Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:45:40 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7970 Blue Screen Error Code 7E Help!  (Read 2471 times)
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
April 11, 2012, 11:58:18 PM
 #1

I did a little research on this and it seems like it's the drivers.

I've been using DiabloMiner and it blue screens every 4-6 hours ... really annoying.

I am using the latest 12.3 Drivers.

Any suggestions?
1480905940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905940
Reply with quote  #2

1480905940
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480905940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905940
Reply with quote  #2

1480905940
Report to moderator
1480905940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905940
Reply with quote  #2

1480905940
Report to moderator
1480905940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905940
Reply with quote  #2

1480905940
Report to moderator
dizzy1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 12:26:20 AM
 #2

Don't use windows? Don't overclock as much?
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
April 12, 2012, 12:35:00 AM
 #3

Don't use windows? Don't overclock as much?

It's not a dedicated rig. Just has 4 7970s in it mining and I'm using it for work etc.

not OC'd either.
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
April 12, 2012, 12:50:15 AM
 #4

Temps?
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
April 12, 2012, 12:57:57 AM
 #5

Temps?

~50s for all cards @ 55-60% fan speed
Coinoisseur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 02:44:38 AM
 #6

Try cgminer?
chiropteran
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348



View Profile WWW
April 12, 2012, 05:55:49 AM
 #7

How close are you to your power supply's rated power?

ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
April 12, 2012, 08:29:56 AM
 #8

Try cgminer?

Does CGMiner support 7970s now?


How close are you to your power supply's rated power?

im at 950w my PSU is 1300w
dizzy1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 03:14:32 PM
 #9

Last time I checked it supported 7970s.
pirateat40
Avast Ye!
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


"Yes I am a pirate, 200 years too late."


View Profile WWW
April 12, 2012, 03:19:09 PM
 #10

All of the windows updates and MB chipset drivers updated?

chiropteran
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348



View Profile WWW
April 12, 2012, 05:43:01 PM
 #11

I doubt it's the driver, unless there is a peculiarity with running multiple cards only.  My single 7970 is running under 12.3 and I use diablominer, and I haven't seen a blue screen crash ever (since buying the card).

I asked about power because I don't really think it's the video card.

I'd guess you have some piece of faulty hardware.  I'd remove 2 cards and test mining, if you still crash swap those and test the other two, if it's stable with one set of cards but not the other apparently you have a bad card.  If you have more than one stick of RAM I'd test that as well, just do some mining on a single stick and if you still crash test with the other single stick, etc.

If you find that it mines fine with any 3 cards but occasionally crashes with 4, it may be the strain on the power supply, even below the rated wattage you might have a partly defective power supply.  Or if you only crash when using a certain PCI-E slot it could be a problem with the motherboard.

likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
April 12, 2012, 06:36:54 PM
 #12

Many, if not all, of my BSOD's have been the result of Catalyst Control Center. It took me a week to figure it out, I will never install it again.

AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
April 20, 2012, 05:26:37 AM
 #13

Many, if not all, of my BSOD's have been the result of Catalyst Control Center. It took me a week to figure it out, I will never install it again.

QFT. My pair of 7970 also dont seem to like CCC either.

BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
April 20, 2012, 05:49:24 AM
 #14

Many, if not all, of my BSOD's have been the result of Catalyst Control Center. It took me a week to figure it out, I will never install it again.

CCC is in the top half a percent of the detestable software list, easily. Maybe even the top tenth of a percent.

What you really should do: Install Linux.

What will fix your problem, if you refuse to do the above, but leave you still with a horrible OS:

(stop once you've fixed the problem)

1. Try cgminer or Phoenix. (really, they're better than DiabloMiner anyway)
2. Uninstall any related drivers (all the way) and reinstall them.
3. Test cards one by one.
4. If your cards are good, test slots, one by one.
5. Test your PSU in a different machine, with an equivalent load.
6. Same with motherboard, CPU, and RAM.
7. Test your AC outlet for reversal of voltage.
8. Slam your computer really hard against the ground while balancing a teacup full of double-strength Earl Grey upon your nose and vehemently chanting G-minor cries of vengeance against the Universe if whatever deity of technology you may or may not believe in doesn't make it work right now.

To stop the inevitable questions, of course I know how AC works. I'm curious how many people don't.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2012, 10:28:46 AM
 #15

Try cgminer?

Does CGMiner support 7970s now?
Yes. I worked my arse off to make it perform well on 7970s. You don't even need to specify anything apart from an intensity level to get the best 7970 performance. I get 720 Mhash from my 7970 running at 1200/1050+5% clocks at intensity 11. Being on windows, you'll probably have to compromise with intensity 9 and  slightly lower hashrate to avoid heavy CPU usage.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!