Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 03:59:41 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 6870 and 5970 on 750 Watt PSU?  (Read 1787 times)
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 12:53:19 PM
 #1

I'm currently running 2 overclocked 6870s on an 1155 Pentium G620 system. I'm using an OCZ ZT 750 Watt power supply. I'm buying a 5970 this week, and I'm worried that my power supply won't support it. So would the OCZ PSU support 1 6870 OC & 1 5970 OC(selling 1 6870 due to the fact that my mobo only has 2 slots for GPUs)?

Mining rig(s): MH/s
2x 5970 @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory ~ 1480MH/s
GTX 570 @ 840MHz Core/1900MHz Memory ~ 129MH/s
Consider donating if I helped: 15E9xBNWWvuURi2LLx8T6cMU1LyckiQntY
The grue lurks in the darkest places of the earth. Its favorite diet is adventurers, but its insatiable appetite is tempered by its fear of light. No grue has ever been seen by the light of day, and few have survived its fearsome jaws to tell the tale.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481255981
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481255981

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481255981
Reply with quote  #2

1481255981
Report to moderator
Avid6eek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 02:34:27 PM
 #2

You shouldn't have an issue.  Do you own a Kill-a-watt unit (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882715001)?  If not I would suggest purchasing one.  It makes tweaking your system to draw less power much easier.

I have 3 x unlocked 6950's generating 1050 Mhash/sec and the whole system is drawing 460w.
someone703
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 05:56:36 PM
 #3

I'm currently running 1 5970 overclocked a little on my only computer (i7-920, got an SSD, 5 hard driver, 6 sticks of RAM, and like 6 case fans - not exactly energy efficient like some dedicated mining rigs people here have) and Kill-a-watt shows me pulling about 460w max or so while mining.

Site I checked says the 6870s pull about 150w so with a 750 you should have a little headroom still after getting your 5970.

Sold To: aggrojosh, FreeMoney (x2), challengeaccepted, the joint, TECHSHARE, BurntSnow, yrral, serp, waterskeer, jduck1987, grue (x2)

Bought From: bcjunkie, newdude, Zakcy, frank90, Chinaski, Cookie_Monster, DandoRealIta, Globes (x2), recursive

Leant To: kais3r (ended up being a scammer), jjzm
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 09:00:21 PM
 #4

Easily.

I'm currently running 1 5970 overclocked a little on my only computer (i7-920, got an SSD, 5 hard drivers, 6 sticks of RAM, and like 6 case fans - not exactly energy efficient like some dedicated mining rigs people here have) and Kill-a-watt shows me pulling about 460w max or so while mining.

Site I checked says the 6870s pull about 150w so with a 750 you should have a little headroom still after getting your 5970.

That's definitely good to here!  Cheesy
Also, I'll look around for a Kill-a-watt. Smiley 

Mining rig(s): MH/s
2x 5970 @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory ~ 1480MH/s
GTX 570 @ 840MHz Core/1900MHz Memory ~ 129MH/s
Consider donating if I helped: 15E9xBNWWvuURi2LLx8T6cMU1LyckiQntY
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 06:32:25 PM
 #5

@humanage  What motherboard do you have?

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
February 19, 2012, 12:46:04 AM
 #6

@humanage  What motherboard do you have?
MSI P67A-G43, sorry for that late response, didn't get a notification for this message.


Edit: Also, I'll only be using a Pentium G620 with 4GB of DDR3 on the mining rig. I'm not sure if that would still be able to pull 2x 6870s running at 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory. :/ Anyone try on the OCZ ZT 750 Watt PSU? I'm currently running a single HD 5970 with an Accellero Extreme cooler.

Mining rig(s): MH/s
2x 5970 @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory ~ 1480MH/s
GTX 570 @ 840MHz Core/1900MHz Memory ~ 129MH/s
Consider donating if I helped: 15E9xBNWWvuURi2LLx8T6cMU1LyckiQntY
joshv06
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
February 19, 2012, 03:51:02 AM
 #7

Just get a KW PSU Shocked

Miner612
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84

FPGA convert


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 06:59:02 AM
 #8

Should be fine.  Unless its like a 6 rail PSU lol

I buy and sell GPUs, most 5850s and 7970s. 
jimzolorenzo@gmail.com  -- Make an offer.
http://myworld.ebay.com/i_buy_5850s  -- current inventory
I have a couple bare bone mining rigs for sale as well.

--------------

I bought silver from [ccliu] 5 star transaction!
I bought silver from [TECSHARE] -- shipping still
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
February 19, 2012, 01:35:03 PM
 #9

Just get a KW PSU Shocked

I'm sorta on a tight budget. :/

Quote
Should be fine.  Unless its like a 6 rail PSU lol
I think it's a single rail. Cheesy

Mining rig(s): MH/s
2x 5970 @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory ~ 1480MH/s
GTX 570 @ 840MHz Core/1900MHz Memory ~ 129MH/s
Consider donating if I helped: 15E9xBNWWvuURi2LLx8T6cMU1LyckiQntY
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
February 20, 2012, 09:54:16 PM
 #10

Self bump. Would my OCZ 750w actually be able to push 2x 5970s at 820MHz Core/300MHz memory? Just confirming.

Mining rig(s): MH/s
2x 5970 @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory ~ 1480MH/s
GTX 570 @ 840MHz Core/1900MHz Memory ~ 129MH/s
Consider donating if I helped: 15E9xBNWWvuURi2LLx8T6cMU1LyckiQntY
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 12:19:01 AM
 #11

Provided you don't waste power by e.g. by CPU mining Litecoins, easily.
A 5970 shouldn't pull more than 250 W with its memory underclocked.
With 120 W for the rest of the system, the PSU load would be 82,7% - not unreasonable for a high quality PSU such as the ZT 750W.

Make sure that the CPU power save options (such as SpeedStep or C1E) are enabled in the BIOS.
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 11:43:06 PM
 #12

Provided you don't waste power by e.g. by CPU mining Litecoins, easily.
A 5970 shouldn't pull more than 250 W with its memory underclocked.
With 120 W for the rest of the system, the PSU load would be 82,7% - not unreasonable for a high quality PSU such as the ZT 750W.

Make sure that the CPU power save options (such as SpeedStep or C1E) are enabled in the BIOS.

Okay, so I got my 2nd 5970 today, running both @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory with the CPU having power savings enabled. No problem with my OCZ ZT 750 Watt handling this, getting 1400mh/s.
Cheesy

Mining rig(s): MH/s
2x 5970 @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory ~ 1480MH/s
GTX 570 @ 840MHz Core/1900MHz Memory ~ 129MH/s
Consider donating if I helped: 15E9xBNWWvuURi2LLx8T6cMU1LyckiQntY
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!