Bitcoin Forum
May 07, 2024, 03:58:12 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Warning: One or more bitcointalk.org users have reported that they strongly believe that the creator of this topic is a scammer. (Login to see the detailed trust ratings.) While the bitcointalk.org administration does not verify such claims, you should proceed with extreme caution.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Running 11.04, but With Issues. Need Help - Pictures Included  (Read 1521 times)
Beaflag VonRathburg (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 15, 2012, 12:11:47 AM
 #1

I have two combos running; 11.04, CGMiner 2.2.1, Catalyst 11.6, and SDK2.4. I'll post my installation process as I noticed after certain steps that the issues began. I used a combination of three different installation guides to get everything to work.

1. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=44493.0
2. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=22855.0
3. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.700

Installation process:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get install libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev lib32gcc1 libc6-i386 lib32gcc1 libc6-i386 dkms openssh-server screen

Install Catalyst 11.6:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=22855.0

SDK2.4:

sudo su
 cd /opt
  (replace /home/ubuntu/ with wherever you put the file: )
 tar -xvzf /home/ubuntu/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64.tgz

 cd AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/
 cp -pv lib/x86_64/* /usr/lib/
 rsync -avl include/CL/ /usr/include/CL/
 tar -xvzf icd-registration.tgz
 rsync -avl etc/OpenCL/ /etc/OpenCL/
 ldconfig
 sync
 shutdown -r now

Install CGMiner 2.2.1:

Install CG

Code:

cd ~
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-2.0.3.tar.bz2
sudo tar xvjf cgminer-2.0.3.tar.bz2


- Do the following before configuring, (from readme in cgminer-2.0.3/ADL_SDK):
Please insert AMD ADL files adl_defines.h adl_sdk.h adl_structures.h here.
(http://developer.amd.com/gpu/adlsdk/Pages/default.aspx)
accept agreement and download, save file (default location)

Code:

cd ~/Downloads
unzip ADL_SDK_3.0.zip
sudo cp include/*.h ~/cgminer-2.0.3/ADL_SDK/

- Then configure:

Code:

cd ~/cgminer-2.0.3/
CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure

You should get this:
 OpenCL...............: FOUND. GPU mining support enabled
  ADL..................: SDK found, GPU monitoring support enabled

- Then make:

Code:

make

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I used these three guides to get my 11.04 setup to work just fine. I am having some major issues though.

1. I mine from a wireless network and my connectivity is very good. I rarely have issues, but they are there every once in a while. I am not able to connect to my wireless network unless I create a keyring password. After putting in the keyring password my wireless automatically connects. Every time I am asked to reconnect to my network though I have to reinput my wifi password. I would like to get rid of both and have my wireless network automatically connect.

2. After I installed catalyst 11.6 I lost both the top (rat menu bar) and bottom (quick start icon) menus from the GUI.

3. After installing SDK 2.4 I've been having all sorts of shutdown issues. Without having the top or bottom menus I have to shutdown and restart the computer from a terminal window. I tend to use sudo shutdown -r now or sudo shutdown now. Using those commands gets me to maintence mode. From there I use the shutdown command code again.

That takes me to the recovery menu: https://i.imgur.com/eJ7Mb.jpg

Once I hit cancel I get: https://i.imgur.com/CI2N0.jpg?6714

I'll then try to use the shudown command. It gives me: https://i.imgur.com/y2Rjh.jpg

That just causes the shutdown loop to restart and I end up at the recovery menu again. I usually just turn it off with a screwdriver on the motherboard pins.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Problems this causes:

No longer having the bars at the top and the bottom of the screen makes it difficult to connect to my wireless network that I mine from. Any sort of connection issue has to be resolved with a restart which combined with the other issues forces me to turn it off with a screwdriver.

Goals:

- Restore top and bottom menus to the GUI
- Automatically connect to wireless network without prompting me to input something
- Be able to shutdown the machines with a command rather than a screwdriver.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My machines are running, but these any sort of slight issue in turn takes much more time to resolve due to these problems. I am a Linux noob and any help would be greatly appreciated.

1715054292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715054292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715054292
Reply with quote  #2

1715054292
Report to moderator
"I'm sure that in 20 years there will either be very large transaction volume or no volume." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715054292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715054292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715054292
Reply with quote  #2

1715054292
Report to moderator
1715054292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715054292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715054292
Reply with quote  #2

1715054292
Report to moderator
vampire
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 15, 2012, 01:10:10 AM
 #2

For wifi:

Set the connection available to all users, I haven seen other issues.
Beaflag VonRathburg (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 15, 2012, 01:43:29 AM
 #3

For wifi:

Set the connection available to all users, I haven seen other issues.

Thanks. Without access to the bar at the top that the wireless icon is how would I do that in a terminal window or is there a simpler solution?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!