Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 12:03:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Crossfire mining?  (Read 22652 times)
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 03:57:26 AM
 #1

I think some people on the forums mine with corssfire set up?

Currently I'm mining with no crossfire bridge.  If I enable crossfire will efficiency decrease?  How does that work?

I would like to be able to use crossfire when I game.

Thanks!

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481284994
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284994

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284994
Reply with quote  #2

1481284994
Report to moderator
1481284994
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284994

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284994
Reply with quote  #2

1481284994
Report to moderator
1481284994
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284994

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284994
Reply with quote  #2

1481284994
Report to moderator
yuancraft
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
May 12, 2011, 04:26:58 AM
 #2

i have test in 2 system
i7 2x5850 crossfire 870@500 =330mh
amd 4600 1x5850 870@500 = 330mh too no diffen
coffeetablesex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 04:40:23 AM
 #3

i am fairly certain if you run your cards with crossfire enabled you will see a decrease in performance
Hawkix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517



View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 05:22:04 AM
 #4

Guys, how to get rid of that "ATI Crossfire could not be enabled" message after Windows boot up?

I tried to install the CrossFire strip and realized, as stated before, that CrossFiring hampers performance of OpenCL. So, I removed the strip. But now, the message appears, drivers are still trying to CrossFire the cards !!!!

Also, in some graphics card log, I can see that one is Master, other is Slave.

And, finally, that "slave" one is slower a bit .. even when there is no CrossFire strip installed.

How to get into state before I tried the CrossFire?

Donations: 1Hawkix7GHym6SM98ii5vSHHShA3FUgpV6
http://btcportal.net/ - All about Bitcoin - coming soon!
BitcoinRigs.com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 05:27:17 AM
 #5

Guys, how to get rid of that "ATI Crossfire could not be enabled" message after Windows boot up?

Install Linux.  Wink

Dedicated Bitcoin Mining Rigs from http://bitcoinrigs.com/
rezin777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 05:30:10 AM
 #6

Guys, how to get rid of that "ATI Crossfire could not be enabled" message after Windows boot up?

Install Linux.  Wink

Or don't install Catalyst Control Center...
Hawkix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517



View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 05:37:32 AM
 #7

The "slave" card also uses only 90% of GPU, while master runs at 99% all time. Damn!!! I would bet this did not happen until I tried that damn CrossFire thing!! Does someone with 2x5870 experience this too (in Windows)?

Regarding the Linux - Is there a dedicated mining-optimized distribution? Like, boot from LiveCD and run it?

Donations: 1Hawkix7GHym6SM98ii5vSHHShA3FUgpV6
http://btcportal.net/ - All about Bitcoin - coming soon!
fasti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 07:07:46 AM
 #8

Dummy plug the secondary card so the system doesn't dumb it down, because it doesn't detect display?

1QCcAR3e3wdxr7CcJ8ND1NmWuvLttCJScH
Hawkix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517



View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 07:13:26 AM
 #9

I have dummy plug in the "slave" card.

Donations: 1Hawkix7GHym6SM98ii5vSHHShA3FUgpV6
http://btcportal.net/ - All about Bitcoin - coming soon!
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 02:52:55 PM
 #10

I'm running 2 5850s in CrossfireX and have the top-rated card performance listed on the mining hardware comparison wiki page (710 MH/s combined). Both run at 99% load. Fwiw. Win7 x64

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
coffeetablesex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 05:39:22 PM
 #11

I'm running 2 5850s in CrossfireX and have the top-rated card performance listed on the mining hardware comparison wiki page (710 MH/s combined). Both run at 99% load. Fwiw. Win7 x64

I would attribute your higher output entirely to your ~200mhz core overclock. What do they put out individually? Have you tried not running them in crossfire for comparison?
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 05:51:15 PM
 #12

I'm running 2 5850s in CrossfireX and have the top-rated card performance listed on the mining hardware comparison wiki page (710 MH/s combined). Both run at 99% load. Fwiw. Win7 x64

I would attribute your higher output entirely to your ~200mhz core overclock. What do they put out individually? Have you tried not running them in crossfire for comparison?

Roughly 355 MH/s each with CFX disabled. The GPUs can become very inefficient if the "-f" parameter is set very low (<40). I think this is what's happening in most peoples' cases when they're running CFX.

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
coffeetablesex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 06:15:30 PM
 #13

I'm running 2 5850s in CrossfireX and have the top-rated card performance listed on the mining hardware comparison wiki page (710 MH/s combined). Both run at 99% load. Fwiw. Win7 x64

I would attribute your higher output entirely to your ~200mhz core overclock. What do they put out individually? Have you tried not running them in crossfire for comparison?

