Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:18:10 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: blockchain.info wallet acting wonky  (Read 2338 times)
tiptopgemdotcom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


fine gemstones and jewelry directly to you


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 05:53:09 AM
 #1

I am new to blockchain.info.  I want an online wallet and this seems to be a popular one.  I made some addresses yesterday, moved coins around between them and to and from them and all was well.  Now today under "My Transactions" is says this:

"Normally your bitcoin transactions would be listed here but you have not made any yet. You've made it this far, don't give up now! It's not as scary as it might seem at first."

Also for live status it says "disconnected".  I have logged out and logged back in, refreshed the page, etc.  Nothing seems to work- it will not connect and show my transactions. 

Any clue what I can do?  Thank you in advance.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 30, 2012, 10:31:19 AM
 #2

It is a Javascript wallet that stores information locally.  If you were to clear your browser cache and reload the site it would think you are a first time visitor and will create a wallet yet again.

So it is possible that you are looking at a second wallet.

The site is having trouble at this very moment or I'ld try to docment the steps to logout and get back into your previously used wallet.  Do you have an e-mail with a link to the wallet?  I'm not sure if it does that during initial sign-up.


danieldaniel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 10:36:14 AM
 #3

It is a Javascript wallet that stores information locally.  If you were to clear your browser cache and reload the site it would think you are a first time visitor and will create a wallet yet again.

So it is possible that you are looking at a second wallet.

The site is having trouble at this very moment or I'ld try to docment the steps to logout and get back into your previously used wallet.  Do you have an e-mail with a link to the wallet?  I'm not sure if it does that during initial sign-up.


It did it for me, but also:
http://www.isup.me/blockchain.info

tiptopgemdotcom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


fine gemstones and jewelry directly to you


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 11:35:33 AM
 #4

Ahhh  but no!  How do I know?  Because my balance in the upper right corner of the site is correct.  So it knows me, and I have signed in properly.  It just shows no transactions.

But I guess I will clear my browser cache and sign in again to see if that accomplishes anything.  Thank you for that idea.  Smiley
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2012, 11:45:57 AM
 #5

1. I'm not getting my email OTP today, can't log in
2. when will firefox be able to connect live?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
tiptopgemdotcom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


fine gemstones and jewelry directly to you


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 11:48:55 AM
 #6

This seems odd to me.  I use firefox in Ubuntu, and I cleared the browser cache and closed the browser to be extra-sure.  But when I opened the browser and went to my wallet, it filled in my identifier.  When I clear the cache and history and close the browser, shouldn't this be gone?  Or is it living in Javaville somehow?

I still don't get how it can know my precise balance but the transactions do not show up.  Should I be sprinkling holy water on my screen and keyboard for good measure?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2012, 11:52:26 AM
 #7

Firefox has never been able to connect live. I tihnk he just added the ability for the balance to update when other ajax calls are made. Try using chrome to connect live.

The wallet also started using offline storage. You may not remember approving it, but also clear your offline storage.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2012, 11:52:56 AM
 #8

And you mention cache, but did you clear your cookies?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
tiptopgemdotcom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


fine gemstones and jewelry directly to you


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 12:02:54 PM
 #9

Thanks bitpop.  I went through firefox and cleared the cache again, history, all offline data, and also cookies.  And it still knew my identifier!!!!  Weird.  Furthermore, I went to my wallet in Chromium and signed in, and it wouldn't connect live.  Also there it knew my balance, but no transactions were listed.

This throws me a little bit, because you said Firefox could never connect live.  And yesterday I could see not only my balance but all of my little transactions.  So what is up with that?

Thank you again for your help. 
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 30, 2012, 12:05:47 PM
 #10

Well, the site's having quite a few problems.  The operator is or was going to be traveling and interviewing at an incubator type place, so that might be why problems over the weekend aren't becoming resolved:

 - http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=40264.msg855031#msg855031

Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 30, 2012, 12:07:47 PM
 #11

And it still knew my identifier!!!!

Is there any chance another copy is still open when you do that?

After you clear everything, close it and relaunch it perhaps?

bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2012, 12:09:19 PM
 #12

By connect live, I mean stream new data. Also, yeah there are problems, I cant log in because I cant get my email otp.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
tiptopgemdotcom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


fine gemstones and jewelry directly to you


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 12:14:45 PM
 #13

Well if he is busy now I will hang on until he is around.  It sure is a cool site.  I like how the wallet works and it is pretty intuitive.  I will play around in the meantime and if anything changes I will post. 

Thank you again guys!
dirtycat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455



View Profile
April 30, 2012, 12:25:29 PM
 #14

I am new to blockchain.info.  I want an online wallet and this seems to be a popular one.  I made some addresses yesterday, moved coins around between them and to and from them and all was well.  Now today under "My Transactions" is says this:

"Normally your bitcoin transactions would be listed here but you have not made any yet. You've made it this far, don't give up now! It's not as scary as it might seem at first."

Also for live status it says "disconnected".  I have logged out and logged back in, refreshed the page, etc.  Nothing seems to work- it will not connect and show my transactions. 

Any clue what I can do?  Thank you in advance.

well at least you can log in... I tried a few times from different computers to create a wallet and it keeps saying failed captcha lol

poop!
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2012, 12:25:50 PM
 #15

Yeah its the best, just wish i can log in right now

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Otoh
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918



View Profile
April 30, 2012, 03:06:15 PM
 #16

yep, I've been having problems with it the last few days & today can't get connected live to see tx etc though it shows my account

Node40.com is a leader in DASH hosting, dedicated exclusively to fully managed masternode hosting. Professional, organized, and responsive. I have many dozens of nodes with them.    
BTC = $c²     BTC = 1otohotohMoQoxHuxLBveQiZcV3Pji3Tc      DASH, Digital Cash = www.dash.org   
   CHARITY | MY REP | DICE
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
April 30, 2012, 06:46:34 PM
 #17

piuk contributed a patch to MultiBit a week or so ago to enable it to import the blockchain.info wallet backups.

It went into v0.3.4 which is available on the http://multibit.org website.

Due to how the data is stored I have to do a full blockchain replay (about 2 hours on wifi) but if you really need to access your BTC it is an alternative.

The how-to is here

Edit: just had a support call where someone imported their blockchain.info wallet but the balance was not what they expected. A 'reset blockchain and transactions' (available in Tools menu) fixed it. Just thought I'd mention it.


MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
arby
Donator
Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


keybase.io/arblarg


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 10:19:02 PM
 #18

hope this website comes back quickly.

best site there is, for me at least.

Jabber/XMPP: arby@darkness.su
tiptopgemdotcom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


fine gemstones and jewelry directly to you


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 09:10:10 AM
 #19

hope this website comes back quickly.

+1.  This is a drag having it totally down.  At least before I could see my coins.  Thanks Jim618 for that tip. 
arby
Donator
Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


keybase.io/arblarg


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 02:40:10 PM
 #20

On another discussion piuk said it will be down for another 48 hours yesterday, so I guess it will not be back very soon, but in the next days.

hope this website comes back quickly.

+1.  This is a drag having it totally down.  At least before I could see my coins.  Thanks Jim618 for that tip. 

Jabber/XMPP: arby@darkness.su
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!