Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:48:56 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: BFL "EasyMiner" Released. Reviews?  (Read 17803 times)
lightbox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 212


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2012, 03:22:49 PM
 #101

Hi, I have my BFL's up and running but wanted to flash them.. the only windows machine I have here is running VISTA (my normal mining is all on Linux), so i grabbed the EasyMiner_V_1.1_Beta to see if I could flash one with the higher firmware, but cant get it to run.... my device manager shows the one BFL Single i plugged in properly on COM3 (well COM3 appeared when i plug it in), but when I open EasyMiner, (the only option available is "administrative mode") and click "Proceed", I get the windows dialog "BitFORCE-Miner has stopped working  A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available"

Any idea how to fix this?

James


Hello James,

One possibility is that windows is denying access to COM port. This can be resolved if you right-click on Easyminer
and click on 'Run as administrator'. Please run this test and let us know how it goes. Of course, I must add that
Windows Vista is probably the worst operating system ever developed since the Big Bang.

Regards,
BF Labs Inc.

Nope still the same problem, I've tried the various compatibility modes as well, still no luck.  Also, tried it on a windowsXP VM i had here (VirtualBox) and get the samet thing!

No arguments from my side about window (especially vista) sucking, so that begs the question, where's the linux based firmware updater?? Smiley I don't want to use your easyminer software to mine, i just want to flash the singles then put them back on my Linux machines.

James


Is there any other COM devices or virtual COM devices connected to your computer?



Regards,
BF Labs Inc.

Nope, only the one listed in Device Manager

->Ports (COM & LPT)
  -> USB Serial Port (COM3)





I must say that this is very strange. Easyminer is compiled under XP with .NET version 2.0. It's the first instance of
such failure. We will investigate the issue and come back with some response. Has this computer ever been infected with
virus or trojans before?


Regards,
BF Labs Inc.

No its a fresh install -- i shrunk my linux partition, and setup a dualboot with the dell-provided windows vista CD, let it do all its windows updates, downloaded chrome, downloaded easyminer.

https://www.canadianbitcoins.com for quick & easy buy/sell with $CAD
Canada's Oldest Bitcoin Brokerage.  Serving Canadian Bitcoiners since 2011!
1480898936
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898936

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898936
Reply with quote  #2

1480898936
Report to moderator
1480898936
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898936

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898936
Reply with quote  #2

1480898936
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
May 24, 2012, 03:24:43 PM
 #102

No its a fresh install -- i shrunk my linux partition, and setup a dualboot with the dell-provided windows vista CD, let it do all its windows updates, downloaded chrome, downloaded easyminer.
If it's just a throwaway install that you will never use again, might as well go with Win7 30 day trial install.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 24, 2012, 03:30:36 PM
 #103

You probably need to install the FTDI driver if it's a fresh install.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
lightbox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 212


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2012, 03:37:50 PM
 #104

You probably need to install the FTDI driver if it's a fresh install.

Nope it installed automatically when i plugged in the BFL Single.

Right click Com3->Properties->Driver
Driver Provider: FTDI
Driver Date: 4/10/2012
Driver Version: 2.8.24.0

https://www.canadianbitcoins.com for quick & easy buy/sell with $CAD
Canada's Oldest Bitcoin Brokerage.  Serving Canadian Bitcoiners since 2011!
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
May 24, 2012, 03:40:07 PM
 #105

You probably need to install the FTDI driver if it's a fresh install.

Nope it installed automatically when i plugged in the BFL Single.

Right click Com3->Properties->Driver
Driver Provider: FTDI
Driver Date: 4/10/2012
Driver Version: 2.8.24.0

Actually that reminds me - .Net is an optional feature in Vista that might need to be turned on. If you get Windows Updates and install .Net 4.0 Client Profile, it is backward compatible with apps compiled for .Net 2.0.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
lightbox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 212


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2012, 04:00:36 PM
 #106

You probably need to install the FTDI driver if it's a fresh install.

Nope it installed automatically when i plugged in the BFL Single.

Right click Com3->Properties->Driver
Driver Provider: FTDI
Driver Date: 4/10/2012
Driver Version: 2.8.24.0

Actually that reminds me - .Net is an optional feature in Vista that might need to be turned on. If you get Windows Updates and install .Net 4.0 Client Profile, it is backward compatible with apps compiled for .Net 2.0.

