Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2018, 09:43:38 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking BFL Monarchs and servicing them while times are weird.  (Read 18980 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1039

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
May 16, 2017, 02:47:51 AM
 #121

Ok. I'll PM you my info, I'll take a look at the little thing.

1540331018
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540331018

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540331018
Reply with quote  #2

1540331018
Report to moderator
1540331018
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540331018

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540331018
Reply with quote  #2

1540331018
Report to moderator
1540331018
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540331018

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540331018
Reply with quote  #2

1540331018
Report to moderator
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540331018
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540331018

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540331018
Reply with quote  #2

1540331018
Report to moderator
1540331018
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540331018

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540331018
Reply with quote  #2

1540331018
Report to moderator
1540331018
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540331018

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540331018
Reply with quote  #2

1540331018
Report to moderator
grandpa86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 16, 2017, 02:39:33 PM
 #122

I took it off the mount and inspected it closely. There is a chip of some sort in the lower right hand corner that appears to be burned. The label appears to be U17. Little square thing with 4 prongs. Thanks. grandpa86
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1039

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
May 16, 2017, 07:14:18 PM
 #123

Oh post a pic or a link to a imgur or something.
AlpacaBros
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 03:29:48 PM
 #124

Hi lightfoot,

I have been give 8 BLF Monarchs.  I would like to get them up and running.  Been working with BFG but getting errors.  Can I get a copy of the special 4.2.0 miner?

2017-06-06 09:31:17] BFL 1ct: Failed to find work for queue results: D887,47,0

I think this is similar to the error I read about from the previous posts.

Thanks

Matt
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1039

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 04:58:07 PM
 #125

Yeah, that. I see BFL doesn't have the software download, let me see if I have a copy here.
C
AlpacaBros
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 05:46:24 PM
 #126

Thanks - really appreciate that.
AlpacaBros
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 07:22:27 PM
 #127

Hey lightfoot,

Is this the correct version - bfgminer-4.2.0-win64.zip?

Thanks

Matt
AlpacaBros
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 09:36:48 PM
 #128

Ok - I don't think that is the version because all I got was an error message saying "This is Gibberish"
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1039

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 10:12:58 PM
 #129

Try this for a copy of the software:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/f82ace9scav0jml/Bfgminer-For%20Monarchs.zip?dl=0

Download, extract, fix the bfgminer.conf file to include your pool, username, password, etc and you should be good to go. Needs 64 bit windows 7,8,10.

C
AlpacaBros
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 11:52:10 PM
 #130

Hey lightfoot,

I tried the link and just got this.

Error (429)
This link is temporarily disabled. The person who shared it hit their daily limit of traffic or downloads. Learn about traffic limits.

Thanks
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1039

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
June 07, 2017, 12:18:30 AM
 #131

Hey lightfoot,

I tried the link and just got this.

Error (429)
This link is temporarily disabled. The person who shared it hit their daily limit of traffic or downloads. Learn about traffic limits.

Thanks
That stinks. Make sure you're not using tor, pm me your email and I'll send it.
C
AlpacaBros
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 07, 2017, 03:10:44 PM
 #132

lightfoot,

Thanks so much.  It is working perfectly.  No errors - nothing.

lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1039

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
June 07, 2017, 06:22:01 PM
 #133

lightfoot,

Thanks so much.  It is working perfectly.  No errors - nothing.


Yep the first gen firmware had some oddness on out of order responses the software compensated.

Anyone else need it feel free to use that link.
Ed.Snowden
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2017, 02:07:54 PM
 #134

So what was the final results? How much were you able to stably overclock? How efficient can they be when underclocked? Why does mine have 3 pcie power ports while the instructions say 2? I think that this thread is and was interesting, why no updates or final summary? Also the link to the mining program for the first generation monarch's is dead.
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1039

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 01:09:02 AM
 #135

They can run a good .5 w  /gh. Nice part is how quiet they are. 3 plug units were the best just run them.
Ed.Snowden
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2017, 05:59:12 AM
 #136

I just got my monarch, new, unused (supposedly) from eBay. I can't try it out yet because the power supply that I ordered hasn't arrived yet. I know that it's not efficient enough for modern mining, but I think that it's just plain cool looking, with it's little radiator and everything exposed for view on the desktop. And if I run it at work the electricity won't matter. The power supply that I ordered is an EVGA 80+ Gold Rated 650GQ power supply. Do you think that it was a good choice for the 700 Monarch? Has anyone ever tried WaterWetter added to the coolant? It prevents bubbles from forming on aluminum, it's worth up to 30°f in automotive applications.
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1039

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 02:46:56 PM
Merited by vapourminer (1)
 #137

Don't open the loop unless you have a spare heat sink set (some guy is selling them on Ebay for $20 each, if your Monarch had a leak in the cooling system that's a nice fix). Those things run the chips quite warm (60c) and any disruption in cooling will blow the chips since it is *very* thin (which really helps with heat dissipation).

Use the V3X and FBX values to slow it down, remember the second digit is hexidecimal but voltages above 4 are locked out) and have fun with it.
Ed.Snowden
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2017, 03:30:54 AM
 #138

 Angry I can't get it to work! When I plug it into my laptop, it isn't recognized...like nothing was plugged in. I installed the newest Virtual COM Port Drivers (http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm) and everything works with my little Butterfly BFL60, but the Monarch just sits there with the fans and pumps running. What do I do now? My laptop is Windows 7 and I'm using BFG Miner 5.4.2, maybe I need a different OS for usb?
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1039

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 30, 2017, 04:14:26 AM
 #139

Check in hardware settings/device manager to see if a COM port is appearing. Also if the thing has two plugs you need to use the special 4.20 version of BFGMiner. If three use the latest version.

C
Ed.Snowden
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2017, 07:10:29 AM
 #140

It has 3 pcie power ports, it is the latest version, nothing at all happens to my PC when I plug it in (not even the sound when a device is connected) like nothing is connected at all. When I connect the BFL60, without the drivers it makes a sound and looks for drivers and when I connect the Monarch NOTHING happens at all. And BFG Miner can't find it.
I'll take it to a local computer shop and have them trouble shoot it tomorrow, but tonight I'm depressed and disgusted with it. Angry
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!