Bitcoin Forum
January 23, 2017, 02:49:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: What miner do you use?  (Read 5764 times)
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 01:51:09 PM
#21

I need some help guys. When i click the cgminer exe and enter my url user and password it starts mining. When i click on the settings.bat file i created the box pops up and then disappears. I did add :port8332 to the url. I hear entering your info every time is the hard way and using settings.bat file is the old way. So im kinda wondering, which is the new easy way?

config file.

I assume you are on windows.

1) Open command line.  
2) Start cgminer w/ minimal parameters.  something like:
Code:
cgminer -o (url:port) -u (username) -p (password)
3) once cgminer launches press S (for settings, and then C (for config file).  You can leave filename blank and press [ENTER].
4) You now have a file named cgminer.conf in the cgminer folder.  
5) Modify that file to modify any parameters you want (backup pools, clocks, fan speed, temps, etc) and save.
6) In the future to start cgminer just double click cgminer (it loads cgminer.conf by default if one is present in the same folder).

You can also write a config file by hand (there is an example in example.conf) but steps 1 to 4 are easier/faster.

Warning: the generated config file may have invalid entries.  

Example:
Code:
"gpu-vddc" : 0.000
that line is trying to set voltage to 0 volts.  Obviously not going to work.  If you want to set a custom voltage you can change the line otherwise just delete it.

Goat says: "Bitcoin is NOT Illegal in Thailand. There is no law against Bitcoin in Thailand!"
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1485182973
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485182973

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485182973
Reply with quote  #2

1485182973
Report to moderator
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
April 05, 2012, 02:02:12 PM
#22

OK i will try again later tonight - TY.
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
April 16, 2012, 03:37:32 AM
#23

I finally had time to play with cgminer. My 5830 hash went from 272K with poclbm to 320K with cgminer. I created a config file and noticed a bunch of commands. How many of these tags are necessary? I would like to start with as few as possible and add more as i go. What here can i get rid of? Any other useful tags i should know about? I heard there is one that will restart a gpu after it fails. That would be nice to have in my config file. I also noticed the OC tags. I have been OC with trixx and would like to use cgminer instead. For gpu engine and memclock why is it a bunch of 0's? Im running at 1050/300. Sorry for nub questions i just started playing with this and after seeing such a huge improvement in my hash im eager to learn more.


"intensity" : "d,d,d,d",
"vectors" : "2,2,2,2",
"worksize" : "128,128,128,128",
"kernel" : "diablo,diablo,diablo,diablo",
"gpu-engine" : "0-0,0-0,0-0,0-0",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85,0-85,0-85,0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "0,0,0,0",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0,0,0,0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0,0,0,0",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000,0.000,0.000,0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95,95,95",
"temp-overheat" : "85,85,85,85",
"temp-target" : "75,75,75,75",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"retry-pause" : "5",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
dirtycat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455



View Profile
April 16, 2012, 03:43:35 AM
#24

cgminer ftw!

poop!
Brunic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633



View Profile
April 16, 2012, 04:19:01 AM
#25

I finally had time to play with cgminer. My 5830 hash went from 272K with poclbm to 320K with cgminer. I created a config file and noticed a bunch of commands. How many of these tags are necessary? I would like to start with as few as possible and add more as i go. What here can i get rid of? Any other useful tags i should know about? I heard there is one that will restart a gpu after it fails. That would be nice to have in my config file. I also noticed the OC tags. I have been OC with trixx and would like to use cgminer instead. For gpu engine and memclock why is it a bunch of 0's? Im running at 1050/300. Sorry for nub questions i just started playing with this and after seeing such a huge improvement in my hash im eager to learn more.


"intensity" : "d,9,9,9",
"kernel" : "diablo",
"gpu-engine" : "800-1050,800-1050,800-1050,800-1050",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85,0-85,0-85,0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "300,300,300,300",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95,95,95",
"temp-overheat" : "85,85,85,85",
"temp-target" : "75,75,75,75",


Here you go, it's probably the bare minimum without removing critical options.
*Intensity: The intensity at which the GPU receive work. For your first card (the one on which you plug your monitor), always use "d" except if you like having lag. For the other cards, 9 is usually fine, but if you have problems, experiment between 4 and 9.
*Kernel: The kernel you want. I think it's phatk by default, so you need to keep it if you want diablo.
*gpu-memclock: The memory clock. Usually 300 mhz is fine, but you can experiment. Some video cards refuse to go less than GPUClock - 125 mhz.
*temp-cutoff: If a GPU goes over, cgminer kills it.
*temp-overheat: cgminer will do everything to reduce the temp
*temp-target: cgminer will play with your values to keep that GPU temp

And now it's interesting.
gpu-engine and gpu-fan are written this way: 0-100
First number is the lower value you want.
Second number is the highest value you want.

