Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 08:25:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Modular Python Bitcoin Miner - Official Thread  (Read 69183 times)
thirdlight
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 281



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 06:16:07 PM
 #21

So I've found & installed libusb-win32. This has stopped the other X6500 software from working.

mpbm programs all boards, but then:
Code:
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000: X6500 board AH00WOW1: Error while booting board: Traceback (most recent call last):
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000:   File "C:\mpbm\worker\fpgamining\x6500.py", line 204, in main
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000:     FPGA.programBitstream(self.miner, self.device, jtag, bitfile.bitstream, self.progresshandler)
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000:   File "C:\mpbm\worker\fpgamining\util\fpga.py", line 240, in programBitstream
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000:     jtag.load_bitstream(bitstream, progresscallback)
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000:   File "C:\mpbm\worker\fpgamining\util\jtag.py", line 242, in load_bitstream
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000:     self.ft232r._purgeBuffers()
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000: AttributeError: FT232R instance has no attribute '_purgeBuffers'

 Huh
1480710308
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710308

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710308
Reply with quote  #2

1480710308
Report to moderator
1480710308
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710308

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710308
Reply with quote  #2

1480710308
Report to moderator
1480710308
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710308

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710308
Reply with quote  #2

1480710308
Report to moderator
Make sure you back up your wallet regularly! With Bitcoin-Qt, it needs to be backed up at least as often as every 100 transactions (both sends and receipts) or new addresses.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480710308
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710308

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710308
Reply with quote  #2

1480710308
Report to moderator
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2012, 06:26:07 PM
 #22

I've had mpbm working using "useftd2xx":"true" and python 2.6.7.

It saw all the boards, but couldn't "open" all of them.

Seemed to be getting shares, pool reported widely varying hashrate. The terminal window has a message about "window too small" so no stats to relay.

Froze around an hour later, no reason in the log.

I like that it manages (or tries to) all the boards at once - much neater than multiple windows. I will persevere.

ftd2xx has a couple of issues, especially that boards can get stuck if a miner software doesn't terminate cleanly. Most likely the reason for some of your boards to not be recognized correctly.

Window too small means exactly what it says, those rather huge stats tables need like 150 chars of width.

What were the last log messages before it froze?


So I've found & installed libusb-win32. This has stopped the other X6500 software from working.

mpbm programs all boards, but then:
Code:
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000: X6500 board AH00WOW1: Error while booting board: Traceback (most recent call last):
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000:   File "C:\mpbm\worker\fpgamining\x6500.py", line 204, in main
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000:     FPGA.programBitstream(self.miner, self.device, jtag, bitfile.bitstream, self.progresshandler)
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000:   File "C:\mpbm\worker\fpgamining\util\fpga.py", line 240, in programBitstream
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000:     jtag.load_bitstream(bitstream, progresscallback)
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000:   File "C:\mpbm\worker\fpgamining\util\jtag.py", line 242, in load_bitstream
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000:     self.ft232r._purgeBuffers()
2012-02-07 18:04:08.375000: AttributeError: FT232R instance has no attribute '_purgeBuffers'

 Huh


Damn, I overlooked that one during a rework. Has been fixed this very moment.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
thirdlight
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 281



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 07:26:14 PM
 #23

Damn, I overlooked that one during a rework. Has been fixed this very moment.
Pulled, programs & mines on all boards except one:
Code:
2012-02-07 19:12:04.062000: X6500 board AH00WLON: 99.2% complete [30 kB/s] [0s remaining]
2012-02-07 19:12:04.937000: X6500 board AH00WLON: Programmed FPGAs in 123.391000 seconds
2012-02-07 19:12:04.937000: X6500 board AH00WLON FPGA 0: Waking up...
2012-02-07 19:12:04.984000: X6500 board AH00WLON FPGA 1: Waking up...
2012-02-07 19:12:04.984000: X6500 board AH00WLON FPGA 0: Verifying correct operation...
2012-02-07 19:12:05.031000: X6500 board AH00WLON FPGA 1: Verifying correct operation...
2012-02-07 19:12:05.343000: X6500 board AH00WLON FPGA 0: Mining device sent a share before even getting a job
Reprograms, fails again, and repeat.

After 10 mins or so, it's finally succeded! +1 that it keeps on trying!

Found out how to increase the window size (presumably everyone else knows to make a shortcut to the .bat file and change the size in the layout tab of the shortcut's properties). Wow. Lots of stats!

