Bitcoin Forum
May 04, 2024, 09:30:58 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: I do not want blockchain data stored under Application Data folder, how to  (Read 41720 times)
viboracecata (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1000


Varanida : Fair & Transparent Digital Ecosystem


View Profile
February 14, 2012, 07:56:08 AM
 #1

I found that the folder named "Bitcoin" in "Application Data" is so big, and my C disk has not that much volume to hold it, I want to place them else where? How can I achieve this? I use client v0.4, thanks. 

iBuilding A Better Interneti
━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━ ━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━

 
 █b
▐█=
║█
██                                         ¡▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄┌
██M                                  ╒▄▄▄▄█▀    ▂▂ ╙▀▀▆▄
██▌                                ╓, ,██╨      ▀▀▀    ╜▀█▌
███                                ▀▀██╙     ▄▄▄▄▄      ╓█L
█ █▌                            ▄▄▄▄█▀          └▀▀▀▀█Φ█▀"
█▌ █▄                            ██▀           ▄█▀
▐▌  ▀▌                       ▀▄██▀            ▄▀
▐█     ▂▂▂                ▄  ▄█▀           ▄▄▀
 █▌  ╙▀▀▀▀▀█▄         ▄   ███▀     ▁▂▃▄▄▄█▀▀
  █▄        █▌    █▄  ██▄█▀        ▔▔╙▀▐█
   █▄       █▌ ▀▀████▀▀▀               ▐▌
    ▀█     █▀                          ▐▌
     ╙█▄  ▄▌                        ╓█ ▐█
       └▀██  ╓▄▄µ╓▄▄µ            ,▄█▀┘  █▌    ▄▄ ╓▄▄µ
         ██▄█▀▀███▀▀█▄       ╓▄▄█▀▀      ▀█▄█▀▀▀██▄╙▀█▄▄
          ▀╙    ▀▀▀  ▀▀▀  ▀▀▀▀╙           `      "▀▀  └╙
You Can See Me Now, Hi :}
VARANIDA

 
 
 
 
               ▄██   ▄███▄
              ▄███████  ██
              ██    ▀████▀
             ██
  ▄▄  ▄▄█████████████▄▄  ▄▄
▄███████████████████████████▄
█████████████████████████████
▀███████    █████    ███████▀
  ▀█████    █████    █████▀
   ███████████████████████
    █████▄  ▀▀▀▀▀  ▄█████
     ▀█████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████▀
        ▀▀█████████▀▀
|Hello Again
GWhitePaperG
GAnn ThreadG
1714858258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714858258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714858258
Reply with quote  #2

1714858258
Report to moderator
1714858258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714858258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714858258
Reply with quote  #2

1714858258
Report to moderator
1714858258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714858258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714858258
Reply with quote  #2

1714858258
Report to moderator
"In a nutshell, the network works like a distributed timestamp server, stamping the first transaction to spend a coin. It takes advantage of the nature of information being easy to spread but hard to stifle." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714858258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714858258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714858258
Reply with quote  #2

1714858258
Report to moderator
Timo Y
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1001


bitcoin - the aerogel of money


View Profile
February 14, 2012, 12:35:26 PM
 #2

This is what I have done on Windows 7 using a symbolic link:

1. Open C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\

2. Move the file blk0001.dat (the large file that stores the block chain) to a different disk, eg. D:\bitcoin-blockchain\

3. Run Command Prompt as Administrator (Accessories>Command Promt) and right click "Run as administrator". CAREFUL! mistyping a command here could damage your OS, so make sure you have backed up all important files before doing this.

4. Go to Bitcoin Folder

Code:
cd C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\

5. Execute mklink commnand, eg.

Code:
mklink blk0001.dat D:\bitcoin-blockchain\blk0001.dat


This replaces your blk0001.dat file with an identically-named symbolic link file.

Good luck.

GPG ID: FA868D77   bitcoin-otc:forever-d
CIYAM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1075


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
February 14, 2012, 12:46:16 PM
 #3

If you are using and older version of Windows with NTFS then I can send you an "ln" executable (or the source code for it in c++) that I whipped up years ago (just calls the API function to make a hard link - note that being a hard link the other logical drive must be on the same physical hard drive).


