Bitcoin Forum
April 30, 2024, 07:41:16 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][XMR][HOW TO] Install & use Monero on Linux  (Read 15787 times)
superresistant (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1120



View Profile
July 03, 2014, 12:53:56 PM
Last edit: June 11, 2015, 09:06:44 PM by superresistant
 #1

 
Updated

The very basic to use Monero on Linux.
It's a good start.

Installation

All-in-one installation script (may not work if the script is not updated) :

Code:
cd ~ && rm -f install_monero.sh && wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Quanttek/install_monero/master/install_monero.sh && bash install_monero.sh

If it doesn't work then :

Install some stuff you'll probably need

Code:
sudo aptitude install git cmake libboost-all-dev libssl-dev libevent-dev libdb++-dev


Install Monero the normal way (should always work)

Code:
cd
git clone https://github.com/monero-project/bitmonero.git
cd ../bitmonero && make


Remove Monero if needed (don't do that now)
Code:
cd
rm -r bitmonero

Create the blockchain folder and download the blockchain
Code:
cd
mkdir ~/.bitmonero
cd ~/.bitmonero
wget http://downloads.getmonero.org/blockchain/linux/blockchain.bin

Remove the Blockchain if needed (don't do that now)
Code:
cd
rm -r ~/.bitmonero


Use Monero

Run monero daemon

Code:
cd bitmonero/build/release/bin/ && ./bitmonerod

Run the wallet

Code:
cd bitmonero/build/release/bin/ && ./simplewallet
You cannot open two things at the same time in the same session, learn to use tmux to open bitmonerod + simplewallet simultaneously

Use tmux

Open a new tmux session to have multiple things running
Code:
tmux
Detach the current tmux session to go to an other one without interrupting the process
   press Ctrl + b
   then d
List all tmux sessions
Code:
tmux list-sessions
Open a tmux session
Code:
tmux attach -t 0
Open an other tmux session if they are two
Code:
tmux attach -t 1
Kill a tmux session
Code:
tmux kill-session -t 0

Other stuff

To be continued...
If you appreciate the tutorial, come and mine on monero.crypto-pool.fr
1714506076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714506076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714506076
Reply with quote  #2

1714506076
Report to moderator
1714506076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714506076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714506076
Reply with quote  #2

1714506076
Report to moderator
1714506076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714506076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714506076
Reply with quote  #2

1714506076
Report to moderator
The forum strives to allow free discussion of any ideas. All policies are built around this principle. This doesn't mean you can post garbage, though: posts should actually contain ideas, and these ideas should be argued reasonably.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714506076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714506076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714506076
Reply with quote  #2

1714506076
Report to moderator
1714506076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714506076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714506076
Reply with quote  #2

1714506076
Report to moderator
1714506076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714506076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714506076
Reply with quote  #2

1714506076
Report to moderator
Quanttek
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 03, 2014, 01:12:55 PM
 #2

Or just use the installation script for Monero

Enthusiast. Neither trader, nor miner and also no big investor.
Community Manager for Monero
PM if you need mine to exchange or anti-cheat algorithm for node-cryptonote-pool
superresistant (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1120



View Profile
July 03, 2014, 01:28:10 PM
 #3

Or just use the installation script for Monero

Does it install wolf cpu miner ?

Where can I find a script that install wolf cpu miner with it ?

Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 506


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2015, 12:41:02 PM
Last edit: February 18, 2015, 02:28:24 PM by Muhammed Zakir
 #4

Or just use the installation script for Monero

Does it install wolf cpu miner ?

Where can I find a script that install wolf cpu miner with it ?


Don't know if bumping this topic is right... Huh

It will do:

Code:
cd ~
clear
echo "This is the monero installation script. It will install monero with all it's requirements, starting with the latest boost-version, plus CPUMiner"
echo "~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~"
echo "[1] INSTALL Monero essentials (wallet + solominer)"
echo "[2] INSTALL Wolf's poolminer"
echo "[3] INSTALL Everything"
echo "[6] UPDATE  Monero essentials (wallet + solominer)"
echo "[7] UPDATE  Wolf's poolminer"
echo "[8] UPDATE  Everything"
echo "~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~"

P.S. Thanks for the guide! It was really helpful when installing on a VPS.