Roughly 355 MH/s each with CFX disabled. The GPUs can become very inefficient if the "-f" parameter is set very low (<40). I think this is what's happening in most peoples' cases when they're running CFX.

That's weird, considering I see the exact opposite opposite results when I lower -f. If i set it at 1 the computer becomes hard to use due to graphical lag, but I get an extra ~10% Mh/s.

What if you we're to run the cards independently with -f set to 1?
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 08:12:20 PM
 #14

That's weird, considering I see the exact opposite opposite results when I lower -f. If i set it at 1 the computer becomes hard to use due to graphical lag, but I get an extra ~10% Mh/s.

What if you we're to run the cards independently with -f set to 1?

355-357 MH/s each, a very, very slight improvement. A bottleneck is created somewhere when -f parameter is set very low while CFX is enabled. I'm not knowledgeable enough to know what's going on, just experimental data to suggest. Others experiencing significant slowdowns on CFX should try -f 50 or higher, or just remove the argument altogether and see if it improves.

With -f 1 with CFX enabled, one GPU is @ 96-99% load while the other is low and extremely erratic, sometimes only 2 MH/s, then next poll it's at 250 MH/s. With -f 50, or without the argument altogether, load on both cards is 99%.

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 10:42:45 PM
 #15

With crossfire on usually you will not reach 99% usage on every card.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
ataranlen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 843


The One and Only


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2011, 03:23:52 AM
 #16

With crossfire on usually you will not reach 99% usage on every card.

Not always true. I've got crossfire enabled on my 5870x2's and I get 99% usage on all four GPU's even with crossfire enabled. (I added the 5870x2 listings on the wiki)

MineTexas.com Minecraft Server We accept Bitcoin and Dogecoin.
Deepbit on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Deepbit/151108048294815
Clavulanic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 04:06:45 AM
 #17

No differemce with my two 5870s. Both my gpus reach 99%, I just set their aggression high.
huayra.agera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
May 13, 2011, 06:36:35 AM
 #18

Hi i'm  planning on doing a Crossfire setup of 2 5850s but my motherboard is 16x 4x on the PCI-E Lanes. How should I go about setting that up? Will I get around 700 MH/s at least? Suggestions are greatly appreciated.

BTC: 1JMPScxohom4MXy9X1Vgj8AGwcHjT8XTuy
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 03:38:49 PM
 #19

Hi i'm  planning on doing a Crossfire setup of 2 5850s but my motherboard is 16x 4x on the PCI-E Lanes. How should I go about setting that up? Will I get around 700 MH/s at least? Suggestions are greatly appreciated.

You need a decent card brand, first. I was only able to get 700+ MH/s on ASUS cards because nothing else would OC high enough. I tried some Visiontek cards, but I was simply unable to get past 600 MH/s because the cards are low-quality.

I was wondering about PCI-e bus lane multiplier reductions, too, but it turns out it isn't an issue in mining.

To get 710 MH/s, I used the poclbm miner with flags "-v -w128." Overclocking's dead-simple in Afterburner. I was able to increase my core clock speed (and this is where brand's very important) up to 912 MHz on one card, 925 MHz on the other I'm using. I also downclocked my mem speed to 319 MHz (see here). Your max OC will vary depending on how lucky you get with the quality of your particular card.

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 04:17:53 PM
 #20

Hi i'm  planning on doing a Crossfire setup of 2 5850s but my motherboard is 16x 4x on the PCI-E Lanes. How should I go about setting that up? Will I get around 700 MH/s at least? Suggestions are greatly appreciated.

You need a decent card brand, first. I was only able to get 700+ MH/s on ASUS cards because nothing else would OC high enough. I tried some Visiontek cards, but I was simply unable to get past 600 MH/s because the cards are low-quality.

I was wondering about PCI-e bus lane multiplier reductions, too, but it turns out it isn't an issue in mining.

To get 710 MH/s, I used the poclbm miner with flags "-v -w128." Overclocking's dead-simple in Afterburner. I was able to increase my core clock speed (and this is where brand's very important) up to 912 MHz on one card, 925 MHz on the other I'm using. I also downclocked my mem speed to 319 MHz (see here). Your max OC will vary depending on how lucky you get with the quality of your particular card.

Im doing 410mhash per hd5850 at the following, 995/180 , the difference between memory @ 300 and @ 180 is about 10mhash per card, so give that a try rather than your memory @ 319.

I used RBE to biosmod the core-mem so no software required.

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!