Cheers,

Ian.

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 14, 2012, 02:29:10 PM
Last edit: February 14, 2012, 08:07:53 PM by jake262144
 #4

On Windows Vista or later, the whole %appdata%\Bitcoin directory can be replaced with a symbolic directory link:
(0) Make sure the bitcoin client is not running.
(1) Move the %appdata%\Bitcoin directory to its target location (e.g. d:\bitcoinData)
(2) Run the command prompt as root and issue the command mklink /d "c:\users\<your_user_name_here>\appdata\roaming\bitcoin" "d:\bitcoinData"
done!

This allows you to keep bitcoin client data anywhere, e.g. on a secure local fileserver.

EDIT::You should update your client to 5.2, there is no benefit in using the outdated version. Great many bugs were fixed since 4.0.

If you are using and older version of Windows with NTFS then I can send you an "ln" executable (or the source code for it in c++) that I whipped up years ago (just calls the API function to make a hard link - note that being a hard link the other logical drive must be on the same physical hard drive)...
Had you tried that yourself you'd know that bitcoin client crashes when using hard-linked directories.
Try your own tool or grab Sysinternals Junction from Microsoft and for crying out loud test your advice before posting.
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1002



View Profile
February 14, 2012, 03:05:51 PM
 #5

How about just moving the whole folder to another drive and start the bitcoin client/server with the
Code:
-datadir=<new_data_dir_path>
option set?

The following link is mandatory for someone running bitcoin on their computers https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 14, 2012, 03:20:46 PM
Last edit: February 14, 2012, 03:55:27 PM by jake262144
 #6

How about just moving the whole folder to another drive and start the bitcoin client/server with the
Code:
-datadir=<new_data_dir_path>
option set? ...
This seems a bit of a band-aid to me as the modified path has to be specified at every start. Should OP use an unmodified shortcut (like the one in Start Menu) or launch the executable manually, the client will generate a new %appdata%\bitcoin directory.

Still, in dire need the -datadir parameter can be used with great success. Good thing you mentioned it psy.
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1002



View Profile
February 14, 2012, 03:52:37 PM
 #7

Modify the shortcut that starts the client so it has the option and just click 2 times to open the app as usual?

If in windows, right click the Bitcoin shortcut icon and choose Properties.
On the Target field append -datadir=<dir> after the path to bitcoin that is already there(don't forget to enclose the new dir path in quotes if it contain spaces.
Save.
Click the icon and open Bitcoin with your new dir, now and forever.

Incredible how you say that using a software feature is a band-aid and at the same time suggest symlinks and registry changes to achieve the same result...
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 14, 2012, 04:01:56 PM
 #8

Click the icon and open Bitcoin with your new dir, now and forever.
Provided only this modified shortcut is ever used.
Should an unmodified shortcut or the executable itself be invoked, this approach will fail.
An installer might overwrite the start menu shortcut during upgrade.

I'm not complicating things, I'm trying to point out potential problems.

I removed the line suggesting registry changes as I said this was a total overkill.
I can't see anything wrong with symlinks, that's a great feature of the new versions of Windows.
Then again, I agree that an approach requiring some command prompt action might be considered a bit geeky by the non-techie crowd.
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1002



View Profile
February 14, 2012, 04:08:22 PM
 #9

The user just needs to modify the shortcut every time he updates the app.
If he's not capable of (remembering to) perform such a simple administration task he shouldn't be updating it on the first place Wink
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 14, 2012, 04:15:55 PM
 #10

Ideally, path to the data files should be accessible in the client via the Settings -> Options menu.

The beauty of using a symlink is that it won't ever be broken by reinstalling the client. It is paid for by the necessity to type a few dozen characters into the elevated command prompt.
The biggest benefit of modifying shortcuts is simplicity. This approach is less bulletproof.
Both are acceptable solutions, enough said.

A bright side of messing with the registry... ugh, there is no bright side to that Cheesy
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1079


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 14, 2012, 04:22:21 PM
 #11

Ideally, path to the data files should be accessible in the client via the Settings -> Options menu.

Bingo and that setting should be stored in the bitcoin.conf (which should exist in all instances even if just set to defaults).


No problem with app data folder having config file but given:
a) the size of the blockchain
b) the need to keep secure and backup the wallet

the data folder should be a user defined option.

