Bitcoin Forum
August 19, 2017, 10:43:26 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: RAM mining?  (Read 12824 times)
tromp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 494


View Profile
September 26, 2016, 02:55:31 PM
 #61

there is an algo that is incredibly RAM intensive

There is indeed. It's called Cuckoo Cycle

https://github.com/tromp/cuckoo

Whereas Equihash (as parametrized in Zcash) uses 200 bits of memory to store a hash,
Cuckoo Cycle doesn't store hashes explicitly, but maintains 1 bit for each pair of hashes.
Where Equihash solves problems of size a few million with a few hundred MB, Cuckoo Cycle
can tackle problems of size a few *billion* with the same memory thanks to a vastly
more intensive use of memory.

Quote
https://www.internetsociety.org/sites/default/files/blogs-media/equihash-asymmetric-proof-of-work-based-generalized-birthday-problem.pdf

"Our solution is practical and ready to deploy: a reference implementation of a proof-of-work requiring 700 MB of RAM runs in 30 seconds on a 1.8 GHz CPU, increases the computations by the factor of 1000 if memory is halved, and presents a proof of just 120 bytes long."

The reference implementation has been broken by

https://forum.z.cash/t/breaking-equihash-in-solutions-per-gb-second/1995
1503182606
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503182606

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503182606
Reply with quote  #2

1503182606
Report to moderator
1503182606
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503182606

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503182606
Reply with quote  #2

1503182606
Report to moderator
1503182606
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503182606

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503182606
Reply with quote  #2

1503182606
Report to moderator
Make sure you back up your wallet regularly! With Bitcoin-Qt, it needs to be backed up at least as often as every 100 transactions (both sends and receipts) or new addresses.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503182606
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503182606

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503182606
Reply with quote  #2

1503182606
Report to moderator
1503182606
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503182606

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503182606
Reply with quote  #2

1503182606
Report to moderator
startselect
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 245


View Profile
September 27, 2016, 06:46:21 PM
 #62

Ram has no processing power. Unless you're talking about coins that requires you to hold content. You could create a ramdisk and set a part of your ram as disk space. But why bother, might as well use your hard drive which will hold a lot more content.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!