Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 06:40:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 4 x hd5970 and 1 x hd5850 work with linuxcoin and questions about psu  (Read 1605 times)
fuxianhui888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205



View Profile
April 22, 2012, 07:12:32 AM
 #1

Do 4 x hd5970 and 1 x hd5850 work properly with linuxcoin?
and are 2 x corsair hx1000w enough for them?
1481395235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395235
Reply with quote  #2

1481395235
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481395235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395235
Reply with quote  #2

1481395235
Report to moderator
1481395235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395235
Reply with quote  #2

1481395235
Report to moderator
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
April 22, 2012, 09:05:20 AM
 #2

No clue what an HD5950 is. Those have never been made.
Driver limit only allows 8 GPU's. 1 5970 counts as 2 GPUs. That means only 4 x 5970 in one motherboard.
With proper BIOS settings (underclock/udnervolt cpu) and proper gpu clocks/volts, you -should- be able to power 4 x 5970 with a single corsair hx1000. use a Kill-a-watt to verify power. 1100W at the wall should be maximum draw that I would feel safe with (counts for loss of efficiency during converting form AC to DC)
As for linuxcoin, never used it.

twoBitBasher
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85



View Profile
April 22, 2012, 01:39:47 PM
 #3

I would recommend against running your setup on just 1kw PSU. While it technically could work with the ram clocks lowered there's not much headroom.  Just starting your miners could trip the ocp of the psu... So if you want it cheap go with 2x 700w psus(gold rated).This way you don't need to start your gpus one by one.  It is more quiet too... At least for the psus Wink

If you think my comments have benefitted you it would be nice to hear thanks Smiley

Doge: DMnfgNp1HQSjtTZ1HcWiYtMwoGP5xcYDcz
fuxianhui888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205



View Profile
April 22, 2012, 06:12:19 PM
 #4

anybody knows will 4x hd5970 work with linuxcoin?
twoBitBasher
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85



View Profile
April 22, 2012, 06:20:36 PM
 #5

I see no reason why it would not. The bigger question is will your mobo's bios handle all the GPUs

If you think my comments have benefitted you it would be nice to hear thanks Smiley

Doge: DMnfgNp1HQSjtTZ1HcWiYtMwoGP5xcYDcz
fuxianhui888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205



View Profile
April 22, 2012, 06:22:41 PM
 #6

I see no reason why it would not. The bigger question is will your mobo's bios handle all the GPUs

I probably will use msi 890fx-gd70,will that work?
fuxianhui888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205



View Profile
April 22, 2012, 10:50:41 PM
 #7

how about 990fx-gd80 , will this board handle all 4 hd5970?
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
April 22, 2012, 11:02:29 PM
 #8

how about 990fx-gd80 , will this board handle all 4 hd5970?

I have done 4x5970 on that board without issues.  You will have to use jumper trick on x1 slots though.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
fuxianhui888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205



View Profile
April 22, 2012, 11:32:54 PM
 #9

how about 990fx-gd80 , will this board handle all 4 hd5970?

I have done 4x5970 on that board without issues.  You will have to use jumper trick on x1 slots though.


I searched that board on newegg,and it says this board has 4 pci-e 16,why do we need the jumper?
twoBitBasher
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85



View Profile
April 23, 2012, 12:33:45 AM
 #10

the x1 slots don't want to play nice with bigger than x1 cards. So when you try to cram a x16 beast to slot that expects x1 you need tell the slot that there is a card present with a jumper cable. This doesn't affect the functionality of the other slots just x1.

If you think my comments have benefitted you it would be nice to hear thanks Smiley

Doge: DMnfgNp1HQSjtTZ1HcWiYtMwoGP5xcYDcz
likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
April 23, 2012, 01:02:23 AM
 #11

You should be fine with the 990 if you have extenders, without them the cards won't fit. They will all fit w/o extenders on the 890 but will be sandwiched. Despite what some may say, if you have this in a skeleton frame with fans blowing in from the back of the cards and the fans at 70%-75% they will be fine, mess around and monitor until they run stable under 70°. Running the fans that high will put a lot of stress on them though, so be prepared to replace fans when they start to whine.