Edit: build-essential install command is two times in the OP and libbz2-dev and -y aren't separated. Smiley


 =snip=

Code:
sudo apt-get install libbz2-dev-y
  -MZ

Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 506


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2015, 05:51:49 PM
 #5

Code:
root@server:~/bitmonero/build/release# make
[  0%] Built target version
[  7%] Built target upnpc-static
[ 49%] Built target unbound
[ 50%] Building C object src/crypto/CMakeFiles/crypto.dir/aesb.c.o
cc1: error: -Werror=maybe-uninitialized: no option -Wmaybe-uninitialized
cc1: error: unrecognized command line option '-std=c11'
cc1: error: unrecognized command line option '-ffat-lto-objects'
make[2]: *** [src/crypto/CMakeFiles/crypto.dir/aesb.c.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [src/crypto/CMakeFiles/crypto.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2

Please help.

   -MZ

GreekBitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1001


getmonero.org


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2015, 09:28:51 PM
 #6

Ask for help in IRC #monero

This is quite an old guide.
Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 506


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2015, 03:22:37 PM
 #7

Ask for help in IRC #monero

This is quite an old guide.

Thanks!

Yeah, I know! I compiled with latest source code.

   -MZ

GreekBitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1001


getmonero.org


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2015, 03:25:27 PM
 #8

Ask for help in IRC #monero

This is quite an old guide.

Thanks!

Yeah, I know! I compiled with latest source code.

   -MZ

I think the latest source needs a few more dependencies. I am saying just in case...

"Dependencies: GCC 4.7.3 or later, CMake 2.8.6 or later, libunbound 1.4.16 or later (note: Unbound is not a dependency, libunbound is), libevent 2.0 or later, libgtest 1.5 or later, and Boost 1.53 or later (except 1.54, more details here). "
Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 506


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2015, 03:39:51 PM
 #9

Ask for help in IRC #monero

This is quite an old guide.

Thanks!

Yeah, I know! I compiled with latest source code.

   -MZ

I think the latest source needs a few more dependencies. I am saying just in case...

"Dependencies: GCC 4.7.3 or later, CMake 2.8.6 or later, libunbound 1.4.16 or later (note: Unbound is not a dependency, libunbound is), libevent 2.0 or later, libgtest 1.5 or later, and Boost 1.53 or later (except 1.54, more details here). "

AFAIK all installed.

P.S. It is problem of Qt. Do you know how to install bitmonerod only?

   -MZ

GreekBitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1001


getmonero.org


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2015, 04:01:41 PM
 #10

Can you tell me exactly what you did and what system do you use? Cause as i said this is really an old source and not even from the core team:
https://github.com/bitmonero-project/bitmonero (Old source)

https://github.com/monero-project/bitmonero    (thats the right source)

No i dont know how to compile just bitmonerod. Before, you could just uncheck simplewallet and test from CMakeLists.txt but now i dont know how.
fluffypony
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1060


GetMonero.org / MyMonero.com


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2015, 04:10:38 PM
 #11

AFAIK all installed.

P.S. It is problem of Qt. Do you know how to install bitmonerod only?

   -MZ

We don't use Qt, there's no Monero GUI in Monero core yet. What operating system are you building on? And what compiler version do you get if you run gcc --version or g++ --version?

Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 506


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2015, 04:26:07 PM
Last edit: February 19, 2015, 04:53:04 PM by Muhammed Zakir
 #12

We don't use Qt, there's no Monero GUI in Monero core yet. What operating system are you building on? And what compiler version do you get if you run gcc --version or g++ --version?

I used new source. OS : Ubuntu and I am installing on VPS. I will tell about the version soon, I am trying again now and the shell script is running.

Edit: Version of gcc/g++ is 4.6.3 .

   -MZ

fluffypony
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1060


GetMonero.org / MyMonero.com


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2015, 04:58:35 PM
 #13

We don't use Qt, there's no Monero GUI in Monero core yet. What operating system are you building on? And what compiler version do you get if you run gcc --version or g++ --version?