If I set my gpu-fan this way: 0-80
cgminer will adjust the value between 0% and 80% of the power of the fan to keep the temp-target (as of right now, it's 75).
Same thing for gpu-engine. If I set 725-850, it gives cgminer the right to adjust the gpu-engine in that margin. As for your situation, you could try something like 800-1050. I assume 800 is the stock clock of you card.

It's a way to control the temp of your GPU automatically.

For the auto-restart of a GPU, cgminer will do it automatically. The only time cgminer will not auto-restart is when a GPU dies (written DEAD in cgminer), and at that point, you need to reboot the computer.

Hopes it help.
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
April 16, 2012, 04:28:43 AM
#26

Awesome, thanks for the tips. Cant wait to play with it some more. I feel like such a nub for using poclbm for so long.   Cheesy
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
April 16, 2012, 04:49:29 AM
#27

When i change my config to this cgminer ask me to provide login information instead of loading it automatically. Do i need all those other tags or just a few?


{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "http://deepbit.net:8332",
      "user" : "XXXX",
      "pass" : "XXXX"
   }
],

"intensity" : "d,9,9,9",
"kernel" : "diablo",
"gpu-engine" : "800-1050,800-1050,800-1050,800-1050",
"gpu-memclock" : "300,300,300,300",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95,95,95",
"temp-target" : "65,65,65,65",
}
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 16, 2012, 06:36:09 AM
#28

When i change my config to this cgminer ask me to provide login information instead of loading it automatically. Do i need all those other tags or just a few?


{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "http://deepbit.net:8332",
      "user" : "XXXX",
      "pass" : "XXXX"
   }
],

"intensity" : "d,9,9,9",
"kernel" : "diablo",
"gpu-engine" : "800-1050,800-1050,800-1050,800-1050",
"gpu-memclock" : "300,300,300,300",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95,95,95",
"temp-target" : "65,65,65,65",
}
That means it has failed to load the config  file because it's corrupt. Get rid of the last comma.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
April 16, 2012, 07:09:52 AM
#29

LOL its funny how one wrong character can screw things up.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 16, 2012, 01:32:47 PM
#30

LOL its funny how one wrong character can screw things up.

If you notice that in the future (or any unexpected results) you can get detailed error messages by forcing the loading of config file.
Code:
cgminer -c cgminer.conf
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
May 18, 2012, 08:35:07 AM
#31

Are there any settings besides intensity that can increase my hash?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2012, 09:38:57 AM
#32

Are there any settings besides intensity that can increase my hash?
Only the amount of engine overclock, and your SDK choice. I've gone out of my way to try and make all the defaults as close to maximum hashrate as possible given the working environment.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Nyaaan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2012, 12:52:37 PM
#33

Are there any settings besides intensity that can increase my hash?

Get more GPUs.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
May 23, 2012, 08:13:30 PM
#34

"temp-target" : "65,65,65,65",

Are there any settings besides intensity that can increase my hash?

Lowering your voltages? lower V = less power = less heat = less throttling = possibly more MH/s? I know this was the case for my 5850 when it had not-quite-so-optimal cooling.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302


󮀓1刎


View Profile
May 24, 2012, 05:14:22 AM
#35

I'm a big fan of Diablominer, mostly because it "just works" for multi-card systems, recognizes all of 'em, and does it's thing well.

I've found it's the best performing of all the available miners I've tried so far.

When I'm gaming on my 6970 workstation, I'll use Phoenix-1.7.3 at aggression 4 to mine in the background with no negative performance impact on my gaming experience whatsoever, and pulling ~220Mhash/S whilst playing Diablo 3.

I love how CGMiner allows me to tweak card parameters right in the software, but the hashing performance just isn't there for me vs DiabloMiner (CGMiner does ~10-20Mhash/S less for me for some-odd reason using Catalyst 12.3 vs DiabloMiner)

I do, however, use CGMiner to drive my BFL Single and it works beautifully !

For tweaking my 5K and 6K cards, I'll use Clocktweak.exe (available here on the forums for 0.2 BTC IIRC) in a batch file, and hope it gets updated to support the 7K series as well (Using CCC in the meantime for my 7K rigs)
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!