Bitcoin Forum
February 25, 2017, 07:42:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Trouble Overclocking 5850 to 900MHz shader  (Read 3866 times)
CoinMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104



View Profile
April 29, 2011, 06:06:25 PM
 #21

What is phoenix 1.3?  Obviously I'm not using that...maybe I should.

A new OpenCL miner.

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6458.msg94376#msg94376


Thanks! Getting it now.



Well I didn't get the Phoenix miner to go any faster than 120 M/hs.  Strange.  The good news is that I did download the new poclbm miner and am clocking my 5850 at 850,1000 now to get 325 M/Hs and it not only isn't freezing anymore but is running about 79.5 - 80 degrees now, down from around 82-84.

My Bitcoin Identity
Bitcoin: 183DFFQXR4xCyseBXzmh3XWc22izDWE5Dw
1488008545
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488008545

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488008545
Reply with quote  #2

1488008545
Report to moderator
1488008545
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488008545

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488008545
Reply with quote  #2

1488008545
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
April 29, 2011, 06:21:20 PM
 #22


Well I didn't get the Phoenix miner to go any faster than 120 M/hs.  Strange.  The good news is that I did download the new poclbm miner and am clocking my 5850 at 850,1000 now to get 325 M/Hs and it not only isn't freezing anymore but is running about 79.5 - 80 degrees now, down from around 82-84.

120? Are you sure you weren't running another miner at the same time? Are you on Windows.

I downloaded the new poclbm also and it runs at 350Mh/s. I'm going to race it side by side with most current snapshot of phoenix and see if there is any diffence in performance.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
CoinMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104



View Profile
April 29, 2011, 06:30:09 PM
 #23


Well I didn't get the Phoenix miner to go any faster than 120 M/hs.  Strange.  The good news is that I did download the new poclbm miner and am clocking my 5850 at 850,1000 now to get 325 M/Hs and it not only isn't freezing anymore but is running about 79.5 - 80 degrees now, down from around 82-84.

120? Are you sure you weren't running another miner at the same time? Are you on Windows.

I downloaded the new poclbm also and it runs at 350Mh/s. I'm going to race it side by side with most current snapshot of phoenix and see if there is any diffence in performance.

I am sure I wasn't running another miner and that I had the proper device id.  I'm on ubuntu 10.10 x64.  I seem to have something not quite figured out since the new poclbm instantly gave me 30M/hs more performance but I never found decent settings for phoenix to hardly match half that performance.  I also haven't been able to keep from freezing up with memclock under 1000.  Obviously I have issue's and am losing out on at least 20 M/hs. 

My Bitcoin Identity
Bitcoin: 183DFFQXR4xCyseBXzmh3XWc22izDWE5Dw
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
April 29, 2011, 06:49:59 PM
 #24


I am sure I wasn't running another miner and that I had the proper device id.  I'm on ubuntu 10.10 x64.  I seem to have something not quite figured out since the new poclbm instantly gave me 30M/hs more performance but I never found decent settings for phoenix to hardly match half that performance.  I also haven't been able to keep from freezing up with memclock under 1000.  Obviously I have issue's and am losing out on at least 20 M/hs. 

What fglrx packages and SDK are you using?

I found that WORKSIZE slowed my card down with phoenix. It seems to do just fine leaving that option off.

My card didn't like the mem clock below 1000 either. I had to leave it at 1000 until I got AMDOverDriveCtl working.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
CoinMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104



View Profile
April 29, 2011, 07:35:51 PM
 #25


I am sure I wasn't running another miner and that I had the proper device id.  I'm on ubuntu 10.10 x64.  I seem to have something not quite figured out since the new poclbm instantly gave me 30M/hs more performance but I never found decent settings for phoenix to hardly match half that performance.  I also haven't been able to keep from freezing up with memclock under 1000.  Obviously I have issue's and am losing out on at least 20 M/hs. 

What fglrx packages and SDK are you using?

I found that WORKSIZE slowed my card down with phoenix. It seems to do just fine leaving that option off.

My card didn't like the mem clock below 1000 either. I had to leave it at 1000 until I got AMDOverDriveCtl working.

fglrx 8.801 (fglrx, fglrx-amdcccle, fglrx-modaliases), 2.1 SDK

Thanks for the help here.  I do have AMDOverDriveCtl version 1.1.4 but I haven't applied any profile or started using that as of yet.

My Bitcoin Identity
Bitcoin: 183DFFQXR4xCyseBXzmh3XWc22izDWE5Dw
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
April 29, 2011, 08:12:08 PM
 #26


fglrx 8.801 (fglrx, fglrx-amdcccle, fglrx-modaliases), 2.1 SDK

Thanks for the help here.  I do have AMDOverDriveCtl version 1.1.4 but I haven't applied any profile or started using that as of yet.

That's crazy. I can't believe that there is that much difference in performance between manufacturers. What's the brand of your card?

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
CoinMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104



View Profile
April 29, 2011, 08:21:02 PM
 #27


fglrx 8.801 (fglrx, fglrx-amdcccle, fglrx-modaliases), 2.1 SDK

Thanks for the help here.  I do have AMDOverDriveCtl version 1.1.4 but I haven't applied any profile or started using that as of yet.

That's crazy. I can't believe that there is that much difference in performance between manufacturers. What's the brand of your card?

Sapphire - 1GB, GDDR5.  My PCI-e slot is 16x1 2.0, not 2.1 (if it makes any diff)

My Bitcoin Identity
Bitcoin: 183DFFQXR4xCyseBXzmh3XWc22izDWE5Dw
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
April 29, 2011, 08:51:18 PM
 #28

Sapphire - 1GB, GDDR5.  My PCI-e slot is 16x1 2.0, not 2.1 (if it makes any diff)

My cards are Asus and Visiontek so I can't say for sure if it's different.

The board they are on is 5 years old so I'm sure it's not 2.1, and there's only 1 x16 slot, the other 2 are x8 and x4 and work without a problem.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
fpgaminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile WWW
April 30, 2011, 02:03:33 AM
 #29

Quote
Well I didn't get the Phoenix miner to go any faster than 120 M/hs.
Post your command line.

Here's mine (on Windows. In linux I had to set DEVICE to 1), for a 5850:

phoenix -u blahblahblah DEVICE=0 VECTORS AGGRESSION=11 WORKSIZE=128 BFI_INT

CoinMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104



View Profile
April 30, 2011, 03:31:22 AM
 #30

Quote
Well I didn't get the Phoenix miner to go any faster than 120 M/hs.
Post your command line.

Here's mine (on Windows. In linux I had to set DEVICE to 1), for a 5850:

phoenix -u blahblahblah DEVICE=0 VECTORS AGGRESSION=11 WORKSIZE=128 BFI_INT

./phoenix.py -u http://username:password@mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 -k poclbm VECTORS FASTLOOP BFI_INT PLATFORM=0 DEVICE=1 AGRESSION=8 WORKSIZE=128

Note that these are the last settings I tried.  I have adjusted AGRESSION (8 to 13) while having WORKSIZE=64 and WORKSIZE=128 with little effect on the hash rate (and removed the FASTLOOP parameter for AGRESSIONS above 8 after trying them all with the FASTLOOP parameter)

I don't know if this is odd or not but if I put an invalid device id it then shows:

  • AMD Athlont(tm) II x2 245 Processor
  • [1] Cypress


My Bitcoin Identity
Bitcoin: 183DFFQXR4xCyseBXzmh3XWc22izDWE5Dw
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!