Downloading and installing.. taking forever.... will report back when it finishes.

https://www.canadianbitcoins.com for quick & easy buy/sell with $CAD
Canada's Oldest Bitcoin Brokerage.  Serving Canadian Bitcoiners since 2011!
lightbox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 212


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2012, 04:22:56 PM
 #107

You probably need to install the FTDI driver if it's a fresh install.

Nope it installed automatically when i plugged in the BFL Single.

Right click Com3->Properties->Driver
Driver Provider: FTDI
Driver Date: 4/10/2012
Driver Version: 2.8.24.0

Actually that reminds me - .Net is an optional feature in Vista that might need to be turned on. If you get Windows Updates and install .Net 4.0 Client Profile, it is backward compatible with apps compiled for .Net 2.0.

Downloading and installing.. taking forever.... will report back when it finishes.

Grr, installed, rebooted, computer wont even get to BIOS or GRUB now... Sad gah! i gotta go do  "real work" now, have to attempt again tomorrow. thanks for all your help so far.

https://www.canadianbitcoins.com for quick & easy buy/sell with $CAD
Canada's Oldest Bitcoin Brokerage.  Serving Canadian Bitcoiners since 2011!
Phraust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206


Mostly Harmless...


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2012, 07:55:26 PM
 #108

Well, I've reflashed the two "bad" singles down to 800, and they are keeping up for now (about 15 minutes in) at 800 mhps. Sad
yjacket
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 202


View Profile
May 25, 2012, 05:21:01 AM
 #109

I've also got the problem with the mining options being greyed out.

BFL: Do you have any guess as what the issue is? I have Windows 7 Home Premium.
BFL-Engineer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227



View Profile WWW
May 25, 2012, 07:46:24 AM
 #110

I've also got the problem with the mining options being greyed out.

BFL: Do you have any guess as what the issue is? I have Windows 7 Home Premium.

Mining feature is still not present in Easyminer. We'll finilize it as soon as our schedule permits us
to do so.


Regards,
BF Labs Inc.

BF Labs Inc.  www.butterflylabs.com   -  Bitcoin Mining Hardware
yjacket
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 202


View Profile
May 25, 2012, 08:25:35 PM
 #111

I've also got the problem with the mining options being greyed out.

BFL: Do you have any guess as what the issue is? I have Windows 7 Home Premium.

Mining feature is still not present in Easyminer. We'll finilize it as soon as our schedule permits us
to do so.


Regards,
BF Labs Inc.

Ah ok, glad that it's not just me then.
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
June 01, 2012, 11:56:16 PM
 #112

Has anyone got EasyMiner to work on Windows 7 64-bit?  I've tried everything I can think of.
Is the "Load VCP" option supposed to be checked? Very annoying not to have a Linux version when most of the serious miners are using Linux.
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
June 02, 2012, 12:55:30 AM
 #113

Has anyone got EasyMiner to work on Windows 7 64-bit?  I've tried everything I can think of.
EasyMiner needs the Microsoft .NET runtime in order to run; works with .NET 2.0, but might as well install the latest (.NET 4.0) and you should be good to go.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 12:59:35 AM
 #114

Wonder if it would be possible to port to Mono and/or run in Wine.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 02:16:19 AM
 #115

EasyMiner needs the Microsoft .NET runtime in order to run; works with .NET 2.0, but might as well install the latest (.NET 4.0) and you should be good to go.


It loads fine, but doesn't recognize the BFL or the drivers aren't right. The BFL never shows up in the list.
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
June 02, 2012, 04:39:46 AM
 #116

EasyMiner needs the Microsoft .NET runtime in order to run; works with .NET 2.0, but might as well install the latest (.NET 4.0) and you should be good to go.

It loads fine, but doesn't recognize the BFL or the drivers aren't right. The BFL never shows up in the list.

Sounds like you are missing the FTDI driver for the virtual COM port, and you don't have driver auto-download enabled in your Win7 installation.

Note that this driver is NOT packaged with Windows, but is downloaded automatically by Windows Update as soon as the device is detected. The problem is that, by default, new Windows installs do not have this feature enabled.

Unplug your Single, enable the driver auto-download feature in Windows, reboot, and plug the Single back in. Windows should then detect it and download the driver automatically from the Windows Update server.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!