Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2018, 09:42:26 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking BFL Monarchs and servicing them while times are weird.  (Read 18980 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
cbjarscoobs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 10:33:03 PM
 #161

Don't open the loop unless you have a spare heat sink set (some guy is selling them on Ebay for $20 each, if your Monarch had a leak in the cooling system that's a nice fix). Those things run the chips quite warm (60c) and any disruption in cooling will blow the chips since it is *very* thin (which really helps with heat dissipation).

Use the V3X and FBX values to slow it down, remember the second digit is hexidecimal but voltages above 4 are locked out) and have fun with it.

do we put the V3X and FBX in the .conf file? Trying to find the syntax, but struggling to find the answer.
1540330946
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540330946

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540330946
Reply with quote  #2

1540330946
Report to moderator
1540330946
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540330946

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540330946
Reply with quote  #2

1540330946
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540330946
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540330946

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540330946
Reply with quote  #2

1540330946
Report to moderator
1540330946
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540330946

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540330946
Reply with quote  #2

1540330946
Report to moderator
1540330946
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540330946

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540330946
Reply with quote  #2

1540330946
Report to moderator
Benjaminplease
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 21, 2018, 04:55:48 PM
 #162

Trying to get my 2 monarchs to work.

The admins keep deleting my posts and not sure if my pm's are going through.

Thanks Ed for the bfg link. Need to reinstall.

Does the code for the cfminer coding transfer 100% to bfgminer?



Does awesome miner work with monarch BFl 700? In order To do cryptomining auto switching



I got my two 500ghs monarchs running off the BFG 4.2 provided in this thread but only pulling 280 watts at 350 ghs. My 700 ghs keeps erroring out with the 4.2 bfgminer


When you say erroring out do you mean the "sanity check" or it stops?

Mine did a lot of sanity checks then it would warm up and run ok. Kept a fan on it so it wouldn't overheat but made some coin on it...
Kuschelweich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 21, 2018, 06:11:35 PM
 #163

Don't open the loop unless you have a spare heat sink set (some guy is selling them on Ebay for $20 each, if your Monarch had a leak in the cooling system that's a nice fix). Those things run the chips quite warm (60c) and any disruption in cooling will blow the chips since it is *very* thin (which really helps with heat dissipation).

Use the V3X and FBX values to slow it down, remember the second digit is hexidecimal but voltages above 4 are locked out) and have fun with it.

do we put the V3X and FBX in the .conf file? Trying to find the syntax, but struggling to find the answer.

BFL had a underclocking manual for these, it's somewhat brief but does explain this a bit. I'll see if I can post the manual here, but here's some excerpts from it:

Passing commands:
Code:
bfgminer  <network & hashing related parameters…> --set bfl:_cmd1=F0D --set bfl:_cmd1=V5X

Setting Frequency:
To set the regular frequency, command: ‘F’,’<INDEX>’,’X’ can be used.  This sets the frequency index in regular mode (the slower mode). To operate in the fast 2x mode, ‘F’<INDEX>’D’ must be used.   
For example, to set the frequency to index 3 in regular mode, ‘F3X’ must be submitted. To set the frequency index to 1 at 2x mode, ‘F1D’ should be used. Once either command is issued, the on-board controller recalibrates all the engines on the board to decommission the ones that can’t operate with the new frequency setting. It is HIGHLY recommended to set the core-voltage to proper value before changing the frequency. 
Since the on-board ASICs use Ring-Oscillators, frequency index cannot be accurately mapped to any number (variance could be as high as 40%). Temperature and core voltage will affect the frequency as well.



eroxors
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Think. Positive. Thoughts.


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2018, 05:20:37 PM
 #164

I have two Monarchs that seem to have faulty temperature sensors and they stop hashing very quickly after bootup. Any way to fix the problem?

I have another with 15% HW error rate, any ideas on this?

eroxors
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Think. Positive. Thoughts.


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2018, 06:13:54 PM
 #165

I have two Monarchs that seem to have faulty temperature sensors and they stop hashing very quickly after bootup. Any way to fix the problem?

I have another with 15% HW error rate, any ideas on this?

Error rate is only this high with the custom BFL bgfminer 4.2. On 4.10 it seems better and hashrates are higher. However, I'm getting a "failed to find work for queue results" on one Monarch and the two with temp monitor issues do not show up at all.

BadgerHobbs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 3

Join CKPool!


View Profile
January 25, 2018, 10:41:57 PM
 #166

I'm having major issues with my 750GH/s Monarch. When i plug my 500GH/s versions into my PSU, they work fine. But when i plug my 750GH/s model in, nothing happens. I have to turn the PSUoff and on again to get it working with my 500GH/s model. Please help!

1H43V4PczcWxfYAkuK3m221G4vKCKngyRV
eroxors
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Think. Positive. Thoughts.


View Profile WWW
January 26, 2018, 07:38:28 PM
 #167

I'm having major issues with my 750GH/s Monarch. When i plug my 500GH/s versions into my PSU, they work fine. But when i plug my 750GH/s model in, nothing happens. I have to turn the PSUoff and on again to get it working with my 500GH/s model. Please help!

