Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:14:23 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Post your: Measured wattage of your mining rig!  (Read 5359 times)
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 04:32:33 AM
 #1

I know several people here have measured the actual power consumption of their rigs.

I measure mine using a kill a watt meter.

I just got into mining about 5 days ago, and I'm using my primary / gaming computer to mine. 

I've ordered a second video card to double my output and increase power efficiency.

Please post:

1) Brief System specs
2) Mhash/second
3) Power consumption.

I'll start:

1) Core i7 930, 6GB DDR3-1600, 1TB HD, 1 SSD, 600W ModXstream PSU, 1 DVD drive, XFX 5830, Asus Sabertooth X58.
2) Currently at 285 Mhash/sec @ 965/185 clocks
3) Average 250 Watts when mining

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Miner-TE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 513



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 05:10:12 AM
 #2

1) AMD E350, 2GB, 500GB HD, XFX 5870
2) Currently at 407 Mhash/sec @ 970/300 clocks
3) Average 213-215 Watts when mining

BTC - 1PeMMYGn7xbZjUYeaWe9ct1VV6szLS1vkD - LTC - LbtcJRJJQQBjZuHr6Wm7vtB9RnnWtRNYpq
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 06:43:52 AM
 #3

1) AMD Athlon II X2 5200+, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HD (SATA 7200 RM), 2 x Radeon 5870 @ stock speeds but with memory down to 300 Mhz
2) 702 Mhash/sec @ 850 / 300
3) Average 425 Watts

This is the only machine whose power consumption I've measured.

I've got my main desktop which has a 5970 clocked at 850 Mhz / 300 Mhz memory but for that one I've only measured it's power consumption way back when I had the memory at stock. At the time it was eating up over 500 watts.

I am thinking of taking out 2 gb of ram from the machine mentioned first. I duno if it will make a huge difference in power consumption though, maybe 5 to 10 watts? Maybe not even that. It's DDR2 800 btw.


HudsonStan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 06:54:34 AM
 #4

Intel i5-2500K, 2x4GB DDR3, 1xSDD,1xHDD,1xDVD-RW, Enermax MODU87+ 700W, + 8 USB devices
2x Radeon 6950 @ 840/1250MHz, unlocked shaders(2x1536)

720MH/s

520W

1Bgii2mFTks2xbtF7RBk6ZzSTP5rvyQEKB
Clavulanic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 07:19:48 AM
 #5

1) AMD E350, 2GB, 500GB HD, XFX 5870
2) Currently at 407 Mhash/sec @ 970/300 clocks
3) Average 213-215 Watts when mining

Wow that's pretty darn low for being overclocked. The rest of your system is pretty efficient though!

1) AMD Athlon II X2 5200+, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HD (SATA 7200 RM), 2 x Radeon 5870 @ stock speeds but with memory down to 300 Mhz
2) 702 Mhash/sec @ 850 / 300
3) Average 425 Watts

This is the only machine whose power consumption I've measured.

I've got my main desktop which has a 5970 clocked at 850 Mhz / 300 Mhz memory but for that one I've only measured it's power consumption way back when I had the memory at stock. At the time it was eating up over 500 watts.

I am thinking of taking out 2 gb of ram from the machine mentioned first. I duno if it will make a huge difference in power consumption though, maybe 5 to 10 watts? Maybe not even that. It's DDR2 800 btw.

Neat, I thought my dual 5870's would be consuming more power, but your measurements say otherwise. I don't think memory would make much of a difference, but if you're just leaving that rig to mine you could take out 2gb of ram and it probably wouldn't affect your mhash/s. Though definitely test it out.
sniper_sniperson
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 07:30:59 AM
 #6

Just one of the rigs:

AMD Phenom II x4 955 at 1600MHz and 1.150V
1x4GB A-Data DDR3-1333
one disk 320GB Seagate 7200.?
Sapphire 5970 at 735MHz and 1.049V
5870 Gigabyte SO at 950MHz and 1.1163V

Cooler Master Silent Pro M700

power consumption between 530 and 605W
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 07:38:50 AM
 #7



1) AMD Athlon II X2 5200+, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HD (SATA 7200 RM), 2 x Radeon 5870 @ stock speeds but with memory down to 300 Mhz
2) 702 Mhash/sec @ 850 / 300
3) Average 425 Watts

This is the only machine whose power consumption I've measured.

I've got my main desktop which has a 5970 clocked at 850 Mhz / 300 Mhz memory but for that one I've only measured it's power consumption way back when I had the memory at stock. At the time it was eating up over 500 watts.

