Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:32:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [WTS] ATX PSU to 2.5 or 2.1/5.5mm 12V coaxial plug power cables [New Product!!]  (Read 63464 times)
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 12:14:35 AM
 #1

EDIT: 3-28-2013   It has been one year since I started selling my cables here to help the FPGA mining community and I just wanted to say thank you for keeping this endeavor going. I always new it was a niche project but it was fun and allowed me to positively occupy my time.  Smiley  Thank you guys again.

Because of current BTC pricing I will no longer list my prices as they become irrelevant too quickly. Just PM me for a quote.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have made some ATX to barrel plug adapters for my BFL singles. Smiley
Some people may not want to be bothered making up there own custom cables or losing precious efficiency with the BFL supplied power bricks.  Huh
These cables will also fit the Icarus or ztex FPGA or any 12V 2.5/5.5mm DC plug peripheral.  I can also do 2.1/5.5 DC plugs which are found on the x6500.
I can make cable adapters or direct to modular PSU connectors.


Here are the base type cables that I currently make:

These cables are 32" long with 2.5/5.5mm center +ve barrel plugs at a pitch of 8" for BFL single spacing.

For my needs I have used an EPS12V and a direct to PSU PCIE connector (for simpler cable management).


I can easily change the: pitch -> distance between barrel plugs
                                 connector type -> EPS12V, PCIE, 4 pin CPU, even direct to PSU connections (with a properly supplied pinout)
                                 length -> depending on your application
                                 wire thickness -> 18AWG is standard but also have 16AWG for longer runs or BFLs
                                 sleeving -> I find it aids in cable management (buyers choice)

I also now provide switches for your ATX power supplies if it is not the host system: Can be for modular and non-modular types. Pricing is Please PM each


Here is a cable for powering a Raspberry Pi from an ATX PSU.


Larger quantities are not a problem as well.  Fast turnaround time and shipping!

The base type cable specs are (up to 6' long, custom pitch, 18AWG, up to 3 barrel plugs, male PCIE connector, sleeve/heatshrink) I am asking Please PM which includes shipping within USA.  
Further customized cables may be more depending on the work or materials needed.

Disclaimer:  I take no responsibility for the improper use of these cables. They will be wired accordingly and tested to work on your PSU and FPGAs to power them.  Incorrect use of these cables that causes damage to your PSU or FPGAs is not my responsibility.  Receipt of payment confirms these statements.

Caution: It is possible to connect a 12vEPS from a PSU into the 6pin or 8pin PCIE power cable I provide.  The polarities of these two cables are opposite and could damage your hardware!!!
Be very certain when ordering and using my cables that you know which are which!!!


Please PM me if you are interested.   Any questions, post away.  Grin




EDIT: 3/29/2012 - Clarified some points and added disclaimer.
        4/26/2012 - Added cautionary statement about polarity.
        5/27/2012 - Added switches to products available and editing
        7/6/2012 - Changed pricing due to exchange rates
        8/2/2012 - Rally Pricing!!!
        8/15/2012 - Rally Pricing Again!!!
        3/28/2013 - Anniversary acknowledgement
        9/18/2013 - New Product added

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
1481164353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164353
Reply with quote  #2

1481164353
Report to moderator
1481164353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164353
Reply with quote  #2

1481164353
Report to moderator
1481164353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164353
Reply with quote  #2

1481164353
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481164353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164353
Reply with quote  #2

1481164353
Report to moderator
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 12:44:10 AM
 #2

Beautiful, looks perfect. So even the last few inches are 18AWG? I saw another user that had made his own, and it looked like he had used something a bit smaller.

Seems like a great price for those that need them - at the moment I only have 1 Single, so I don't.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 02:27:23 AM
 #3

I cannot wait to get my singles..... Angry

...and yes these are 18AWG throughout.

I do not solder cut cables together but rather crimp the necessary pins and add the ATX connector. 
For larger gauge wire I will solder on a barrel plug but still terminate the ATX side with crimped pins.

P.S. - If you think anybody could need some point them my way.  (shameless plug)  Cool

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2012, 01:58:08 PM
 #4

I got 4 singles, can you make me a cable with 4 plugs?
Could you give me a deal if I get 2 x 4 plug cables?
Will the plug direct into PSU work with mose PSUs?
I will probably get a 800 watt PSU to run up to 8 singles, can you recommend a good gold rated unit?
How do I turn on the PSU? Can you also make a button that plugs into the motherboard cable to switch it on and off?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2012, 02:44:42 PM
 #5

Update, just bought this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153145

I want 6 cables with 2 plugs on each that plug directly into the PSU. I will mail the cables that come with it to you for modification.
Want to run the 4 singles im getting and expand to 12 in the future. I also will send you the cpu cable for you to add a power toggle switch.
Basically how many btc for adding 12 12v plugs and a switch then shipping it back? I am on the west coast usa.