I have a couple that are doing weird things as well, I will try underclocking based on Kuschelweich's post and report back.

lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1039

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 12:27:23 AM
 #168

I'm having major issues with my 750GH/s Monarch. When i plug my 500GH/s versions into my PSU, they work fine. But when i plug my 750GH/s model in, nothing happens. I have to turn the PSUoff and on again to get it working with my 500GH/s model. Please help!
Can you check the resistance across the pcie pins to see if it's shorting out? One failure mode on the Monarchs is the high side FETs short due to overheating which crowbars the power supply.

C
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1039

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 12:29:12 AM
 #169

I have two Monarchs that seem to have faulty temperature sensors and they stop hashing very quickly after bootup. Any way to fix the problem?

I have another with 15% HW error rate, any ideas on this?
15% error rate is not a big deal, a few engines are screaming but they don't really pull power. As long as it hashes well let it be.

As for the faulty temp sensors, are you sure the water blocks are running? Listen for the water at the radiator top, then check around to see if there are any signs of leaks around the water blocks/pumps.

C
BadgerHobbs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 3

Join CKPool!


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 03:28:30 PM
 #170

I'm having major issues with my 750GH/s Monarch. When i plug my 500GH/s versions into my PSU, they work fine. But when i plug my 750GH/s model in, nothing happens. I have to turn the PSUoff and on again to get it working with my 500GH/s model. Please help!
Can you check the resistance across the pcie pins to see if it's shorting out? One failure mode on the Monarchs is the high side FETs short due to overheating which crowbars the power supply.

C


I don't have a multi-meter to check for resistance, however i have discovered that its plugged in and i attempt to powered it up, it smells of burnt plastic and i even thought that i saw a little smoke from one of the pumps or something.

1H43V4PczcWxfYAkuK3m221G4vKCKngyRV
cbjarscoobs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 05:27:45 PM
 #171

Trying to get my 2 monarchs to work.

The admins keep deleting my posts and not sure if my pm's are going through.

Thanks Ed for the bfg link. Need to reinstall.

Does the code for the cfminer coding transfer 100% to bfgminer?



Does awesome miner work with monarch BFl 700? In order To do cryptomining auto switching



I got my two 500ghs monarchs running off the BFG 4.2 provided in this thread but only pulling 280 watts at 350 ghs. My 700 ghs keeps erroring out with the 4.2 bfgminer



When you say erroring out do you mean the "sanity check" or it stops?

Mine did a lot of sanity checks then it would warm up and run ok. Kept a fan on it so it wouldn't overheat but made some coin on it...


http://i68.tinypic.com/wqpoqq.png

that is what i am getting. Just looks like it overheats. Fans are working and feels like the water is pumping around.
Benjaminplease
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 10:09:42 PM
 #172


http://i68.tinypic.com/wqpoqq.png

that is what i am getting. Just looks like it overheats. Fans are working and feels like the water is pumping around.

Stupid question,  do you have a separate fan blowing on them? I used a floor fan and it made a big difference. Test the direction to be sure you're not blowing the hot air back into them. If you find another solution please post it.
eroxors
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Think. Positive. Thoughts.


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2018, 03:43:14 PM
 #173

I have two Monarchs that seem to have faulty temperature sensors and they stop hashing very quickly after bootup. Any way to fix the problem?

I have another with 15% HW error rate, any ideas on this?
15% error rate is not a big deal, a few engines are screaming but they don't really pull power. As long as it hashes well let it be.

As for the faulty temp sensors, are you sure the water blocks are running? Listen for the water at the radiator top, then check around to see if there are any signs of leaks around the water blocks/pumps.

C

I believe you are correct, sir.

I can hear fluid when I shake it, but I can't hear any fluid moving when I turn it on. I can tell at least one of the pumps initiates, but the copper blocks heat up immediately, some shares are accepted and then when the temp reaches 85 they shut down. Too little fluid perhaps. I have ordered new cooling units, I'll see if that fixes the issue.

Another issue, I have a 700gh unit that only hashes at 320gh with bfg 4.10 and 400 with BFL custom bfg 4.2. Could this be another cooling issue with one of the units shutting down?

cbjarscoobs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2018, 03:57:03 PM
 #174

I have two Monarchs that seem to have faulty temperature sensors and they stop hashing very quickly after bootup. Any way to fix the problem?

I have another with 15% HW error rate, any ideas on this?
15% error rate is not a big deal, a few engines are screaming but they don't really pull power. As long as it hashes well let it be.

As for the faulty temp sensors, are you sure the water blocks are running? Listen for the water at the radiator top, then check around to see if there are any signs of leaks around the water blocks/pumps.

C

I believe you are correct, sir.

I can hear fluid when I shake it, but I can't hear any fluid moving when I turn it on. I can tell at least one of the pumps initiates, but the copper blocks heat up immediately, some shares are accepted and then when the temp reaches 85 they shut down. Too little fluid perhaps. I have ordered new cooling units, I'll see if that fixes the issue.

Another issue, I have a 700gh unit that only hashes at 320gh with bfg 4.10 and 400 with BFL custom bfg 4.2. Could this be another cooling issue with one of the units shutting down?

