Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 12:50:04 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: openCL problems  (Read 2993 times)
Damsho
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
February 28, 2012, 08:00:01 PM
 #1

Hello there!

I've searched for this the whole day already but can't find the solution..

My GPU is a HD 6870 reinstalled the computer and installed all the drivers.
I also installed the driver update..

But my GUIMiner is still giving me the message No openCL device.
I also reinstalled the GPU already but no effect..

Hardware info:
-Recom Voeding Power Engine 600 Plus 600W
-Kingston 1x2GB, DDR3 SDRAM, PC10666, CL9
-AMD Sempron 145 2.80GHz 1MB AM3 Box
-ASRock N68-VS3 UCC nForce 630a, SATA300 RAID
-Asus Videokaart PCI-e Radeon HD6870 DirectCU 1GB 2xDVI/2xDP

Can someone help me out?!

Selling Earphone's and iPad case to get more hashing power!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74589.0
1481115004
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481115004

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481115004
Reply with quote  #2

1481115004
Report to moderator
1481115004
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481115004

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481115004
Reply with quote  #2

1481115004
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481115004
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481115004

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481115004
Reply with quote  #2

1481115004
Report to moderator
matthewh3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
February 28, 2012, 08:01:21 PM
 #2

Have you installed the SDK?

Damsho
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
February 28, 2012, 08:43:05 PM
 #3

Yes installed SDK 2.0 and still not working..

Selling Earphone's and iPad case to get more hashing power!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74589.0
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 08:59:13 PM
 #4

Yes installed SDK 2.0 and still not working..

2.0?  Sure about that?
Damsho
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
February 28, 2012, 09:10:46 PM
 #5

Yes I'm pretty sure about that.. Check the screen picture.

http://imageshack.us/f/715/screenuf.jpg/

Selling Earphone's and iPad case to get more hashing power!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74589.0
neo_rage
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
February 28, 2012, 09:35:25 PM
 #6

Just reinstall drivers. I got same situation in past, and reinstalling was helped.

Damsho
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
February 28, 2012, 09:44:55 PM
 #7

Gonna try that again now. Should I after deleting them download the latest drivers from the internet? Or should I start installing from CD and then update?

Selling Earphone's and iPad case to get more hashing power!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74589.0
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 10:02:45 PM
 #8

Yes I'm pretty sure about that.. Check the screen picture.

http://imageshack.us/f/715/screenuf.jpg/

That has nothing to do with OpenCL.   That is .NET.   Smiley

Look over on the upper right on GPU-Z where OpenCL is unchecked.  You don't have ANY OpenCL SKD/runtime installed.


You can get it as part of drivers or separately from AMD website.  You don't want SDK 2.6.  That means don't install drivers (until you learn how to only install driver not SDK) 11.12 or higher.
Damsho
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 03:40:50 PM
 #9

I can't get it done.. is there anyone that would like to help me trough teamviewer?

Selling Earphone's and iPad case to get more hashing power!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74589.0
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 04:01:22 PM
 #10

Uninstall ALL ATI software, restart.
Install http://www2.ati.com/drivers/hotfix/catalyst_11.11_hotfixes/amd_catalyst_11.11c_windows_vista_7.exe
Restart.

That should do it, anything else is a problem with how you are using Guiminer, such as selecting the proper GPU and mining kernel.

Damsho
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 04:02:02 PM
 #11

Does that download support windows XP?

Selling Earphone's and iPad case to get more hashing power!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74589.0
Damsho
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 04:37:09 PM
 #12

Argh... did what you said still not working.. I offer 0,3 BTC for the one who solves my problem through teamviewer!

Selling Earphone's and iPad case to get more hashing power!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74589.0
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 04:59:01 PM
 #13

Does that download support windows XP?
As the file name implies, that is ATI Catalyst 11.11c for Vista and Windows 7; here is the link to the Windows XP driver (which includes SDK 2.5 and is all you need): http://www2.ati.com/drivers/hotfix/catalyst_11.11_hotfixes/amd_catalyst_11.11c_windows_xp.exe

"Uninstall first" also means uninstalling all other ATI software including any other SDKs, which may only have uninstall links in the start menu, not in the control panel "add or remove programs".

After installing, your GPU is normally the first OpenCL device, but if you have onboard video + a compatible CPU, the GPU card might be OpenCL device 0, 1, or 2, which you will need to specify in the miner.

Damsho
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 06:57:56 PM
 #14

Ok this is odd..

The steps I took:
1. Uninstall all ATI software including other SDKs
2. Restart
3. Insert the driver CD installed the driver
4. Restart
5. Download that ATI Catalyst 11.11c for windows XP
6. Installed it
7. Restart
8. Tryed to launch GUIminer

AGAIN error that there are no openCL devices..

How can this happen.. I installed this card while ago in another system there it worked fine with GUIminer..

Selling Earphone's and iPad case to get more hashing power!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74589.0
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 10:02:46 PM
 #15


The steps I took:
1. Uninstall all ATI software including other SDKs
2. Restart
3. Insert the driver CD installed the driver
4. Restart
5. Download that ATI Catalyst 11.11c for windows XP
6. Installed it
7. Restart
8. Tryed to launch GUIminer
You made up step #3! The linked download IS the driver, whatever is on the CD is going to be years old, and is what you were uninstalling. When you restart after uninstalling the old drivers and get the wizard prompts, you just need to cancel them.

One thing that is so obvious to most but may have been missed: disable the onboard video in the BIOS (Advanced->Primary Graphics Adapter->PCI Express). Plug the monitor into the GPU card, not the motherboard.

I hesitate to post this, since it has even more steps, but if you still have problems, here's a post I made about how to clean up all your old ATI stuff and fix your driver install: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=63616.msg745198#msg745198; install the XP driver I linked above instead of the Windows 7 driver.

Damsho
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 10:07:03 PM
 #16

Thanks for your reply mate will look into that tomorrow!

Selling Earphone's and iPad case to get more hashing power!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74589.0
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 10:21:31 PM
 #17

Thanks for your reply mate will look into that tomorrow!

Don't worry.  I thought I was fairly proficient with computers until I learned about Bitcoin and tried to start mining.  It took me between 3-10 hours to get myself up and running (depending on if you take into account all the Bitcoin research I did immediately prior to setting up my miner).

This stuff isn't easy, and anybody on this forum who claims that it's easy lives in a bubble.

Damsho
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
March 01, 2012, 04:06:06 PM
 #18

This is driving me nuts.. It's still not working deleted all ATI software and went into BIOS to set main to PCI-E.
Also only installed the drivers from that link.

I have no clue what the problem is..

I have also all the time the screen plugged in the GPU it self.

Selling Earphone's and iPad case to get more hashing power!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74589.0
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
March 01, 2012, 04:24:22 PM
 #19

This is driving me nuts.. It's still not working deleted all ATI software and went into BIOS to set main to PCI-E.
Also only installed the drivers from that link.

I have no clue what the problem is..

I have also all the time the screen plugged in the GPU it self.

If you have the 11.11 drivers currently installed (to avoid more reboots), you can send me a Windows XP remote assistance invitation, and I'll take a look at what's up on that PC.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/306757

my email address is in a PM I'm sending now.

Damsho
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
March 01, 2012, 06:13:59 PM
 #20

Sent you the invitation if I done it right..

Selling Earphone's and iPad case to get more hashing power!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74589.0
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!