Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:44:14 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Intel HD Graphics  (Read 26702 times)
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2013, 05:44:14 AM
 #61

No way, the 3770 cpu is faster than a hd 400 gpu? I thought the worst gpu kills the best cpu. Oh well I stopped the hd 4000. I finally got some lancelots and didn't want to shorten the 3770s life.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
1480941854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480941854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480941854
Reply with quote  #2

1480941854
Report to moderator
1480941854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480941854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480941854
Reply with quote  #2

1480941854
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480941854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480941854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480941854
Reply with quote  #2

1480941854
Report to moderator
1480941854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480941854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480941854
Reply with quote  #2

1480941854
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2013, 09:30:35 AM
 #62

No way, the 3770 cpu is faster than a hd 400 gpu? I thought the worst gpu kills the best cpu. Oh well I stopped the hd 4000. I finally got some lancelots and didn't want to shorten the 3770s life.
Heh, now you know better... The worst AMD GPU is better than the best CPU. The same is not true for intel GPUs, or even Nvidia (to a lesser extent with the 210 for example). Intel GPUs are a token gesture with adequate graphics for most normal people; they are hopeless for any high performance application, including opencl.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2013, 10:04:27 AM
 #63

So cpu mining isn't that bad
I was wasting hd 4000 because i couldn't cpu mine on the 3770 Wink
But then again the hd 4000 took 5 watts, not 75

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 10:50:21 AM
 #64

A couple thousand coders with specs provided by AMD haven't made OpenCL capable drivers for AMD GPUs.  Doing it in the dark is never going to happen. 

Just a peeve here - We had coders "tricking" GPUs into running semi-arbitrary code considerably faster than CPUs by writing it as custom shader routines, years before OpenCL hit the scene (Google for "GLSL" or "Cg").  So yes, the possibility does exist of mining on a completely non-CL-supporting platform.

That said, shaders (at least back then) had a fairly limited set of available operations they could do (mostly linear algebraic transforms on single or half precision floats, not bitwise ops on integers), and an incredibly small stack space (on the order of 256 bytes) - Good luck implementing SHA256 under those conditions.    Grin
+1
Folding@Home made a client for ATI 1900 cards wich ran on DirectX 9. Yup, science computing on DirectX 9.

Back then OpenCL didn't even exist, not even CAL (CAL is like CUDA for ATI, supported since ATI 2000 if i am right)  Cheesy
PeeJWeeJ
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 11:30:41 PM
 #65

My intel 3820-E is putting out 50 Kh/s, so yes, there are CPUs that can do better than some low end (< $100) GPUs.

Is it more price efficient? No.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2013, 10:56:04 AM
 #66

mhs or khs? if it's khs then yeah any gpu would do better. I have a 5 year old nvidia that does 3 mhs

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!