Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2017, 01:55:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 6870 and 5970 on 750 Watt PSU?  (Read 1858 times)
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 12:53:19 PM
 #1

I'm currently running 2 overclocked 6870s on an 1155 Pentium G620 system. I'm using an OCZ ZT 750 Watt power supply. I'm buying a 5970 this week, and I'm worried that my power supply won't support it. So would the OCZ PSU support 1 6870 OC & 1 5970 OC(selling 1 6870 due to the fact that my mobo only has 2 slots for GPUs)?
1506434159
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506434159

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506434159
Reply with quote  #2

1506434159
Report to moderator
1506434159
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506434159

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506434159
Reply with quote  #2

1506434159
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506434159
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506434159

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506434159
Reply with quote  #2

1506434159
Report to moderator
1506434159
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506434159

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506434159
Reply with quote  #2

1506434159
Report to moderator
1506434159
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506434159

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506434159
Reply with quote  #2

1506434159
Report to moderator
Avid6eek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 02:34:27 PM
 #2

You shouldn't have an issue.  Do you own a Kill-a-watt unit (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882715001)?  If not I would suggest purchasing one.  It makes tweaking your system to draw less power much easier.

I have 3 x unlocked 6950's generating 1050 Mhash/sec and the whole system is drawing 460w.
someone703
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 05:56:36 PM
 #3

I'm currently running 1 5970 overclocked a little on my only computer (i7-920, got an SSD, 5 hard driver, 6 sticks of RAM, and like 6 case fans - not exactly energy efficient like some dedicated mining rigs people here have) and Kill-a-watt shows me pulling about 460w max or so while mining.

Site I checked says the 6870s pull about 150w so with a 750 you should have a little headroom still after getting your 5970.

Sold To: aggrojosh, FreeMoney (x2), challengeaccepted, the joint, TECHSHARE, BurntSnow, yrral, serp, waterskeer, jduck1987, grue (x2)

Bought From: bcjunkie, newdude, Zakcy, frank90, Chinaski, Cookie_Monster, DandoRealIta, Globes (x2), recursive

Leant To: kais3r (ended up being a scammer), jjzm
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 09:00:21 PM
 #4

Easily.

I'm currently running 1 5970 overclocked a little on my only computer (i7-920, got an SSD, 5 hard drivers, 6 sticks of RAM, and like 6 case fans - not exactly energy efficient like some dedicated mining rigs people here have) and Kill-a-watt shows me pulling about 460w max or so while mining.

Site I checked says the 6870s pull about 150w so with a 750 you should have a little headroom still after getting your 5970.

That's definitely good to here!  Cheesy
Also, I'll look around for a Kill-a-watt. Smiley 
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 06:32:25 PM
 #5

@humanage  What motherboard do you have?

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64



View Profile
February 19, 2012, 12:46:04 AM
 #6

@humanage  What motherboard do you have?
MSI P67A-G43, sorry for that late response, didn't get a notification for this message.


Edit: Also, I'll only be using a Pentium G620 with 4GB of DDR3 on the mining rig. I'm not sure if that would still be able to pull 2x 6870s running at 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory. :/ Anyone try on the OCZ ZT 750 Watt PSU? I'm currently running a single HD 5970 with an Accellero Extreme cooler.
joshv06
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 743


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 03:51:02 AM
 #7

Just get a KW PSU Shocked


 
         ▄▄█████████▄▄
      ▄█████████████████▄
   ▄████▀            ▀████▄
  █████                █████▄
 ███████████████████████████▄
████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▄
████        ██████        ████
████        ██████        ████
████        ██████        ████
████        ██████        ████
 ████▄      ██████      ▄████
  ▀████     ██████    ▄████▀
    ▀████▄▄▄██████▄▄▄████▀
      ▀▀██████████████▀▀
TIDEX



Miner612
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84

FPGA convert


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 06:59:02 AM
 #8

Should be fine.  Unless its like a 6 rail PSU lol

I buy and sell GPUs, most 5850s and 7970s. 
jimzolorenzo@gmail.com  -- Make an offer.
http://myworld.ebay.com/i_buy_5850s  -- current inventory
I have a couple bare bone mining rigs for sale as well.

--------------

I bought silver from [ccliu] 5 star transaction!
I bought silver from [TECSHARE] -- shipping still
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64



View Profile
February 19, 2012, 01:35:03 PM
 #9

Just get a KW PSU Shocked

I'm sorta on a tight budget. :/

Quote
Should be fine.  Unless its like a 6 rail PSU lol
I think it's a single rail. Cheesy
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64



View Profile
February 20, 2012, 09:54:16 PM
 #10

Self bump. Would my OCZ 750w actually be able to push 2x 5970s at 820MHz Core/300MHz memory? Just confirming.
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 12:19:01 AM
 #11

Provided you don't waste power by e.g. by CPU mining Litecoins, easily.
A 5970 shouldn't pull more than 250 W with its memory underclocked.
With 120 W for the rest of the system, the PSU load would be 82,7% - not unreasonable for a high quality PSU such as the ZT 750W.

Make sure that the CPU power save options (such as SpeedStep or C1E) are enabled in the BIOS.
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 11:43:06 PM
 #12

Provided you don't waste power by e.g. by CPU mining Litecoins, easily.
A 5970 shouldn't pull more than 250 W with its memory underclocked.
With 120 W for the rest of the system, the PSU load would be 82,7% - not unreasonable for a high quality PSU such as the ZT 750W.

Make sure that the CPU power save options (such as SpeedStep or C1E) are enabled in the BIOS.

Okay, so I got my 2nd 5970 today, running both @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory with the CPU having power savings enabled. No problem with my OCZ ZT 750 Watt handling this, getting 1400mh/s.
Cheesy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!