Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 03:36:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Worth mining?  (Read 851 times)
tommywommy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 12:17:41 AM
 #1

Hi, here is my rig

Q6700
2x Vapor X 5850 Factory OCed.

Rig consumes ~ 290-450W depending on usage. Would it be worth mining? I'm not fused about making alot of money just, say $10 a week at current bit coin alue? Is that plausible? What would people recommend. What mining pools should I use?

Thanks
Tommy
1481297775
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297775

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297775
Reply with quote  #2

1481297775
Report to moderator
1481297775
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297775

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297775
Reply with quote  #2

1481297775
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481297775
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297775

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297775
Reply with quote  #2

1481297775
Report to moderator
1481297775
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297775

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297775
Reply with quote  #2

1481297775
Report to moderator
Lazer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 02:32:31 AM
 #2

Hi, here is my rig

Q6700
2x Vapor X 5850 Factory OCed.

Rig consumes ~ 290-450W depending on usage. Would it be worth mining? I'm not fused about making alot of money just, say $10 a week at current bit coin alue? Is that plausible? What would people recommend. What mining pools should I use?

Thanks
Tommy

Sure its worth it, why not?

If you use deepbit, you'll make about 1/2 Bitcoin every day.
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 02:35:41 AM
 #3

So, how to start. What does it take to make $10 a week or what will your hardware/GPU's accomplish in producing Bitcoin?

What are your cards potential?
2 X 5850
First go here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_Hardware_Comparison
This will give you an idea of what others can do with the card you post.

It looks like your card can produce between 240 MH/s - 431 MH/s, of course we like higher numbers.
The average hashrate for all 5850 listed is 342.58 MH/s.
The average of the top 13 is 400.6 MH/s (This is the number you can hope to achieve with better tuning.)

So we can say 1 card has a potential to produce 400 meghashes per second, how many Bitcoins is that?
Go here: http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/calculator.php
In box #2 put in the hash rate of your card or the number you hope to achieve.
Then go here: https://mtgox.com/ (You can choose low, high or average.) I chose average.
Weighted Avg:$5.76598
Now, enter the current price in dollars that 1 BTC is trading for into box #3 and press "Calculate".
Quote
   ______Coins   Dollars
per Day   ฿0.29   $1.68
per Week   ฿2.04   $11.76
per Month   ฿8.87   $51.06

This means that one 5850 card, at the current difficulty rate, could produce $11.76 US per week. If you have 2 cards than that is twice as good. Wink

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
tommywommy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 03:14:44 AM
 #4

Cool. I've downloaded the top miner on deepbit. So do i create an account with them. Which account type should I get? I've gone for steady atm

I've started the miner, selected deepbit entered username and password. Did this twice so I have 2 tabs, select decide:cypress 0-0 and cypress 0-1 for each tab and started. cypress 0-0 is getting 143 and the other 260. Why so low and big gap difference?

Thanks
Thomas
joulesbeef
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


moOo


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 03:18:15 AM
 #5

ignore this





mooo for rent
tommywommy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 03:20:14 AM
 #6

i think the gpu core clock is in idle mode (stuck at 400MHz)
tommywommy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 03:34:29 AM
 #7

AND
also can't work out how to connect works. i enter email and password for deepbit in my miner, but where do i enter password to worker?
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 03:45:32 AM
 #8

AND
also can't work out how to connect works. i enter email and password for deepbit in my miner, but where do i enter password to worker?

In your miner, enter your worker name and password, not the email and password for your Deepbit account.

abeaulieu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 04:36:12 PM
 #9

I've started the miner, selected deepbit entered username and password. Did this twice so I have 2 tabs, select decide:cypress 0-0 and cypress 0-1 for each tab and started. cypress 0-0 is getting 143 and the other 260. Why so low and big gap difference?

You need to check your clock speeds. So find a GPU overclocking utility (I like Sapphire's Trixx application) and change the clocks. Use that link that check_status provided (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_Hardware_Comparison) as a reference for what other people are getting. So you can probably start at 900 MHz for your core clock on the 5870's. The memory clock can eventually be reduced to lower the heat created (you don't need a fast memory clock to Mine).

You also need to pay attention to which miner you're using. I'm assuming you're using GUI-miner? When you create a new miner you select what type to use, I would recommend Phoenix for your setup (but look at the spreadsheet can someone might have found a better fit one for your cards). Next, you want to add flags to your miner. This is actually very important so you can control how the mining is done and what kernal it is using. For starters try pasting this string in the the Flags field and see what you get for numbers: -k phatk WORKSIZE=128 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=13 FASTLOOP=false

Play around with it and let us know what you get. Good luck.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!