I will give great feeback

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 04:11:37 PM
 #6

Should be no problem.  Will PM you with details.  Cheesy

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2012, 04:13:30 PM
 #7

Actually looking at these two, fully modular
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341046
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139014

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
coretechs
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 362



View Profile
March 28, 2012, 04:34:52 PM
 #8

Very nice, I would definitely be interested in a set of cables like these.  Sending you PM.

http://bitcoindoc.com - The Rise and Rise of Bitcoin | http://nxtportal.org - Nxt blockchain explorer
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 05:40:51 PM
 #9

Got your PM coretechs.  Should be no problems.  Grin

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 06:35:22 PM
 #10

Looks nice...

Help me recall power output of 6pin and 8pin pci-e?!?

Can you actually run 2 BFL singles off a 6 pin? (3 off an 8-pin)?

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 07:19:48 PM
 #11

Thanks JWU42

The conservative numbers for the 6pin is 75w and 8pin is 150w.  They are over-designed though and can do more as 18AWG can carry a max of 10 Amps per wire so 120w per pair.

I sourced this from Toms Hardware:  The PCI-E connecter has 6 pins. They are not all used for power. For the 6 pin connector, Pins 1 & 3 are 12V & each can carry 8 Amps. Pin 2 by spec is not connected, although some PSU manufacturers do add a 12V line there. Pins 4 & 6 are Com return lines. Pin5 is Com for sensing. Using 2 lines, you get 12V*8A*2= 192Watts, much over the required 75Watts. With an 8 pin PCI-E connector, 2 Com lines are added (4&Cool not a 12V & Com. There, Pins 1,2,3 are 12V, Pin 4 is a Com for the 8 pin connector sensing, Pin 5,7,8 are Com return lines, & pin 6 is for the 6 pin connector sensing. Using that config, 12V*8Amp*3=288 Watts, much over the required 150Watts.

AFAIK the sense pins are not used and are just com return as well.

A relevant discussion was held here:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=67819
The consensus was that you could do 1 BFL single per 12V line because of gained efficiency of Gold standard PSU vs. power brick.  Pulls around 73W.

Hope that helps.  Smiley

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2012, 07:28:06 PM
 #12

Ah, already here Smiley
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
March 29, 2012, 04:55:46 AM
 #13

Could you just make them long like this so I have freedom in the future?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=67819.msg817182#msg817182

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
March 29, 2012, 11:28:16 AM
 #14

Hey bitpop,

Sure, I can make them full length for you.  If they are going to be around 6ft long I would suggest 16AWG for better efficiency.  They would also only be sleeved near the ATX connector around 1ft or so.

Sound OK?

 

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
March 29, 2012, 11:33:20 AM
 #15

Sure, so 6 units
8 pin pci-e direct into psu to 2 dc plugs

Self reminder: 5v load, switch.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
March 30, 2012, 07:33:07 AM
 #16

So for 4 Icarus FPGA boards 1 8-pin PCIE connector should be enough. Could you build me a cable that maxes out one 8-pin PCIE plug so I have some room for future expansion. Since the dual fpga Icarus boards are no longer sold I figure I'd use  the rev3 x6500 boards instead and I also presume that those should work just fine as they switched to using 12v instead of 5v.


Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
March 30, 2012, 12:25:29 PM
 #17

Hi allinvain,

The 8pin pcie cable only has 3 +12v lines.  How many FPGAs would you like to run off those 3 +12s? 
The only other thing to be aware of is the Icarus uses a 2.5/5.5mm barrel plug. Does the rev3 x6500 use a 2.1/5.5 or 2.5/5.5mm plug?

All that being said, I can easily make what you are looking for so just send me a PM with the details.  Smiley

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
March 30, 2012, 02:37:43 PM
 #18

Hi allinvain,

The 8pin pcie cable only has 3 +12v lines.  How many FPGAs would you like to run off those 3 +12s? 
The only other thing to be aware of is the Icarus uses a 2.5/5.5mm barrel plug. Does the rev3 x6500 use a 2.1/5.5 or 2.5/5.5mm plug?

All that being said, I can easily make what you are looking for so just send me a PM with the details.  Smiley


Oh shoot, you're right, the x6500 uses a 2.1/5.5 connector.

Well I'd like to run 4 at the moment (4 x 20 watt). Later on I'll ask you to build a cable to power two bitforce singles.

Let me send you a PM.

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 02, 2012, 03:20:00 AM
 #19

I have a somewhat unrelated question that I'm hoping some of you already know the answer to. I'd like to know what the efficiency rating is on the power adapters sold with the x6500, icarus and BFL Single fpga boards. How much more efficient is it to use say a 80Plus Gold PSU versus the power bricks sold with these mining boards?

bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 02, 2012, 06:45:10 AM
 #20

Those chinese bricks make A LOT of heat, well never actually seen the bfl ones but I'm going to guess they are only 60% efficient.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!