I am thinking of taking out 2 gb of ram from the machine mentioned first. I duno if it will make a huge difference in power consumption though, maybe 5 to 10 watts? Maybe not even that. It's DDR2 800 btw.

Neat, I thought my dual 5870's would be consuming more power, but your measurements say otherwise. I don't think memory would make much of a difference, but if you're just leaving that rig to mine you could take out 2gb of ram and it probably wouldn't affect your mhash/s. Though definitely test it out.


Yeah I was thinking of stealing that ram and putting into a new mining machine. The system would consume even less if it wasn't that while mining with 2 GPUs cpu usage eats up 100% of one core (if you set the affinity of each poclbm process to a specific core - otherwise it will eat up 100% of BOTH cores). Seeing as the TDP for my CPU is 85 Watts I could definitely save a few watts if the cpu wasn't loaded at all or only marginally (like 1-10%) Also I am thinking of underclocking and undervolting the cpu to shave off a few watts. Other than that I'm not sure what else I can do to lower system power usage.

For your dual 5870s make sure you lower the memory to 300 Mhz. It does make a difference - roughly 30-40 Watts

njloof
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 05:08:17 PM
 #8

1) Athlon II X2 250, 2GB DDR3-133, 500MB HD, 700W PSE, 2x ATI 5870s
2) ~690 MHash/sec at 900 MHz clocks (both GPU and memory)
3) 475 W

Thanks for the note, allinvain, I'll give that a try too.
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 05:12:01 PM
 #9

Measured wattage over normal use is about 200W.  Running an MSI Radeon 8970 (overclocked the memory to 900MHz and keep temps at 75C.  I use the system most of the day via VPN, so the system is in use.  I NEVER shut my machines down, not in the almost 20 years I have owned PCs.

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 06:58:58 PM
 #10

Buying a multimeter soon... how exactly does one do this?

Simply turn the MultiMeter to watts and touch it to the MB somewhere!?
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 06:59:53 PM
 #11

Buying a multimeter soon... how exactly does one do this?

Simply turn the MultiMeter to watts and touch it to the MB somewhere!?

Measure the AC draw at the power supply.

If you are running a rig SOLELY for the purpose of mining, then you need to count ALL the power consumed.  In my case, I use the computer for other use most of the time.  Most activity doesn't utilize my video card to any great extent, so mining uses what remains [which is most of it] and that is why I only count the power difference between mining running and mining not running.  As I indicated in a previous post, my computer is in use most of the day and is never shut off, even at night [none of my computers are ... accelerates fatigue failures from heating and cooling effects].

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 07:07:49 PM
 #12

Buy a plug adapter (like http://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B000NIYM7Q) and plug it in before your system.

My whole PC (including 22" monitor and speakers) consumes ~220W while mining and 130W while idling.

Specs:
i5 2500k
P8P67 Pro Mainboard
Mouse, Keyboard
16 GB RAM
Intel SSD + 500 GB HDD (an old WD something that was lying around)
nVidia 260 GTX @ 1500 Shader Clock (didn't yet try higher clocks)
80+ 400W PSU

The nVidia card runs silently at 35% fan speed and a constant 82°C core temperature (yes, graphics cards can survive that temperature easily...)

The card does ~52 MH/s so it's not that great - but currently still profitable (and still better than nothing).
I wrote a spreadsheet though, to check whether it pays off to have 90W more @52MH/s and if difficulty increases like this, I might even loose money just letting it run - but I can easily switch the miner off again.

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
TurboRegal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 07:49:44 PM
 #13

1) AMD E350, 2GB, 500GB HD, XFX 5870
2) Currently at 407 Mhash/sec @ 970/300 clocks
3) Average 213-215 Watts when mining

Wow that's pretty darn low for being overclocked. The rest of your system is pretty efficient though!

What should it be at? I'm getting around the same on my 5870 using Phoenix Miner (Running Catalyst 10.12 and Stream 2.3, can't get Stream 2.1 working as suggested in another thread, should I switch to 2.2 though, someone said it didn't make a difference between 2.2/2.3...)
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2011, 08:34:33 PM
 #14

Rig #1:
1) AMD Sempron 140 with unlocked second core.  8 GB RAM. 8 gB SSD, 60 gB SSD.  2x GigaByte 5870
2) 424 mHash/sec per card @ 975/300 clocks
3) 520-525 watts

Rig #2:
1) AMD Sempron 140.  1 GB RAM. 8 gB SSD.  2x GigaByte 5870
2) 424 mHash/sec per card @ 975/300 clocks
3) 499-504 watts

