Bitcoin Forum
January 19, 2020, 10:00:59 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why does this forum...  (Read 1588 times)
PwrLeveld
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 10


Computta Mine Your Own BTC


View Profile
May 11, 2011, 11:48:34 PM
 #1

Why does ie tell me bitcoins.org has an invalid srcurity certificate whenever I use a secure(https://)/ encrypted connection? Is this truly a bad certificate or an ie glitch.

Mine Using Your Computer and GPU  https://bit.ly/2JcCZWY  FREE 0.001BTC on New Members
1579471259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579471259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579471259
Reply with quote  #2

1579471259
Report to moderator
1579471259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579471259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579471259
Reply with quote  #2

1579471259
Report to moderator
1579471259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579471259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579471259
Reply with quote  #2

1579471259
Report to moderator
No registration neededFixed RatesUnlimited transaction volumes
Try Now
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1579471259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579471259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579471259
Reply with quote  #2

1579471259
Report to moderator
1579471259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579471259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579471259
Reply with quote  #2

1579471259
Report to moderator
1579471259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579471259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579471259
Reply with quote  #2

1579471259
Report to moderator
Herodes
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 11, 2011, 11:51:18 PM
 #2

Probably because owner of site will not shell out a large amount of money to have that message go away. As I understand it, any site can use https, but only those who pay some substantional amount become "officially recognized" by browsers because their certificate will be issued by a "trusted entity" whereas the certificate at bitcoin.org is selfmade. Somebody please correct me if this should not be correct.
xf2_org
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 11, 2011, 11:51:24 PM
 #3

Why does ie tell me bitcoins.org has an invalid srcurity certificate whenever I use a secure(https://)/ encrypted connection? Is this truly a bad certificate or an ie glitch.

Neither.  It is a self-signed certificate.

These are perfectly valid, but simply do not establish a chain of trust from one of the CA's listed in your browser.

PwrLeveld
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 10


Computta Mine Your Own BTC


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 12:07:07 AM
 #4

Oh, ok that makes sense.

Mine Using Your Computer and GPU  https://bit.ly/2JcCZWY  FREE 0.001BTC on New Members
TehZomB
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 12, 2011, 12:11:22 AM
 #5

Perhaps the owner could get a free one from StartSSL? It works in most modern browsers in my experience, and is included in the Windows root since Vista iirc.
PwrLeveld
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 10


Computta Mine Your Own BTC


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 12:13:50 AM
 #6

Ya, I saw something about that once. I think it should be changed because it is anoying everytime I hit a link it comes up.

Mine Using Your Computer and GPU  https://bit.ly/2JcCZWY  FREE 0.001BTC on New Members
Herodes
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 12:48:01 AM
 #7

Ya, I saw something about that once. I think it should be changed because it is anoying everytime I hit a link it comes up.

Would there be possible to make an exception for it? Firefox can do this, you do it once for every site in question.
PwrLeveld
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 10


Computta Mine Your Own BTC


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 12:53:50 AM
 #8

Yes it is possible, however wevery time I completly wipe all the temp files it seems to revert back.

Mine Using Your Computer and GPU  https://bit.ly/2JcCZWY  FREE 0.001BTC on New Members
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 05:48:24 AM
 #9

Agreed, this should be fixed. See also my HTTPS thread here in Meta.

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!