Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:37:59 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone actually got mining results for a 7950?  (Read 6118 times)
xzion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 06:21:15 AM
 #1

Looking into getting a new card for gaming and mining, thinking either a 7950 or a 7870. I saw in another thread someone was getting 430MH/s with a 7870 @ 1100MHz, haven't been able to find any real results from a 7950 though. If you've got one some info would be great, keen to see what clocks/speeds they can get.

Tips: 1xzionJBueq1AkPSmexA7suWkztAkNwSs
1481305079
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305079

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305079
Reply with quote  #2

1481305079
Report to moderator
1481305079
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305079

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305079
Reply with quote  #2

1481305079
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481305079
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305079

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305079
Reply with quote  #2

1481305079
Report to moderator
1481305079
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305079

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305079
Reply with quote  #2

1481305079
Report to moderator
1481305079
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305079

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305079
Reply with quote  #2

1481305079
Report to moderator
Dyaheon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 01:17:25 PM
 #2

I don't actually have one, but it has 87.5% of 7970s shaders, so it also has 87.5% of it's speed at the same clocks. It has pretty low stock clock of 800MHz, but should clock to 1000-1100+, probably closer to 1100.

So... at 7970's stock clock of 925MHz a 7950 would get about 490MH/s, clocked to 1.1GHz would give about 580MH/s, or slightly above a stock 7970.

I recommend going with a 7950, it has much more overclocking headroom than a 7870 does, and it's not much more expensive anymore.
cletus815
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 03:05:25 PM
 #3

My two 7950's get 510 each clocked at 1010.
xzion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
May 07, 2012, 02:17:15 AM
 #4

thanks a bunch cletus!

Tips: 1xzionJBueq1AkPSmexA7suWkztAkNwSs
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 09:40:08 PM
 #5

My two 7950's get 510 each clocked at 1010.
Whats the power consumption on those? @ that setup.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
cletus815
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 11:05:20 PM
 #6

My two 7950's get 510 each clocked at 1010.
Whats the power consumption on those? @ that setup.

About 169 watts each. That was measured by taking the 409 watts I measured at the wall, subtracting 72 for the system, and dividing by 2.
AndrewBUD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


I will Squirt you with this sprinkler :)


View Profile
June 14, 2012, 01:38:54 AM
 #7

a 7950 for me get's between 530-560mhash @ 1080mhz....
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


View Profile
June 14, 2012, 04:45:32 AM
 #8

My two 7950's get 510 each clocked at 1010.
Whats the power consumption on those? @ that setup.

About 169 watts each. That was measured by taking the 409 watts I measured at the wall, subtracting 72 for the system, and dividing by 2.


Minus the PSU inefficiency...
Either way even at 169, those are pretty efficient cards. hrm...

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
aqrulesms
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 265


Cryptocurrency trading and mining


View Profile
June 14, 2012, 05:38:53 AM
 #9

My two 7950's get 510 each clocked at 1010.
Whats the power consumption on those? @ that setup.

About 169 watts each. That was measured by taking the 409 watts I measured at the wall, subtracting 72 for the system, and dividing by 2.


Minus the PSU inefficiency...
Either way even at 169, those are pretty efficient cards. hrm...

That's the beauty of the new architecture.  Quite comparable to FPGAs if you ask me, and low resale value risk.  Cool
Dexter770221
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1026


View Profile
June 14, 2012, 06:06:12 AM
 #10

500MH/150W != 500MH/20W. I wouldn't say it's comparable. About resale value you right.

Under development Modular UPGRADEABLE Miner (MUM). Looking for investors.
Changing one PCB with screwdriver and you have brand new miner in hand... Plug&Play, scalable from one module to thousands.
Serenata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251



View Profile WWW
June 14, 2012, 07:30:47 AM
 #11

500MH/150W != 500MH/20W. I wouldn't say it's comparable. About resale value you right.

Agree.
With a price per KWh 0.08 EUR the electricity bill will be:
1.152 EUR per month for the FPGA
9.734 EUR per month for the GPU

The only reason I use GPUs (yet) is their resale value.

BitcoinX.gr - Το ελληνικό στέκι του Bitcoin

My GPG Key
AndrewBUD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


I will Squirt you with this sprinkler :)


View Profile
June 14, 2012, 05:39:51 PM
 #12

Works out well when Power is taken care of......


GPU's are better all around.. Cost me less for more Mhash Smiley If your paying power sure FPGA's are better..... but will be hard to sell if BTC drops
ZPK
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
June 14, 2012, 05:47:54 PM
 #13

i doesn't have, but know results in mhs , power in watt do not know.

1200mhz -  630mhash
1250mhz - 668mhash
1260mhz - 680mhash

Novacoin POS mining only now
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 12:57:47 AM
 #14

thats quite incredible, the 680mhs approaches 5970 speeds
Wonder how power comparison is though...
Thats on a 7950 too?

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 01:28:50 AM
 #15

Successfully hitting 1260 would be extraordinary and would require water cooling and probably overvolting.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
AndrewBUD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


I will Squirt you with this sprinkler :)


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 01:34:48 AM
 #16

Overvolting yes.. I doubt water cooling though.. If 1100 is achievable on stock settings..
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
June 21, 2012, 11:11:43 AM
 #17

Overvolting yes.. I doubt water cooling though.. If 1100 is achievable on stock settings..

You would want it watercooled though..  High temps = more leakage = more power drawn.  although why watercool a 7950 when you can w/c a 7970 (or 2) Cheesy

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!