So pleased this is working, as I can't go back...
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2012, 07:45:47 PM
 #24

Damn, I overlooked that one during a rework. Has been fixed this very moment.
Pulled, programs & mines on all boards except one:
Code:
2012-02-07 19:12:04.062000: X6500 board AH00WLON: 99.2% complete [30 kB/s] [0s remaining]
2012-02-07 19:12:04.937000: X6500 board AH00WLON: Programmed FPGAs in 123.391000 seconds
2012-02-07 19:12:04.937000: X6500 board AH00WLON FPGA 0: Waking up...
2012-02-07 19:12:04.984000: X6500 board AH00WLON FPGA 1: Waking up...
2012-02-07 19:12:04.984000: X6500 board AH00WLON FPGA 0: Verifying correct operation...
2012-02-07 19:12:05.031000: X6500 board AH00WLON FPGA 1: Verifying correct operation...
2012-02-07 19:12:05.343000: X6500 board AH00WLON FPGA 0: Mining device sent a share before even getting a job
Reprograms, fails again, and repeat.

After 10 mins or so, it's finally succeded! +1 that it keeps on trying!

Found out how to increase the window size (presumably everyone else knows to make a shortcut to the .bat file and change the size in the layout tab of the shortcut's properties). Wow. Lots of stats!

So pleased this is working, as I can't go back...
Heh, that sounds like very un-lucky timing. Reprogramming over and over wouldn't have been neccessary, it would have just needed to retry the validation.
I think I know what was going and I'll have a look into avoiding that...

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
shad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 07:47:59 PM
 #25

i am running it on an Buffalo WRZ-HP-AG300H-EU, it uses around 40MB-Ram openwrt+miner
(i didn't get it running on my linksys wrt54gl because of to few diskspace)

installation on OpenWRT

Quote
opkg update
opkg install phyton
opkg install libncurses
opkg install libncursesw
opkg install libusb

rmmod ftdi_sio
python miner.py

bitstream was already installed, will try installing bitstream over openwrt later

15dUzJEUkxgjrtcvDSdsEDkXu7E7RCbNN3
thirdlight
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 281



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 08:14:05 PM
 #26

i am running it on an Buffalo WRZ-HP-AG300H-EU
That's fantastic!

Also, I'm mining with fpga's on p2pool. Perfect!
shad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 08:44:58 PM
 #27

i am running it on an Buffalo WRZ-HP-AG300H-EU
That's fantastic!

Also, I'm mining with fpga's on p2pool. Perfect!

i think i have to choose between running on ARM or mining on P2Pool

15dUzJEUkxgjrtcvDSdsEDkXu7E7RCbNN3
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2012, 08:45:27 PM
 #28

Also, I'm mining with fpga's on p2pool. Perfect!

Please be aware that the x6500 has relatively long long poll latencies due to its architecture, which will probably result in extremely high (around 20-50%) stale rates on the (very fast) p2pool network.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
thirdlight
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 281



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 09:01:36 PM
 #29

i think i have to choose between running on ARM or mining on P2Pool
Is that because p2pool won't run on ARM? My fpga controller pc isn't strong enough for p2pool, so I've got it on a vps.
extremely high (around 20-50%) stale rates
Yes, showing 20% on factory settings currently.
shad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 09:07:39 PM
 #30

i think i have to choose between running on ARM or mining on P2Pool
Is that because p2pool won't run on ARM? My fpga controller pc isn't strong enough for p2pool, so I've got it on a vps.

p2pool will run on arm, but you need a bitcoin-server
okay, i think you could be able to compile the bitcoin-server for ARM, you also have to hold the blockchain on the device, maybe with an usb-stick, but when i mined with my celeron 900Mhz on P2Pool, i had connection loses between p2pool and bitcoin because of high system load, i don't think this will run nice on my router

15dUzJEUkxgjrtcvDSdsEDkXu7E7RCbNN3
bitcowok
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
February 08, 2012, 03:36:29 AM
 #31

1) might be curses not properly detecting your terminal type. Running it inside a screen session sometimes helps with this. If you're using PuTTY as a terminal, make sure to set its charset to UTF-8.
2) MPBM probably expects a trailing slash here... I'll fix that later today.

Your fix to (2) is worked, thanks. Its now mining like a champ.

Re UTF-8 issues:  my first problem was i am using xterm, which needs to be started in utf-8 mode like this:
xterm -u8

If i run MPBM within xterm -u8, i get nice pretty graphics.

