Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:35:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Possible to mine with an nvidia and an ATI card at the same time?  (Read 1643 times)
hardly
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
May 10, 2011, 04:14:51 AM
 #1

Basically I'm trying to set my 6950 as a slave card, so that it can mine 24/7 and have my backup 8800 set to mine when I'm not playing games, but stop when I want to play a game and just continue to mine on my 6950. Is this possible? I keep getting no opencl devices found when I try to do this with guiminer.

Feel like being generous? I'll <3 you forever Cheesy 1JHckLQ9ed9YntYpsCAxsDQpuhnc7DYTSk
1480883720
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883720

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883720
Reply with quote  #2

1480883720
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480883720
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883720

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883720
Reply with quote  #2

1480883720
Report to moderator
Clavulanic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
May 10, 2011, 04:22:03 AM
 #2

Basically I'm trying to set my 6950 as a slave card, so that it can mine 24/7 and have my backup 8800 set to mine when I'm not playing games, but stop when I want to play a game and just continue to mine on my 6950. Is this possible? I keep getting no opencl devices found when I try to do this with guiminer.

Sorry but no solid information here... But I have heard that in Windows 7 you can somehow install different drivers (amd and nvidia) for different cards. I'm pretty sure it can be done, maybe someone here knows. Or perhaps research into the Folding At Home community, I think that's where I heard it.
hardly
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
May 10, 2011, 04:49:22 AM
 #3

Thanks for the reply!

I have both sets of drivers installed, and windows sees both cards separately at the same time. I'm just having trouble getting them to mine Sad

Feel like being generous? I'll <3 you forever Cheesy 1JHckLQ9ed9YntYpsCAxsDQpuhnc7DYTSk
goatpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
May 10, 2011, 05:21:08 AM
 #4

Got that dummy plugged on the slave card yet?

btcarmory.com
hardly
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
May 10, 2011, 05:27:22 AM
 #5

no, but I have an HDMI connected so that it is running to an actual monitor, for a second display.

Feel like being generous? I'll <3 you forever Cheesy 1JHckLQ9ed9YntYpsCAxsDQpuhnc7DYTSk
drcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
May 10, 2011, 09:18:15 AM
 #6

I have a Geforce 260 and Radeon 5830 running together in the same system. I use phoenix openCL miner on the 5830 and puddinpop's cuda miner for the 260 http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2444.0

1PnecfWugmwNW8affHCE2K22APrTZtcFw4
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
May 10, 2011, 09:21:43 AM
 #7

I have this working under Windows 7.

2x GTX 580s + 5870. All of them can mine at once or I can play games using the 580s and leave just the 5870 mining.

Just install both display drivers. It seems to work better for me if I don't install CCC with the ATI driver. (not necessary for pure OpenCL use)

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!