Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:32:28 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Modified Kernel for Phoenix 1.5  (Read 92128 times)
Phateus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 05:51:08 AM
 #281

Seems to me like you've got it all under control, so I'll leave you to finish up. Thanks for your involvement. However I don't want multiple phatk kernels so just replace the current one in-situ and don't bother enumming a different kernel. As for the output code, I prefer to use 4k so feel free to do it your way, but be aware I plan to change it back.

Ok, the source is up... I am trying to figure out how to compile this for windows without the cygwin layer (I really haven't done any of this before... I am soooo lost)...

https://github.com/Phateus/cgminer

ckolivas... if you want to merge this into your code at some point, let me know what I have to do... I literally installed git yesterday, and there is only so much you can learn on the internet in a day ;-)

As for the buffer, my kernel only uses WORKSIZE+1 parts of your buffer, but I left the buffer size intact.
Very good work. Nice of you to figure out how to do git and all as well. Don't worry about the merge, I've taken care of everything and cherry picked your changes as I needed to. I've modified a few things too to be consistent with cgminer's code and there is definitely a significant speed advantage thanks to your changes. Note that if you're ever working on git doing your own changes, do them to a branch that's not called master as you may end up making it impossible to pull back my changes since I won't necessarily take all your code. Thanks again, and I'm sure the cgminer users will be most grateful. Smiley


Ah, that's how that works... good to know.  This whole git seems really useful for working together.  Thanks

-Phateus

http://deepbit.net/userbar/4dcec4d1816197e144000002_bfe143123a.png

Feeling Generous?
124RraPqYcEpX5qFcQ2ZBVD9MqUamfyQnv
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480912348
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912348

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912348
Reply with quote  #2

1480912348
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 06:44:39 AM
 #282

If you want to restore your tree without losing your changes, create a new branch and reset the master to the last one before your commits.

git checkout master
git branch newphatk
git reset --hard 58eb4d58599521933a3fef599e1dcba4f996dadc
git pull

that will pull my changes into the master branch and your personal changes will be in newphatk. Unfortunately your github account has a messed up master now so

git push -f

will force the changes to propagate. Do not use this command normally as it makes it impossible for people pulling from your branch to keep in sync.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1984
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 06:28:30 AM
 #283

excellent work on the cgminer, I'm seeing the ~same performance as phoenix and am enjoying the fancy cg features. Donation on it's way.
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 08:23:43 AM
 #284

I'm getting hardware errors on phatk 2.2, didn't get them on diapolo's or 2.1

the three are about undistinguishable in terms of speed for me

Phateus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 05:07:53 PM
 #285

I'm getting hardware errors on phatk 2.2, didn't get them on diapolo's or 2.1

the three are about undistinguishable in terms of speed for me

Are you using BFI_INT?  Of not, there is a bug in the 2.2 kernel, Vince found that in the kernel.cl file, you have to replace

Code:
#define Ch(x, y, z) bitselect(x,y,z)

on line 78 with

Code:
#define Ch(x, y, z) bitselect(z, y, x)

I haven't gotten around to release a new version, but if you make the change yourself, it should fix it.

-Phateus

http://deepbit.net/userbar/4dcec4d1816197e144000002_bfe143123a.png

Feeling Generous?
124RraPqYcEpX5qFcQ2ZBVD9MqUamfyQnv
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 01:45:40 AM
 #286

I am using BFI_INT, the hardware errors are kind of random
I should mention I'm using fpgaminer's poclbm fork for this so maybe it might have something to do with it

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 19, 2011, 01:48:38 AM
 #287

Hey phateus, just a head's up. Your cgminer code only worked for 2 vectors. I've updated it in my git tree to work with 1 and 4. Simple enough change.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 12:47:26 PM
 #288


how can I generate this kind of a graph for my 5850 and 5750? I'm having an argument with Diablo about the best memory clocks vs. core clocks

ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
September 05, 2011, 10:47:39 PM
 #289


how can I generate this kind of a graph for my 5850 and 5750? I'm having an argument with Diablo about the best memory clocks vs. core clocks

go to google docs, make a spreadsheet, test all the speeds and options on your end manually (this part will be extremely time consuming for a high resolution graph), and put the data in yourself, and generate graph. presto pronto.

iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 10:26:13 AM
 #290


how can I generate this kind of a graph for my 5850 and 5750? I'm having an argument with Diablo about the best memory clocks vs. core clocks

go to google docs, make a spreadsheet, test all the speeds and options on your end manually (this part will be extremely time consuming for a high resolution graph), and put the data in yourself, and generate graph. presto pronto.
surely, this can be done programmatically, it's just changing clocks and measuring speeds for x seconds and averaging

although on my cards some values will make them unstable, lol

ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 04:36:44 PM
 #291


how can I generate this kind of a graph for my 5850 and 5750? I'm having an argument with Diablo about the best memory clocks vs. core clocks

go to google docs, make a spreadsheet, test all the speeds and options on your end manually (this part will be extremely time consuming for a high resolution graph), and put the data in yourself, and generate graph. presto pronto.
surely, this can be done programmatically, it's just changing clocks and measuring speeds for x seconds and averaging

although on my cards some values will make them unstable, lol

well the OP already said he did it manually. you're free to write a program to do it automatically, or hire someone to write one for you.