Now when I try to run it within screen (within that xterm -u8), I now get strange characters. (even using screen -U  , which forces UTF-8)

As a test, running this should result a capital O with circumflex.
Code:
perl -le 'print "\x{d4}"'

And what i'm seeing without screen, and within:


Heres my locale:
Code:
$ locale
LANG=en_AU.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="en_AU.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="en_AU.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="en_AU.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="en_AU.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY="en_AU.UTF-8"
LC_MESSAGES="en_AU.UTF-8"
LC_PAPER="en_AU.UTF-8"
LC_NAME="en_AU.UTF-8"
LC_ADDRESS="en_AU.UTF-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="en_AU.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="en_AU.UTF-8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="en_AU.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=

so I'm stumped. I'm running it outside of screen for the time being, and its working beautifully, but if anyone has any clues to fix the utf-8 problem i'm having with screen, I'd love to hear them.
coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2012, 08:24:28 AM
 #32

I finally got this working by installing libusb (and it does break the x6500 default miner)
This miner is fantastic! It has all the stats that I can think of in a nice layout... color coded as well!

Anyone working on an Icarus worker?

TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2012, 02:14:11 PM
 #33

Anyone working on an Icarus worker?

I might do that if someone can offer me access to a board for testing.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
February 08, 2012, 04:36:59 PM
 #34

Anyone have this working on a Mac? Before I try setting it up for my x6500 miners, wanted to make sure someone had already tested.

coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2012, 05:06:07 PM
 #35

Anyone have this working on a Mac? Before I try setting it up for my x6500 miners, wanted to make sure someone had already tested.

Yes, it's working on my Mac. I needed to install these 2:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/pyusb/files/PyUSB%201.0/1.0.0-alpha-2/pyusb-1.0.0a2.zip/download
http://sourceforge.net/projects/libusb/files/libusb-1.0/libusb-1.0.8/

coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2012, 06:59:04 PM
 #36

Anyone working on an Icarus worker?

I might do that if someone can offer me access to a board for testing.

I might be able to do that. What kind of access do you need?

TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2012, 11:01:21 PM
 #37

Anyone working on an Icarus worker?

I might do that if someone can offer me access to a board for testing.

I might be able to do that. What kind of access do you need?

Just ssh into a box that's connected to a board (and the appropriate permissions to access the board's device node) should be sufficient.
I'll probably also need some python modules to be installed (the python curses bindings and pyserial), ideally both python 2.7 and 3.x.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 12:17:28 AM
 #38

Experimental Icarus board support has been added, thanks a lot to O_Shovah for letting me test it on his board Smiley

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 11:10:53 AM
 #39

Experimental Icarus board support has been added, thanks a lot to O_Shovah for letting me test it on his board Smiley

Offering some bitcoins might encourage you to not be lazy Smiley  Grin

is there any implementation guide for Icarus?  Huh

Code:
#  # Icarus worker
  { \
#    # Worker module
    "type": worker.theseven.icarus.IcarusWorker, \
#    # Worker module parameters, in this case serial port name (default: /dev/ttyS0)
    "port": "COM7", \
  }, \


Code:
C:\project\TheSeven-Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner-aef8b23\TheSeven-Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner-aef8b23>c:\python27\python.exe miner.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "miner.py", line 331, in <module>
    exec("import " + configfile + " as config")
  File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
  File "C:\project\TheSeven-Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner-aef8b23\TheSeven-Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner-aef8b23\config.py", line 121, in <module>
    "type": worker.theseven.icarus.IcarusWorker, \
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'theseven'

C:\project\TheSeven-Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner-aef8b23\TheSeven-Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner-aef8b23>PAUSE

 Embarrassed

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 02:13:00 PM
 #40

Code:
C:\project\TheSeven-Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner-aef8b23\TheSeven-Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner-aef8b23>c:\python27\python.exe miner.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "miner.py", line 331, in <module>
    exec("import " + configfile + " as config")
  File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
  File "C:\project\TheSeven-Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner-aef8b23\TheSeven-Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner-aef8b23\config.py", line 121, in <module>
    "type": worker.theseven.icarus.IcarusWorker, \
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'theseven'

C:\project\TheSeven-Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner-aef8b23\TheSeven-Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner-aef8b23>PAUSE

 Embarrassed

add
Code:
import worker.theseven.icarus
at the top and remove the x6500 one.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!