I used new source. OS : Ubuntu and I am installing on VPS. I will tell about the version soon, I am trying again now and the shell script is running.

Edit: Version of gcc/g++ is 4.6.3 .

   -MZ

Ok there's your problem - per the dependencies: "Dependencies: GCC 4.7.3 or later"

If you're on an older version of Ubuntu you may find it best to add the Toolchain Test Builds PPA: https://launchpad.net/~ubuntu-toolchain-r/+archive/ubuntu/test and then install a more recent version of gcc. Once installed you will need to link the newer gcc/g++ version to default (ie. something similar to http://askubuntu.com/questions/26498/choose-gcc-and-g-version)

It's probably easier for you to install Ubuntu 13.10 or 14.04 on your VPS instead. Ubuntu 14.04 is recommended, as it has current versions of gcc and boost.

Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 506


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2015, 06:01:25 PM
 #14

Ok there's your problem - per the dependencies: "Dependencies: GCC 4.7.3 or later"

Thanks for pointing it out!

If you're on an older version of Ubuntu you may find it best to add the Toolchain Test Builds PPA: https://launchpad.net/~ubuntu-toolchain-r/+archive/ubuntu/test and then install a more recent version of gcc. Once installed you will need to link the newer gcc/g++ version to default (ie. something similar to http://askubuntu.com/questions/26498/choose-gcc-and-g-version)

Everything done but still giving errors.

Code:
cc1plus: error: -Werror=maybe-uninitialized: no option -Wmaybe-uninitialized
cc1plus: error: unrecognized command line option '-std=c++11'
make[3]: *** [src/crypto/CMakeFiles/crypto.dir/crypto.cpp.o] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/root/bitmonero/build/release'
make[2]: *** [src/crypto/CMakeFiles/crypto.dir/all] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/bitmonero/build/release'
make[1]: *** [all] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/bitmonero/build/release'
make: *** [release-all] Error 2

It's probably easier for you to install Ubuntu 13.10 or 14.04 on your VPS instead. Ubuntu 14.04 is recommended, as it has current versions of gcc and boost.

It's not mine, I am helping a person but I will tell him though I am not sure whether he will because some daemons already installed in it and the sync is complete(BTC, LTC, Doge etc...).

   -MZ

GingerAle
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1008


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2015, 12:27:20 AM
 #15

all I know is that this works:

cd ~ && rm -f install_monero.sh && wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Quanttek/install_monero/master/install_monero.sh && bash install_monero.sh
Code:
cd ~ && rm -f install_monero.sh && wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Quanttek/install_monero/master/install_monero.sh && bash install_monero.sh

< Track your bitcoins! > < Track them again! > <<< [url=https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/1qomqt/what_a_landmark_legal_case_from_mid1700s_scotland/] What is fungibility? >>> 46P88uZ4edEgsk7iKQUGu2FUDYcdHm2HtLFiGLp1inG4e4f9PTb4mbHWYWFZGYUeQidJ8hFym2WUmWc p34X8HHmFS2LXJkf <<< Free subdomains at moneroworld.com!! >>> <<< If you don't want to run your own node, point your wallet to node.moneroworld.com, and get connected to a random node! @@@@ FUCK ALL THE PROFITEERS! PROOF OF WORK OR ITS A SCAM !!! @@@@
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1076


BTCLife.global participant


View Profile
June 05, 2015, 10:58:29 AM
 #16

It really works on Debian 8 Jessie@MATE, thanks. But what the....

Code:
root@debian-katya:~/cpuminer/cpuminer-multi# ./minerd --help
[2015-06-05 16:56:13] CPU does not have AES-NI, which is required.

How to compile it for non-AES system? I haven't found an instruction: https://github.com/wolf9466/cpuminer-multi/blob/master/README.md#architecture-specific-notes

From Siberia with love! Hosting by Rabinovitch!
Fundraising for BOINC Farm
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST, STORJ, Filecoin), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
GingerAle
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1008


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2015, 11:22:51 AM
 #17

It really works on Debian 8 Jessie@MATE, thanks. But what the....

Code:
root@debian-katya:~/cpuminer/cpuminer-multi# ./minerd --help
[2015-06-05 16:56:13] CPU does not have AES-NI, which is required.

