Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:36:38 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Windows 7 cgminer build for Icarus and BFL. 7.5 BTC bounty !  (Read 5332 times)
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2012, 08:12:31 PM
 #1

I need a windows (7 32) version of cgminer to mine with BFL and Icarus. Unzip and ready to mine. Pay 5 bitcoins.

1481222198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481222198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481222198
Reply with quote  #2

1481222198
Report to moderator
1481222198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481222198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481222198
Reply with quote  #2

1481222198
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481222198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481222198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481222198
Reply with quote  #2

1481222198
Report to moderator
1481222198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481222198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481222198
Reply with quote  #2

1481222198
Report to moderator
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
March 15, 2012, 08:13:21 PM
 #2

why won't the current binaries work?

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 08:20:09 PM
 #3

They will.  

Here are some steps for you:

1.  Download this - http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-2.3.1-2-win32.zip
2.  Unpack it
3.  Run it
4.  ....
5.  Profit.

If you're stuck for which commands to use, create a new text file, rename it to run.bat, right click and edit it, enter the following:

cgminer -o http://yourpooladdress:portnumber -u yourusername -p yourpass -S COM7 --disable-gpu

COM7 in the above is the COM port your BFL or whatever is installed on.  It'll show you this in a bubble down the bottom right when you plug in your BFL, or you can go to Device Manager to find out the COM port.    Use the --disable-gpu flag on the end if you don't want to mine with your GPU's as well, obviously Wink


Or you can just use this - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3486.0 which I believe detects the COM port automatically for you.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2012, 08:26:55 PM
 #4

Hi thanks for the hints. I don't have a BFL yet. Only one Icarus. Have you guys tested it with Icarus ?

Edit: Not working with Icarus ! It has to work with both of them.

simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 08:29:52 PM
 #5

Hi thanks for the hints. I don't have a BFL yet. Only one Icarus. Have you guys tested it with Icarus ?

Not personally, but I know it works.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2012, 08:39:30 PM
 #6

Hi thanks for the hints. I don't have a BFL yet. Only one Icarus. Have you guys tested it with Icarus ?

Not personally, but I know it works.

Nope !

simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 08:40:51 PM
 #7

Hi thanks for the hints. I don't have a BFL yet. Only one Icarus. Have you guys tested it with Icarus ?

Not personally, but I know it works.

Nope !

Right, you probably need one of the forks.

Try ufasoft in the mean time (link in the above post).  It's no slower or faster than cgminer.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 08:43:14 PM
 #8

They will.   

Here are some steps for you:

1.  Download this - http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-2.3.1-2-win32.zip
2.  Unpack it
3.  Run it
4.  Realize that 2.3.1-2 doesn't have FPGA support enabled in prebuilt binaries
5.  Don't Profit.

FYPFY.
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 08:45:31 PM
 #9


4.  Realize that 2.3.1-2 doesn't have FPGA support enabled in prebuilt binaries


I'm running it right now.  Must be magic.
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
March 15, 2012, 08:47:14 PM
 #10

Hi thanks for the hints. I don't have a BFL yet. Only one Icarus. Have you guys tested it with Icarus ?

Not personally, but I know it works.

Oops, I claimed in another thread that official cgminer Windows binaries are without FPGA support and thought this will have to wait until Con is back. That's the price to pay for not following bitcointalk 24/7  Embarrassed

Sorry for that, Turbor.

I'd like to at least approve that the given binary works, but it does not work without OCL dlls and I can't install them in my VirtualBox guest system  Sad

Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2012, 08:53:02 PM
 #11

Hi thanks for the hints. I don't have a BFL yet. Only one Icarus. Have you guys tested it with Icarus ?

Not personally, but I know it works.

Oops, I claimed in another thread that official cgminer Windows binaries are without FPGA support and thought this will have to wait until Con is back. That's the price to pay for not following bitcointalk 24/7  Embarrassed

Sorry for that, Turbor.

I'd like to at least approve that the given binary works, but it does not work without OCL dlls and I can't install them in my VirtualBox guest system  Sad

Icarus does NOT work with cgminer i have !