AFAIK and from my experience eight GPUs will only work with 64bit OS's, so make sure you use one instead of pulling your hair out like I have.

When running 4 very power hungry cards, make sure the +12v rail(s) can handle it. You should be able to find documentation on the max power draw of the PSU you will be using that should tell you exactly how much power is coming from the +12v rail. Yes, 1200w will handle all four, but not if the 12v rails get equal to or less than 1100w of that power.
(this holds true to all mining rigs)

If you want to go further than the 8 GPU limit, keep up on what rjk is doing. He's working hard to break that limit.

fuxianhui888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205



View Profile
April 23, 2012, 01:37:20 AM
 #12

You should be fine with the 990 if you have extenders, without them the cards won't fit. They will all fit w/o extenders on the 890 but will be sandwiched. Despite what some may say, if you have this in a skeleton frame with fans blowing in from the back of the cards and the fans at 70%-75% they will be fine, mess around and monitor until they run stable under 70°. Running the fans that high will put a lot of stress on them though, so be prepared to replace fans when they start to whine.

AFAIK and from my experience eight GPUs will only work with 64bit OS's, so make sure you use one instead of pulling your hair out like I have.

When running 4 very power hungry cards, make sure the +12v rail(s) can handle it. You should be able to find documentation on the max power draw of the PSU you will be using that should tell you exactly how much power is coming from the +12v rail. Yes, 1200w will handle all four, but not if the 12v rails get equal to or less than 1100w of that power.
(this holds true to all mining rigs)

If you want to go further than the 8 GPU limit, keep up on what rjk is doing. He's working hard to break that limit.

thanks for your reply,
I think I probably will choose enemax 1350w as my psu,
and is linuxcoin 64bit os?
twoBitBasher
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85



View Profile
April 23, 2012, 02:08:07 AM
 #13

You know you are going to pay a quite a premium for that particular PSU vs 2x700w. Especially when you were considering dual PSU solution initially. It has good warranty though.

If you think my comments have benefitted you it would be nice to hear thanks Smiley

Doge: DMnfgNp1HQSjtTZ1HcWiYtMwoGP5xcYDcz
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
April 23, 2012, 02:09:07 AM
 #14

you are right to go with the 1350, however the seasonic 1250 would be a better choice imho

the gd70 is a great board for this.  use extenders if you can, it will aid in cooling.

at   800/300/1.05 the whole rig will pull approx 1220W 1158at the wall.
at   680/300/0.95 the whole rig will pull 900 W at the wall

seasonic 1250.  gd70, linuxcoin on usb:
Code:
cgminer version 2.2.1 - Started: [April 21, 2012, 11:56 pm]    Rig:miner16
(5s):2942.72  (avg): 2922.19 Mh/s  |    H: 119.25  Q:51161   A:53081   R:499   HW:0   E:?%   U:40.02/m
TQ:?   ST:0   SS:?   DW:1251   NB:139   LW:20266   GF:62   RF:1381
Connected to http://gpumax.com:8332 with LP as user ?
Value:
GPU 0: 67.5C 2841RPM 45% 113 | 369.7/367.9Mh/s | 99% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6605 R:78 HW:0 U:4.98/m I: 7
GPU 1: 69.0C 2841RPM 45% 114 | 367.6/365.0Mh/s | 98% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6633 R:56 HW:0 U:5.00/m I: 7
GPU 2: 69.0C 3207RPM 51% 120 | 367.3/365.0Mh/s | 99% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6633 R:54 HW:0 U:5.00/m I: 7
GPU 3: 70.0C 3207RPM 51% 121 | 367.6/364.8Mh/s | 99% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6607 R:69 HW:0 U:4.98/m I: 7
GPU 4: 70.0C 2974RPM 47% 117 | 367.4/364.7Mh/s | 99% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6677 R:65 HW:0 U:5.03/m I: 7
GPU 5: 70.5C 2974RPM 47% 118 | 368.8/364.9Mh/s | 98% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6631 R:49 HW:0 U:5.00/m I: 7
GPU 6: 72.5C 3510RPM 55% 128 | 367.7/365.2Mh/s | 99% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6471 R:55 HW:0 U:4.88/m I: 7
GPU 7: 69.5C 3510RPM 55% 125 | 366.6/364.8Mh/s | 99% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6824 R:73 HW:0 U:5.14/m I: 7