Then again I think the wallet should be separated from the daemon completely.  The wallet just being a front end that handles the GUI, keeps the wallet.dat file secure and "talks" to the daemon for everything else.
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 101

Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
February 14, 2012, 04:50:31 PM
 #12

This does not help with the OP's problem directly, but the Bitcoin client should be split into two parts-- (1) a daemon that maintains a shared block chain and relays transactions for all users on the computer. (2) a wallet management program that users have to manage their wallet(s), send money etc.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
CIYAM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1075


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2012, 06:12:46 AM
 #13

If you are using and older version of Windows with NTFS then I can send you an "ln" executable (or the source code for it in c++) that I whipped up years ago (just calls the API function to make a hard link - note that being a hard link the other logical drive must be on the same physical hard drive)...
Had you tried that yourself you'd know that bitcoin client crashes when using hard-linked directories.
Try your own tool or grab Sysinternals Junction from Microsoft and for crying out loud test your advice before posting.

Well I only mentioned a tool rather than what to do with it actually - the advice I would have given (if he was interested in the tool at all) would be to hardlink to the large file rather than to a directory and I *know* Bitcoin works with that because that is how I use it.

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
viboracecata (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1000


Varanida : Fair & Transparent Digital Ecosystem


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 07:34:23 AM
 #14

This is what I have done on Windows 7 using a symbolic link:

1. Open C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\

2. Move the file blk0001.dat (the large file that stores the block chain) to a different disk, eg. D:\bitcoin-blockchain\

3. Run Command Prompt as Administrator (Accessories>Command Promt) and right click "Run as administrator". CAREFUL! mistyping a command here could damage your OS, so make sure you have backed up all important files before doing this.

4. Go to Bitcoin Folder

Code:
cd C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\

5. Execute mklink commnand, eg.

Code:
mklink blk0001.dat D:\bitcoin-blockchain\blk0001.dat


This replaces your blk0001.dat file with an identically-named symbolic link file.

Good luck.

thank you so much, and it's helpful to me.

iBuilding A Better Interneti
━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━ ━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━

 
 █b
▐█=
║█
██                                         ¡▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄┌
██M                                  ╒▄▄▄▄█▀    ▂▂ ╙▀▀▆▄
██▌                                ╓, ,██╨      ▀▀▀    ╜▀█▌
███                                ▀▀██╙     ▄▄▄▄▄      ╓█L
█ █▌                            ▄▄▄▄█▀          └▀▀▀▀█Φ█▀"
█▌ █▄                            ██▀           ▄█▀
▐▌  ▀▌                       ▀▄██▀            ▄▀
▐█     ▂▂▂                ▄  ▄█▀           ▄▄▀
 █▌  ╙▀▀▀▀▀█▄         ▄   ███▀     ▁▂▃▄▄▄█▀▀
  █▄        █▌    █▄  ██▄█▀        ▔▔╙▀▐█
   █▄       █▌ ▀▀████▀▀▀               ▐▌
    ▀█     █▀                          ▐▌
     ╙█▄  ▄▌                        ╓█ ▐█
       └▀██  ╓▄▄µ╓▄▄µ            ,▄█▀┘  █▌    ▄▄ ╓▄▄µ
         ██▄█▀▀███▀▀█▄       ╓▄▄█▀▀      ▀█▄█▀▀▀██▄╙▀█▄▄
          ▀╙    ▀▀▀  ▀▀▀  ▀▀▀▀╙           `      "▀▀  └╙
You Can See Me Now, Hi :}
VARANIDA

 
 
 
 
               ▄██   ▄███▄
              ▄███████  ██
              ██    ▀████▀
             ██
  ▄▄  ▄▄█████████████▄▄  ▄▄
▄███████████████████████████▄
█████████████████████████████
▀███████    █████    ███████▀
  ▀█████    █████    █████▀
   ███████████████████████
    █████▄  ▀▀▀▀▀  ▄█████
     ▀█████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████▀
        ▀▀█████████▀▀
|Hello Again
GWhitePaperG
GAnn ThreadG
viboracecata (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1000


Varanida : Fair & Transparent Digital Ecosystem


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 07:46:09 AM
 #15

Again, thank you all above for your great patience and passion on solving the trouble.