How to compile it for non-AES system? I haven't found an instruction: https://github.com/wolf9466/cpuminer-multi/blob/master/README.md#architecture-specific-notes

Wolf's kinda blows for non-aes. Install YAM's -

https://mega.co.nz/#F!h0tkXSxZ!f62uoUXogkxQmP2xO8Ib-g

thats a list of his miners, each compiled for different CPU architectures

if you don't know your CPU architecture, google it.

< Track your bitcoins! > < Track them again! > <<< [url=https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/1qomqt/what_a_landmark_legal_case_from_mid1700s_scotland/] What is fungibility? >>> 46P88uZ4edEgsk7iKQUGu2FUDYcdHm2HtLFiGLp1inG4e4f9PTb4mbHWYWFZGYUeQidJ8hFym2WUmWc p34X8HHmFS2LXJkf <<< Free subdomains at moneroworld.com!! >>> <<< If you don't want to run your own node, point your wallet to node.moneroworld.com, and get connected to a random node! @@@@ FUCK ALL THE PROFITEERS! PROOF OF WORK OR ITS A SCAM !!! @@@@
Fantasio
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 08, 2015, 07:27:36 AM
 #18

all I know is that this works:

cd ~ && rm -f install_monero.sh && wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Quanttek/install_monero/master/install_monero.sh && bash install_monero.sh
Code:
cd ~ && rm -f install_monero.sh && wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Quanttek/install_monero/master/install_monero.sh && bash install_monero.sh


No, it doesn't !  Cry
It's a big deception, but when I'm launching the script, there's a fatal error at the end :

-- Could not find Berkeley DB >= 4.1 (missing:  BERKELEY_DB_INCLUDE_DIR BERKELEY_DB_LIBRARIES)
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:45 (message):
  BerkeleyDB not found.  At this time it should be installed in your
  system for a non-static build.


Have someone already encountered the same thing ?  Huh
(OS : SparkyLinux Jessie)
GingerAle
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1008


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2015, 11:26:18 AM
 #19

all I know is that this works:

cd ~ && rm -f install_monero.sh && wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Quanttek/install_monero/master/install_monero.sh && bash install_monero.sh
Code:
cd ~ && rm -f install_monero.sh && wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Quanttek/install_monero/master/install_monero.sh && bash install_monero.sh


No, it doesn't !  Cry
It's a big deception, but when I'm launching the script, there's a fatal error at the end :

-- Could not find Berkeley DB >= 4.1 (missing:  BERKELEY_DB_INCLUDE_DIR BERKELEY_DB_LIBRARIES)
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:45 (message):
  BerkeleyDB not found.  At this time it should be installed in your
  system for a non-static build.


Have someone already encountered the same thing ?  Huh
(OS : SparkyLinux Jessie)


Yeah, the source code changed. The script needs to be updated. With the new code, the following will get you along farther.

Code:
sudo apt-get install libevent-dev

Code:
make release-static

< Track your bitcoins! > < Track them again! > <<< [url=https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/1qomqt/what_a_landmark_legal_case_from_mid1700s_scotland/] What is fungibility? >>> 46P88uZ4edEgsk7iKQUGu2FUDYcdHm2HtLFiGLp1inG4e4f9PTb4mbHWYWFZGYUeQidJ8hFym2WUmWc p34X8HHmFS2LXJkf <<< Free subdomains at moneroworld.com!! >>> <<< If you don't want to run your own node, point your wallet to node.moneroworld.com, and get connected to a random node! @@@@ FUCK ALL THE PROFITEERS! PROOF OF WORK OR ITS A SCAM !!! @@@@
Fantasio
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 08, 2015, 08:54:18 PM
 #20

Thank's GingerAle  Wink

But this time there's another error :

CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake-3.2/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:138 (message):
  Could NOT find OpenSSL, try to set the path to OpenSSL root folder in the
  system variable OPENSSL_ROOT_DIR (missing: OPENSSL_LIBRARIES
  OPENSSL_INCLUDE_DIR)


I've checked openssl was already installed : OpenSSL 1.0.2a 19 Mar 2015.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!