Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:33:39 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hash cracking speed for 6950?  (Read 2854 times)
programmargorp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 12:20:51 AM
 #1

I have a 6950 2gb.
Im using GUIMiner, and it's currently cracking at ~260MHash/s
How many MHashes/s should i expect with this card?
1480840419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480840419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480840419
Reply with quote  #2

1480840419
Report to moderator
1480840419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480840419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480840419
Reply with quote  #2

1480840419
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480840419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480840419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480840419
Reply with quote  #2

1480840419
Report to moderator
1480840419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480840419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480840419
Reply with quote  #2

1480840419
Report to moderator
1480840419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480840419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480840419
Reply with quote  #2

1480840419
Report to moderator
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 12:29:02 AM
 #2

Give a look here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Lots of info there.  Grin

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
programmargorp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 12:37:14 AM
 #3

The list ranged from 200 to 500, idk where mine is supposed to fit in ._.
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 12:41:29 AM
 #4

Well start out with the type of card you have.  6950 yes.  1Gb or 2?  Unlocked shaders or no?  Clockspeed of gpu?

This should help you to narrow it down.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 12:45:25 AM
 #5

Overclocked no? Settings? Phoenix or polcbm with guiminer?

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

programmargorp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 12:50:40 AM
 #6

I have 2gb, Shaders not unlocked, stock clock.
I have no idea which miner im using ._.
stevegee58
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 783



View Profile
March 24, 2012, 01:00:36 AM
 #7

Try other miners too.  Like you I started out with guiminer.  I eventually moved to cgminer because it gives such good regulated control over temperature, over/underclocking, undervolting, etc.

By experimenting with different kernels and clock/volt settings I was able to get my 6770 up to the max hash rates I was seeing around the web.

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
programmargorp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 01:02:51 AM
 #8

Unfortunately my 6950 is running at 85 degrees atm =(
It doesn't look like ill be overclocking any time soon.
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 01:04:03 AM
 #9

With that card you should be getting 300-340 at stock clocks I think.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
programmargorp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 01:10:53 AM
 #10

Try other miners too.  Like you I started out with guiminer.  I eventually moved to cgminer because it gives such good regulated control over temperature, over/underclocking, undervolting, etc.

By experimenting with different kernels and clock/volt settings I was able to get my 6770 up to the max hash rates I was seeing around the web.
Any chance you can teach me how to use cgminer?
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 01:18:07 AM
 #11

Just go read up at cgminer thread

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

hongus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


1hongus


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 02:42:23 AM
 #12

You're definitely not getting the maximum of mhashes you can get. My non-OC'd 6870 gets 280 mhash/s on cgminer. Before trying cgminer try to set the "extra flags:" in GUIminer. Try to set  -v -w128 -f1. Then if you're not satisfied try cgminer. It's definitely more difficult to use than GUIminer but you'll get used to it.

1HoNGusEgzyXfvQnxHrJjx4bunJRf9pK19
stevegee58
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 783



View Profile
March 24, 2012, 10:33:16 AM
 #13

Unfortunately my 6950 is running at 85 degrees atm =(
It doesn't look like ill be overclocking any time soon.

If you underclock the memory (not needed for BTC hashing) it greatly reduces the temperature.  You'll have to do some research and then experiment yourself.  For instance my card's stock clocks are 850 MHz GPU and 1200MHz memory.  I currently run 960/300 and my temp is around 70-75C.  By reducing the RAM speed you can run higher GPU speeds for the same or lower temperature.

You definitely don't want to run at 85C for any length of time.  At least aim for less than 80C.

Also, is your 6950 plugged into your motherboard or in an external rack?  If it's on your motherboard, leave your PC's case open.  This *greatly* improves airflow and reduces temperature.  This is what I do.  I leave the side panel off my PC all the time now.

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 01:15:12 PM
 #14

I have a 6950 2gb.
Im using GUIMiner, and it's currently cracking at ~260MHash/s
How many MHashes/s should i expect with this card?
At default clocks (800mhz core) my 6950 make like 325mhash/s with cgminer, pretty much same in Guiminer with -v -w128

And definitely underclock the memory, temperature will get lower. You can use MSI Afterburner for that (and remember that the first time you launch it you can go only to like 620mhz, then apply, close and launch again and go to like 300 and apply)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!