Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 07:49:26 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5850 max clock 775mhz  (Read 1709 times)
phr0stbyt3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
March 08, 2012, 05:38:46 PM
 #1

Just got 4x 5850 reference cards (i think).
All of them cap out at 775mhz in the MSI afterburner and the CCC.
I've read here and there about people unlocking the bios or using the 5870 bios instead to achieve higher clock speeds and thus higher mh/s, but this is outside of my pay grade.

Any help would be appreciated.

1M7dBWYjPUnn5Lrq2GAUSSi2dk56V2HUmi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480794566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794566
Reply with quote  #2

1480794566
Report to moderator
despoiler
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
March 08, 2012, 05:49:02 PM
 #2

That is the default OC max.  Did you setup AB's overclocking mode?  If not you need to Google how to do it.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
March 08, 2012, 06:36:22 PM
 #3

Just got 4x 5850 reference cards (i think).
All of them cap out at 775mhz in the MSI afterburner and the CCC.
I've read here and there about people unlocking the bios or using the 5870 bios instead to achieve higher clock speeds and thus higher mh/s, but this is outside of my pay grade.

Any help would be appreciated.

You absolutly must go into MSIafterburners Config file and, "Enable unofficial overclocking EULA" http://lmgtfy.com/?q=Enable+unofficial+overclocking+EULA

Then, Select a gpu, Set it's clocks to something Noteably low or Noteably High, then CLOSE MSIa, Reopen it, and Voila, You can set clocks like a madwhore on crack, Heres a SS of my 6870's
http://imageshack.us/f/809/msia.png/

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
dropt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
March 08, 2012, 07:10:48 PM
 #4

Just got 4x 5850 reference cards (i think).
All of them cap out at 775mhz in the MSI afterburner and the CCC.
I've read here and there about people unlocking the bios or using the 5870 bios instead to achieve higher clock speeds and thus higher mh/s, but this is outside of my pay grade.

Any help would be appreciated.

You absolutly must go into MSIafterburners Config file and, "Enable unofficial overclocking EULA" http://lmgtfy.com/?q=Enable+unofficial+overclocking+EULA

Then, Select a gpu, Set it's clocks to something Noteably low or Noteably High, then CLOSE MSIa, Reopen it, and Voila, You can set clocks like a madwhore on crack, Heres a SS of my 6870's
http://imageshack.us/f/809/msia.png/

This, or use RBE to edit the max allowable overclock in the BIOS.
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
March 08, 2012, 07:17:15 PM
 #5

There is a thread or two around here on the MSI Afterburner stuff.

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
aaa801
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95



View Profile
March 08, 2012, 09:20:24 PM
 #6

download sapphire trix
im using that with my 5850 and getting upto 900mhz stable

LTC: LUUikznZrvDb65ZCNQUNCiTaCB4CWGYRSZ
BTC: 1325TrScK8jkiPuMEMxNf1VXHHfnR1QtgN
Miner612
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84

FPGA convert


View Profile
March 08, 2012, 09:36:57 PM
 #7

I run my 5850s at 960core \ 1149 voltage \ 250 ram and get a good 395mhash solid

I buy and sell GPUs, most 5850s and 7970s. 
jimzolorenzo@gmail.com  -- Make an offer.
http://myworld.ebay.com/i_buy_5850s  -- current inventory
I have a couple bare bone mining rigs for sale as well.

--------------

I bought silver from [ccliu] 5 star transaction!
I bought silver from [TECSHARE] -- shipping still
phr0stbyt3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
March 08, 2012, 10:36:18 PM
 #8

Ugh, for some reason VNC won't respond on my home comp. I will try the UnofficialEULA thing when I get back home and report. That seems like the problem.

1M7dBWYjPUnn5Lrq2GAUSSi2dk56V2HUmi
phr0stbyt3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
March 09, 2012, 03:04:21 PM
 #9

Got home, added the EULA to the .cfg file and changed the value per the instructions on google.
Now when I try to set the clock on GPU or memory the values return to "0" in afterburner.



Undid the changes in the .CFG file and I am back to being limited to 775 mhz.

--Note--
I am -not- using an MSI card... does this matter?

1M7dBWYjPUnn5Lrq2GAUSSi2dk56V2HUmi
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 05:36:48 PM
 #10

Use Sapphire Trixx. That's what I used for my 5850's.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

getcopy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40



View Profile
March 10, 2012, 01:30:44 PM
 #11

try this software: AMD GPU Clock Tool

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1641/AMD_GPU_Clock_Tool_v0.9.26.0_For_HD_5870.html

for reference:

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1090/1/

17HNRidPgCnyTuuwKx6L5c2bHJyJCHjVyF
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
March 10, 2012, 03:40:02 PM
 #12

Got home, added the EULA to the .cfg file and changed the value per the instructions on google.
Now when I try to set the clock on GPU or memory the values return to "0" in afterburner.


Undid the changes in the .CFG file and I am back to being limited to 775 mhz.

--Note--
I am -not- using an MSI card... does this matter?
No it does not matter, My XFX6870 and my Shappire 5830 work just fine with MSIa
Do you have more than one card?
Try going into the registry and disable ALL entrys of "enable_ulps"
Reboot and see if that works, ULPS is ultra low power state, It's AMD's way of "energy saving" when your not "using" the card, It drops/raises the clocks based upon gpu usage.
When i have a crossfire, Or multicard rig setup, If i have ULPS enabled, My systems Hardlock IMMEDIATLY after i click the apply button.

I've had my cards (all of them) do that 0/0/0 thing in MSIa, It happens to me whenever i do not have a monitor plugged into the card that im trying to alter... Not sure if that helps.
It also happens when i "lose control" of my gpu's, Like when they Lockup and Restart due to crash/overheat

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
phr0stbyt3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
March 10, 2012, 10:52:07 PM
 #13


**Solved**

Also followed steps to disable ULPS.
Thanks all.

1M7dBWYjPUnn5Lrq2GAUSSi2dk56V2HUmi
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!