Rig #3:
1) AMD Sempron 140.  1 GB RAM. 16 gB SSD.  1x GigaByte 5870, 1x MSI Lightning 5870
2) 424 mHash/sec per card @ 975/300 clocks
3) 497-502 watts

Rig #4:
1) AMD Sempron 140.  1 GB RAM. 2 tB 5400 rpm HDD.  1x HIS  5870, 1x MSI Lightning 5870
2) 424 mHash/sec from HIS @ 975/300, 434 mHash/sec from MSI Lightning @ 1000/285
3) 500-508 wats

Rig #5:
1) AMD Sempron 140.  1 GB RAM. 500 gB 7200 rpm HDD.  1x Sapphire 5870, 1x GigaByte 5870
2) 411 mHash/sec from Sapphire @ 950/225, 424 mHash/sec from GigaByte @ 975/300
3) 498-503 watts

Rig #6:
1) Intel Core i7 980 (overclocked & watercooled), 12 gB RAM, 160 gig SSD, 2 1tB 7200rpm HDDs, 1 1.5 tB 7200 rpm HDD.  1x Sapphire 5970
2) 320 mHash/sec per core @ 790/500.
3) 480-490 watts

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 10:44:05 PM
 #15

Wow thanks for posting guys.

@ eleuthria.  Man you sure are a hardcore miner!  Thats a lot of rigs!

Your pumping out about 4.5 G/hash per second!  Amazing!!!

You must have a very high power bill too.  $400 a month?

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2011, 10:48:05 PM
 #16

Wow thanks for posting guys.

@ eleuthria.  Man you sure are a hardcore miner!  Thats a lot of rigs!

Your pumping out about 4.5 G/hash per second!  Amazing!!!

You must have a very high power bill too.  $400 a month?

Higher.  Much, much higher.  I've paid over $400 a month last summer without all these computers running.  California electricity rates are robbery.  I have PG&E coming to my house on Friday to make a determination on switching me to commercial rates which will cut my bill in half.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 10:49:45 PM
 #17

Wow thanks for posting guys.

@ eleuthria.  Man you sure are a hardcore miner!  Thats a lot of rigs!

Your pumping out about 4.5 G/hash per second!  Amazing!!!

You must have a very high power bill too.  $400 a month?

Higher.  Much, much higher.  I've paid over $400 a month last summer without all these computers running.  California electricity rates are robbery.  I have PG&E coming to my house on Friday to make a determination on switching me to commercial rates which will cut my bill in half.
Yikes!  Those computers would cost me $180/month to run 24/7 at the highest tier rate where I live... It'd be up to quadruple that amount in CA!
smgoller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 10:55:10 PM
 #18

Wow thanks for posting guys.

@ eleuthria.  Man you sure are a hardcore miner!  Thats a lot of rigs!

Your pumping out about 4.5 G/hash per second!  Amazing!!!

You must have a very high power bill too.  $400 a month?

Higher.  Much, much higher.  I've paid over $400 a month last summer without all these computers running.  California electricity rates are robbery.  I have PG&E coming to my house on Friday to make a determination on switching me to commercial rates which will cut my bill in half.

Uh, what's the scoop on qualifying for that? I'd mine more if I could get my rates switched.

--
If I posted something that helped you out, please give me a tip:
13ndhNvWsbvHxoZDQcDcuem5frf2zbz5Xx
smgoller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 10:58:18 PM
 #19

My Rig:

AMD Sempron 140, 1GB ram, SSD, VisionTek 2x5870 clocked at 1000/300, Antec TruePower 850, LanBoy Air case and 12 fans. Positive Air Pressure FTW!

Speed: ~900Mh/s
Temperature: 75C and 70C
Wattage 550w

--
If I posted something that helped you out, please give me a tip:
13ndhNvWsbvHxoZDQcDcuem5frf2zbz5Xx
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 11:01:10 PM
 #20

Wow thanks for posting guys.

@ eleuthria.  Man you sure are a hardcore miner!  Thats a lot of rigs!

Your pumping out about 4.5 G/hash per second!  Amazing!!!

You must have a very high power bill too.  $400 a month?

Higher.  Much, much higher.  I've paid over $400 a month last summer without all these computers running.  California electricity rates are robbery.  I have PG&E coming to my house on Friday to make a determination on switching me to commercial rates which will cut my bill in half.

Wow, keep us updated on how that goes and if they switch you over.  Secondly, I imagine that switching over to all 80 Plus Platinum or Server grade PSU's with near 90% efficiency would save you quite a bit in the long run.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!