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
fuxianhui888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205



View Profile
April 23, 2012, 05:47:42 AM
 #15

you are right to go with the 1350, however the seasonic 1250 would be a better choice imho

the gd70 is a great board for this.  use extenders if you can, it will aid in cooling.

at   800/300/1.05 the whole rig will pull approx 1220W at the wall.
at   680/300/0.95 the whole rig will pull 900 W at the wall

seasonic 1250.  gd70, linuxcoin on usb:
Code:
cgminer version 2.2.1 - Started: [April 21, 2012, 11:56 pm]    Rig:miner16
(5s):2942.72  (avg): 2922.19 Mh/s  |    H: 119.25  Q:51161   A:53081   R:499   HW:0   E:?%   U:40.02/m
TQ:?   ST:0   SS:?   DW:1251   NB:139   LW:20266   GF:62   RF:1381
Connected to http://gpumax.com:8332 with LP as user ?
Value:
GPU 0: 67.5C 2841RPM 45% 113 | 369.7/367.9Mh/s | 99% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6605 R:78 HW:0 U:4.98/m I: 7
GPU 1: 69.0C 2841RPM 45% 114 | 367.6/365.0Mh/s | 98% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6633 R:56 HW:0 U:5.00/m I: 7
GPU 2: 69.0C 3207RPM 51% 120 | 367.3/365.0Mh/s | 99% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6633 R:54 HW:0 U:5.00/m I: 7
GPU 3: 70.0C 3207RPM 51% 121 | 367.6/364.8Mh/s | 99% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6607 R:69 HW:0 U:4.98/m I: 7
GPU 4: 70.0C 2974RPM 47% 117 | 367.4/364.7Mh/s | 99% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6677 R:65 HW:0 U:5.03/m I: 7
GPU 5: 70.5C 2974RPM 47% 118 | 368.8/364.9Mh/s | 98% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6631 R:49 HW:0 U:5.00/m I: 7
GPU 6: 72.5C 3510RPM 55% 128 | 367.7/365.2Mh/s | 99% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6471 R:55 HW:0 U:4.88/m I: 7
GPU 7: 69.5C 3510RPM 55% 125 | 366.6/364.8Mh/s | 99% | 800Mhz 300Mhz 1.05V A:6824 R:73 HW:0 U:5.14/m I: 7




thanks for this specific information,very helpful
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
April 23, 2012, 08:11:55 PM
 #16

Quote from: likuidxd
If you want to go further than the 8 GPU limit, keep up on what rjk is doing. He's working hard to break that limit.

So far from what I have seen it is just some terminology without any concrete guides and people keeping the information for themselves.

Much talk about KVM, Quemu, virtualization, IOMMU, VT-D, VT-X but no guide anywhere for newbies to follow etc.

I would also stick to a big 1300W PSU rather than 2 * 700 simply because you get more density that way and much simpler for RMA etc.

twoBitBasher
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85



View Profile
April 24, 2012, 06:48:45 AM
 #17

Well "they" could be expanded to include the whole Linux community because the info (tutorials) seems to be non existent in the internet. I challenge you guys to be part of the solution rather than just diss peoples efforts. So if you find a good howto that specifically guides how to let a 5970(multiple preferred) through for virtual pc to use then please let people know.

I see no potential rma issues running dual psu setup. I would rather consider it as redundancy . It is not a show stopper  if one faults. You do lose half of your  mining power but the show goes on while you get it replaced. Besides on an open rig you don't lose that much space by going dual.

cons that I can see are more cable clutter and not necessarily very straightforward to setup

If you think my comments have benefitted you it would be nice to hear thanks Smiley

Doge: DMnfgNp1HQSjtTZ1HcWiYtMwoGP5xcYDcz
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!