RoloTonyBrownTown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
March 15, 2012, 08:56:10 PM
 #12

Hi thanks for the hints. I don't have a BFL yet. Only one Icarus. Have you guys tested it with Icarus ?

Not personally, but I know it works.

Oops, I claimed in another thread that official cgminer Windows binaries are without FPGA support and thought this will have to wait until Con is back. That's the price to pay for not following bitcointalk 24/7  Embarrassed

Sorry for that, Turbor.

I'd like to at least approve that the given binary works, but it does not work without OCL dlls and I can't install them in my VirtualBox guest system  Sad

Icarus does NOT work with cgminer i have !

You probably need Kanos fork.  The pre built binaries work fine with the BFL devices though.

Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2012, 09:43:38 PM
 #13

You probably need Kanos fork.  The pre built binaries work fine with the BFL devices though.

Yes, that's where the winner of the bounty comes into play.

RoloTonyBrownTown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
March 15, 2012, 09:46:44 PM
 #14

You probably need Kanos fork.  The pre built binaries work fine with the BFL devices though.

Yes, that's where the winner of the bounty comes into play.

Tried Ufasoft yet?  No idea if it works but its worth the 5 mins it'll take to find out.

Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2012, 09:56:14 PM
 #15

You probably need Kanos fork.  The pre built binaries work fine with the BFL devices though.

Yes, that's where the winner of the bounty comes into play.

Tried Ufasoft yet?  No idea if it works but its worth the 5 mins it'll take to find out.

I think ufa is for BFL only.

Raize
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1375


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 02:44:31 AM
 #16

The bounty is now for a total of 7.5 Bitcoins, I'm adding 2.5 BTC. I want the same thing. Unzip and go, no compiling. I don't care who's feelings get hurt, I just want a binary and it's gotta be cgminer.

OrganofCorti's Neighbourhood Pool Watch - The most informative website on blockchain health
yrral
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 03:19:08 AM
 #17

The bounty is now for a total of 7.5 Bitcoins, I'm adding 2.5 BTC. I want the same thing. Unzip and go, no compiling. I don't care who's feelings get hurt, I just want a binary and it's gotta be cgminer.
http://www.mediafire.com/?96tru91ydhlgrjt

Send bounty to:
1xMs3fAkdo5dPvFSyxwFfRkmDPE43Jgii
Thanks
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 04:53:59 AM
 #18

Yes you need it from my fork Smiley

Also you will need another change if you have both ... that's not done yet since the BFL check can hang on an Icarus sometimes and since I don't have both I'm not 100% sure of the circumstances that cause it.

Luke-jr hacked a fix to be able to say the device name on the front for bitforce but it's not done very nicely.

At the moment, if you do have problems with a windows version, it might actually be best to have 2 instances each compiled with the different device:
1 for Bitforce and 1 for Icarus
And in each case only specify the devices that match

Edit: I've got the commits for the first part waiting to go into the main cgminer git but my commits have been waiting for 12 days now ... Sad

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2012, 05:34:58 AM
 #19

The bounty is now for a total of 7.5 Bitcoins, I'm adding 2.5 BTC. I want the same thing. Unzip and go, no compiling. I don't care who's feelings get hurt, I just want a binary and it's gotta be cgminer.
http://www.mediafire.com/?96tru91ydhlgrjt

Send bounty to:
1xMs3fAkdo5dPvFSyxwFfRkmDPE43Jgii
Thanks

Do you have an Icarus running with that download ? What are the options i need to enter in the conf beside "scan-serial" : "COMX" ? First test did not work with Icarus. Can anyone confirm ?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 05:46:18 AM
 #20

The bounty is now for a total of 7.5 Bitcoins, I'm adding 2.5 BTC. I want the same thing. Unzip and go, no compiling. I don't care who's feelings get hurt, I just want a binary and it's gotta be cgminer.
That comment meant I certainly wasn't interested in making a binary ...

The Icarus code was written by Xiangfu and I helped debug it.
It was based on the Bitforce code that Luke-jr wrote, but did require quite a few changes.

It still needs more work on it but the lack of commits getting into cgminer at the moment has made me work on my Notify app instead when I have time Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!