In fact, I consider there will be some commands or option settings to help me to achieve this aim, but seems it's not that easy, for us, engineers, it's not so bad to do those operations, but I think it would not be simple for one not familiar with computers, maybe in the future the words with btc_artist can be considered by the dev team.

thanks.

iBuilding A Better Interneti
━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━ ━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━

 
 █b
▐█=
║█
██                                         ¡▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄┌
██M                                  ╒▄▄▄▄█▀    ▂▂ ╙▀▀▆▄
██▌                                ╓, ,██╨      ▀▀▀    ╜▀█▌
███                                ▀▀██╙     ▄▄▄▄▄      ╓█L
█ █▌                            ▄▄▄▄█▀          └▀▀▀▀█Φ█▀"
█▌ █▄                            ██▀           ▄█▀
▐▌  ▀▌                       ▀▄██▀            ▄▀
▐█     ▂▂▂                ▄  ▄█▀           ▄▄▀
 █▌  ╙▀▀▀▀▀█▄         ▄   ███▀     ▁▂▃▄▄▄█▀▀
  █▄        █▌    █▄  ██▄█▀        ▔▔╙▀▐█
   █▄       █▌ ▀▀████▀▀▀               ▐▌
    ▀█     █▀                          ▐▌
     ╙█▄  ▄▌                        ╓█ ▐█
       └▀██  ╓▄▄µ╓▄▄µ            ,▄█▀┘  █▌    ▄▄ ╓▄▄µ
         ██▄█▀▀███▀▀█▄       ╓▄▄█▀▀      ▀█▄█▀▀▀██▄╙▀█▄▄
          ▀╙    ▀▀▀  ▀▀▀  ▀▀▀▀╙           `      "▀▀  └╙
You Can See Me Now, Hi :}
VARANIDA

 
 
 
 
               ▄██   ▄███▄
              ▄███████  ██
              ██    ▀████▀
             ██
  ▄▄  ▄▄█████████████▄▄  ▄▄
▄███████████████████████████▄
█████████████████████████████
▀███████    █████    ███████▀
  ▀█████    █████    █████▀
   ███████████████████████
    █████▄  ▀▀▀▀▀  ▄█████
     ▀█████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████▀
        ▀▀█████████▀▀
|Hello Again
GWhitePaperG
GAnn ThreadG
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720
Merit: 525



View Profile WWW
September 10, 2012, 05:31:12 AM
 #16

I've had to google this twice over the past several months, and was surprised both times to not find this in the wiki. Is this still the best way to accomplish this? Should it be added? (Here, probably.) I would prefer someone more familiar with the workings of windows to write it up (see first sentence for my lack of credentials on the subject).

tinman951
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 16, 2012, 07:05:13 PM
 #17

What would I put into the bitcoin.conf file to change it to look for the blockchain in H:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin  ?  The wiki doesn't mention it at all.

Free micro bitcoins: http://www.bitvisitor.com/?ref=1DFw1VncjVhqdg6GWoQ6Qtc5ncR5RHXxfP
Donate BTC: 18b94MMTWd7bWaUWcq7VHmizgswP2dK6fM
🏰 TradeFortress 🏰
Bitcoin Veteran
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1043

👻


View Profile
September 21, 2012, 06:22:39 AM
 #18

What would I put into the bitcoin.conf file to change it to look for the blockchain in H:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin  ?  The wiki doesn't mention it at all.
I don't think you can change that?
Chaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 21, 2012, 09:01:00 AM
 #19

An option in the GUI is a must I think.  Blockchain just hit 3GB and is increasing rapidly....

1FsQJtY4vbvbkJj4Pd869rDcbFmu11RHge
tinman951
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 22, 2012, 12:56:54 AM
 #20

I tried Timo Y's idea  but I have three .dat files:
blk0001.dat
blk0002.dat
blkindex.dat

and I wasn't sure how they would work out. 

Free micro bitcoins: http://www.bitvisitor.com/?ref=1DFw1VncjVhqdg6GWoQ6Qtc5ncR5RHXxfP
Donate BTC: 18b94MMTWd7bWaUWcq7VHmizgswP2dK6fM
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!