Lord F(r)og
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 477



View Profile
September 25, 2011, 06:28:38 PM
 #292

donated knickknack
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
September 29, 2011, 07:31:57 AM
 #293

are the 1354 ALU OPs for a single SHA256 or for double? as in SHA256(SHA256(Block_Header))

http://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/1293/how-many-integer-operations-on-a-gpu-are-necessary-for-one-hash

network speed guinness world record
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=38064.0

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
Phateus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
September 29, 2011, 03:21:15 PM
 #294

are the 1354 ALU OPs for a single SHA256 or for double? as in SHA256(SHA256(Block_Header))

http://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/1293/how-many-integer-operations-on-a-gpu-are-necessary-for-one-hash

network speed guinness world record
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=38064.0

1354 OPs are for two double hashes.

SHA256(SHA256(Block_Header1)), SHA256(SHA256(Block_Header2))

so, 677 per double hash.

Although, there aren't completely full hashes, since the first and last few rounds (a few %) have optimized out.

Also, each ALU OP is a VLIW5 (very long instruction word) instruction which contains 5 integer operations that run simultaneously, so... depending on how you think about it,

could be ~3375 integer operations or 677 VLIW5 instructions

Hope this helps, let me know if you need any more help with this.  I am interested in how this turns out.

http://deepbit.net/userbar/4dcec4d1816197e144000002_bfe143123a.png

Feeling Generous?
124RraPqYcEpX5qFcQ2ZBVD9MqUamfyQnv
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
September 30, 2011, 03:04:31 PM
 #295

first you shocked me with TWO double hashes  Shocked

but ~3375 integer operations per hash is just perfect  Grin

edit: did you mean 3385??

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
Phateus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 10:29:26 PM
 #296

first you shocked me with TWO double hashes  Shocked

but ~3375 integer operations per hash is just perfect  Grin

edit: did you mean 3385??

It's actually closer to 3375 because some VLIW5 instructions only have 4 operations in them.  I can get a more exact number if needed, but its kinda a PITA cuz AMD's software won't actually tell you outright.

http://deepbit.net/userbar/4dcec4d1816197e144000002_bfe143123a.png

Feeling Generous?
124RraPqYcEpX5qFcQ2ZBVD9MqUamfyQnv
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
October 02, 2011, 08:33:46 PM
 #297

first you shocked me with TWO double hashes  Shocked

but ~3375 integer operations per hash is just perfect  Grin

edit: did you mean 3385??

It's actually closer to 3375 because some VLIW5 instructions only have 4 operations in them.  I can get a more exact number if needed, but its kinda a PITA cuz AMD's software won't actually tell you outright.
ok thanks for elaborating. I used 3385 in the last calc but will just say it makes up for all the 6xxx cards Wink

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
Crypt_Current
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Shame on everything; regret nothing.


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 05:58:56 PM
 #298

Is the latest version of phatk the one that's included in LinuxCoin final?

I could probably check somehow, as I am a LinuxCoin user... I just don't know much about Linux and don't want to poke at my rig while it's on a roll...  Grin

10% off at CampBX for LIFE:  https://campbx.com/main.php?r=C9a5izBQ5vq  ----  Authorized BitVoucher MEGA reseller (& BTC donations appreciated):  https://bitvoucher.co/affl/1HkvK8o8WWDpCTSQGnek7DH9gT1LWeV5s3/
LTC:  LRL6vb6XBRrEEifB73DiEiYZ9vbRy99H41  NMC:  NGb2spdTGpWj8THCPyCainaXenwDhAW1ZT
Lord F(r)og
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 477



View Profile
October 09, 2011, 01:47:33 PM
 #299

If it works out for you and you're feeling generous, any donations would be greatly appreciated so I can continue to put out bitcoin related software:
124RraPqYcEpX5qFcQ2ZBVD9MqUamfyQnv

-Phateus

It worked out for me and I'm feeling generous, so I donated for further development.
Crypt_Current
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Shame on everything; regret nothing.


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 04:29:51 PM
 #300

If it works out for you and you're feeling generous, any donations would be greatly appreciated so I can continue to put out bitcoin related software:
124RraPqYcEpX5qFcQ2ZBVD9MqUamfyQnv

-Phateus

It worked out for me and I'm feeling generous, so I donated for further development.

+1
I would if I could.  I wonder how many BTC enthusiasts live below the USA's so-called "poverty line"?

10% off at CampBX for LIFE:  https://campbx.com/main.php?r=C9a5izBQ5vq  ----  Authorized BitVoucher MEGA reseller (& BTC donations appreciated):  https://bitvoucher.co/affl/1HkvK8o8WWDpCTSQGnek7DH9gT1LWeV5s3/
LTC:  LRL6vb6XBRrEEifB73DiEiYZ9vbRy99H41  NMC:  NGb2spdTGpWj8THCPyCainaXenwDhAW1ZT
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!