Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:57:32 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Temperature concerns  (Read 1119 times)
grantbdev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 03:25:16 AM
 #1

Hello, I am a new miner. I have been using GUIMiner to use my nvidia GTX 260 for more practical purposes. I am in the deepbit pool and have been making quite a bit, but I am not that concerned about becoming bit-wealthy. I do care about being able to live in my room though. Just a few hours of mining put my GPU at 80 degree Celsius and the entire second floor of my house went up 6 degrees Fahrenheit. I live in the south of the USA and summer hasn't even really begun, so I am concerned that mining won't be realistic for me if I can't control the heat generated by my PC. I have EVGA precision installed which easily allows me to over or underclock my card, but I am not sure which settings would be the most beneficial to lower in terms of lowering temp. I am not hardware illiterate but this goes beyond my experience.

The three settings presented to me are:
Core clock (Default: 576)
Shader clock (Default: 1242)
Memory clock (Default: 999)
Rate on default settings: ~45 Mhash/s

Don't use BIPS!
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481403452
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403452

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403452
Reply with quote  #2

1481403452
Report to moderator
1481403452
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403452

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403452
Reply with quote  #2

1481403452
Report to moderator
1481403452
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403452

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403452
Reply with quote  #2

1481403452
Report to moderator
Littleshop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316



View Profile WWW
May 09, 2011, 03:30:08 AM
 #2

You really need an ATI card to mine such as an HD 58XX or greater.  I am not sure you can break even on the cost of electricity with an Nvidia card without even counting the cost of air conditioning. 

rezin777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 03:31:32 AM
 #3

I am in the deepbit pool and have been making quite a bit, but I am not that concerned about becoming bit-wealthy.

With the upcoming difficulty increase I wonder if you will even be earning enough coin to pay for the electricity that thing uses.
grantbdev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 03:37:07 AM
 #4

Does ATI have an inherent advantage or something? I got this card primarily for gaming, I have always gotten nvidia cards. I dabbled in folding@home before but not for very long.

Don't use BIPS!
goatpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 03:38:34 AM
 #5

Does ATI have an inherent advantage or something?

Yes, and a crushing one at that. Within the same price range, ATi cards are 3 to 5 times faster than nVidia.

btcarmory.com
rezin777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 03:39:32 AM
 #6

Does ATI have an inherent advantage or something? I got this card primarily for gaming, I have always gotten nvidia cards. I dabbled in folding@home before but not for very long.

Yes, AMD gpus have a huge advantage.

You just decided to start mining without researching anything? How much power is your computer using? What do you pay for electricity?
grantbdev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 03:45:00 AM
 #7

Does ATI have an inherent advantage or something? I got this card primarily for gaming, I have always gotten nvidia cards. I dabbled in folding@home before but not for very long.

Yes, AMD gpus have a huge advantage.

You just decided to start mining without researching anything? How much power is your computer using? What do you pay for electricity?

Why does ATI have an advantage?

I was not trying to make a career out of mining or anything, I just decided to try it because I like the idea of bitcoins and haven't been putting my GTX 260 to work recently. Like I said, I've only done this for a few hours and it's likely I won't do it for an extended amount of time. I am just getting some bitcoins to try them out.

Don't use BIPS!
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 03:49:58 AM
 #8

Why does ATI have an advantage?

Integer Performance. Games and most GPGPU applications are mostly Floating Point performance intensive, so nvidia doesn't optimize for Integer Performance.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2011, 06:38:19 AM
 #9

Why does ATI have an advantage?

Because of this: Why are ATI GPUs faster than Nvidia GPUs?

xenon481: it is not a matter of floating point vs integer. When comparing current generation GPUs, Nvidia does not have a floating point advantage anymore over ATI. Not even with the Tesla 2000 series which can do 1 DP op every 2 cycles (Tesla C2050 = 515 DP GFLOPS vs. HD 6970 = 676 DP GFLOPS).
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!