Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2017, 09:59:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: RAM mining?  (Read 9712 times)
tromp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 494


View Profile
September 26, 2016, 02:55:31 PM
 #61

there is an algo that is incredibly RAM intensive

There is indeed. It's called Cuckoo Cycle

https://github.com/tromp/cuckoo

Whereas Equihash (as parametrized in Zcash) uses 200 bits of memory to store a hash,
Cuckoo Cycle doesn't store hashes explicitly, but maintains 1 bit for each pair of hashes.
Where Equihash solves problems of size a few million with a few hundred MB, Cuckoo Cycle
can tackle problems of size a few *billion* with the same memory thanks to a vastly
more intensive use of memory.

Quote
https://www.internetsociety.org/sites/default/files/blogs-media/equihash-asymmetric-proof-of-work-based-generalized-birthday-problem.pdf

"Our solution is practical and ready to deploy: a reference implementation of a proof-of-work requiring 700 MB of RAM runs in 30 seconds on a 1.8 GHz CPU, increases the computations by the factor of 1000 if memory is halved, and presents a proof of just 120 bytes long."

The reference implementation has been broken by

https://forum.z.cash/t/breaking-equihash-in-solutions-per-gb-second/1995
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493200773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493200773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493200773
Reply with quote  #2

1493200773
Report to moderator
1493200773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493200773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493200773
Reply with quote  #2

1493200773
Report to moderator
startselect
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217


View Profile
September 27, 2016, 06:46:21 PM
 #62

Ram has no processing power. Unless you're talking about coins that requires you to hold content. You could create a ramdisk and set a part of your ram as disk space. But why bother, might as well use your hard drive which will hold a lot more content.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!