... a single massive AC->1.2V converter for vccint and really heavy cables + busbars to route it around...

Here's a picture: http://www.copacobana.org/photos/photo_b4.jpg
Well, 7.5A/core was ok for a 192-205MHz 122-round 2-stage-per-round pipeline design. Just my later designs needed more power.
Also, unless I misremember, he uses ultra-low-esl 0306 caps for vccint, xilinx recommended #s are for caps with ESL values similar to 0402s... so... prolly fine.
Yep, that's the picture... Still don't get why on earth they did it that way. A AC->12V PSU and half a dozen or so point-of-load converters would've saved a whole lot of copper (and prevent accidentally welding holes in your chassis...)

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
RandyFolds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 12:52:28 AM
 #18

No sign of high current regulators for VCCINT and no sign of holes to mount a heatsink, so this boards are poorly designed for mining and you will not achieve more than 50MH/s.

... knew there is a catch. Anyhow my BitForces are to ship soon Wink

See mousepotato's comment...

▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
▓▓ ONEDICE.ME ▓▓▓▓▓ BEST DICE EXPERIENCE ▓▓▓▓ PLAY OR INVEST ▓▓▓▓▓▓
▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 04, 2012, 12:58:48 AM
 #19

I wonder how recent that price is though. I bet if someone contacted them, it could be had for cheaper.

Probably not.  They are custom built and have tons of high speed connectivity, and banks of ram.  Totally useless for Bitcoin but expensive and useful for other applications.
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
February 04, 2012, 05:17:30 PM
 #20

Btw, one thing that made me go WTF when looking at interior pics of copacobana a few years ago... a single massive AC->1.2V converter for vccint and really heavy cables + busbars to route it around...
Why they don't need any heatsinks on their FPGAs ?

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!