I am having the exact same issue with my 700gh unit. What time s the other cooling unit u are ordering? Do you have a killawatt attached to see wattage draw? Mine seems to spike over 750 watt usage when I turn it on
eroxors
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Think. Positive. Thoughts.


View Profile WWW
February 01, 2018, 09:47:25 PM
 #175

I have two Monarchs that seem to have faulty temperature sensors and they stop hashing very quickly after bootup. Any way to fix the problem?

I have another with 15% HW error rate, any ideas on this?
15% error rate is not a big deal, a few engines are screaming but they don't really pull power. As long as it hashes well let it be.

As for the faulty temp sensors, are you sure the water blocks are running? Listen for the water at the radiator top, then check around to see if there are any signs of leaks around the water blocks/pumps.

C

I believe you are correct, sir.

I can hear fluid when I shake it, but I can't hear any fluid moving when I turn it on. I can tell at least one of the pumps initiates, but the copper blocks heat up immediately, some shares are accepted and then when the temp reaches 85 they shut down. Too little fluid perhaps. I have ordered new cooling units, I'll see if that fixes the issue.

Another issue, I have a 700gh unit that only hashes at 320gh with bfg 4.10 and 400 with BFL custom bfg 4.2. Could this be another cooling issue with one of the units shutting down?

I am having the exact same issue with my 700gh unit. What time s the other cooling unit u are ordering? Do you have a killawatt attached to see wattage draw? Mine seems to spike over 750 watt usage when I turn it on

Good news. Lightfoot was correct, the issue was the coolers. I replaced the two non-functioning units and the monarchs are now hashing along nicely. I am going to try replacing the cooler on the 700GH unit tomorrow.

lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1039

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
February 05, 2018, 04:46:16 PM
 #176

Great! Post how you did it (include things like did you remove the old compound from the chips, what you put on, screw torque amounts, etc) so other people can do this as well.

The Ebay coolers are a bargain....
cbjarscoobs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2018, 10:42:29 PM
 #177

Great! Post how you did it (include things like did you remove the old compound from the chips, what you put on, screw torque amounts, etc) so other people can do this as well.

The Ebay coolers are a bargain....

Would I be able to take the pumps off a working 400mhs Unit and install them on a 700mhs?
cbjarscoobs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 16, 2018, 08:55:27 PM
 #178

I have two Monarchs that seem to have faulty temperature sensors and they stop hashing very quickly after bootup. Any way to fix the problem?

I have another with 15% HW error rate, any ideas on this?
15% error rate is not a big deal, a few engines are screaming but they don't really pull power. As long as it hashes well let it be.

As for the faulty temp sensors, are you sure the water blocks are running? Listen for the water at the radiator top, then check around to see if there are any signs of leaks around the water blocks/pumps.

C

I believe you are correct, sir.

I can hear fluid when I shake it, but I can't hear any fluid moving when I turn it on. I can tell at least one of the pumps initiates, but the copper blocks heat up immediately, some shares are accepted and then when the temp reaches 85 they shut down. Too little fluid perhaps. I have ordered new cooling units, I'll see if that fixes the issue.

Another issue, I have a 700gh unit that only hashes at 320gh with bfg 4.10 and 400 with BFL custom bfg 4.2. Could this be another cooling issue with one of the units shutting down?

I am having the exact same issue with my 700gh unit. What time s the other cooling unit u are ordering? Do you have a killawatt attached to see wattage draw? Mine seems to spike over 750 watt usage when I turn it on

Good news. Lightfoot was correct, the issue was the coolers. I replaced the two non-functioning units and the monarchs are now hashing along nicely. I am going to try replacing the cooler on the 700GH unit tomorrow.

Did you use a walkthrough for replacing the coolers?
eroxors
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Think. Positive. Thoughts.


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2018, 04:27:24 PM
 #179

Great! Post how you did it (include things like did you remove the old compound from the chips, what you put on, screw torque amounts, etc) so other people can do this as well.

The Ebay coolers are a bargain....

I bought the bulk package for $75. I have extras now. They came with the compound on the HS and I removed what was on the units with alcohol. I screwed the back brackets on opposing ends until the flexion on the bracket was almost inverted. It's very similar to a GPU HSF. One issue I had was a bracket was missing the rubber standoffs, but I had some rubber I cut to put in its place.


Sorry, but I didn't take pictures and I sold the Monarchs I had.

eroxors
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Think. Positive. Thoughts.


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2018, 04:33:04 PM
 #180

Great! Post how you did it (include things like did you remove the old compound from the chips, what you put on, screw torque amounts, etc) so other people can do this as well.

The Ebay coolers are a bargain....

Would I be able to take the pumps off a working 400mhs Unit and install them on a 700mhs?


Probably. I did this once to test the problematic 700mhs unit I had, prior to getting the new units. I was never able to figure out the 700 unit I had that was hashing at 400 - 460. It wasn't cooling or power.

These units are very interesting. I'm impressed that BFL was able to produce such a decent unit (albeit hot-running and below performance expectations) given all of their failings.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!